$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 4, 2008

Best Location in Myrtle Beach

Very nice hotel best location on Myrtle Beach, located right on the beach, behind hotel an amusement park and on the side is water park, there plenty of restaurants around, parasiling and jetski right on the beach, room could be a little bigger. But it had ocean front balcony to compansate for that. Once they forgot to clean the room. Hotel has pool, kids pool and lazy river as well as a pool bar. Hotel has a restoran on the premises which serves lunch and dinner kids 10 and under eat free with paying adult. Overall this is a very nice hotel in perfect location. We had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Parasailing and banana boat rides.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Winchester
Jul 3, 2008

Very nice but very crowded!

The Westgate was in a good location with an excellent view for an affordable price. The only problem was that they were giving tours trying to get people to buy timeshares and those people received the best service and amenities. There was a nice big dining room with a buffet breadfast, but if you weren't on a tour you didn't get it. Also there was only a small parking lot by the hotel and there were never any spaces available. We had to walk across a busy road to park. Overall we were happy with our trip but would probably not stay at the Westgate again because of the lack of parking and the huge crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amusement park and water park right next door.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 30, 2008

family friendly

My family and myself stayed in two rooms here. Despite some of the other reviews we found this hotel very comfortable. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and they accomidated all of the request we asked for. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey, but it was well worth it. We also enjoyed the summertime pool parties that they offered in the afternoon, it spiced up a casual swim at the pool. The location was very convient. i would definantly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of restaurants in walking distance along with attractions and shopping!

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Stoughton
Jun 30, 2008

friendly place to be

Our stay was great, for an older hotel, we thought it was well kept. the only complaint was parking, it was a nightmare, the parking lot at the hotel is small, and the overflow lot is across the street, which was extremely busy with no stop signs or lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The friendly's restaurant right across the street was great

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lake Charles
Jun 29, 2008

Not what I thought

The check in staff was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Family Kingdomm - Theme Park

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Vincennes, IN
Jun 28, 2008

Great Beachfront

We were very satisfied with the Westgate Myrtle Beach. We were right on the beach with a beautiful view, so even though the room was small and the bathroom was very small, it was fine for the two of us. Parking is an issue, but they are building a parking garage now. We understand that the tower we stayed in will be torn down, so the older, smaller rooms will be gone also. I did think we were to have wireless internet access in our room, but had to go to the lobby to use my laptop. Just a little inconvenient, but it worked! There was a waterpark next door for those with children, but it was not loud. The hotel was small and perfect for the quiet, relaxing vacation we were looking for. Yes, I would go back--tomorrow would be fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There were tourist shopping spots and seafood buffets a couple blocks inland, within walking distance. An outlet Mall and Broadway at the Beach were a few miles to the north, and an upscale shopping area to the south. And plenty of miniature golf courses.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 18, 2008

Ready for demolition

The Westgate at Myrtle Beach was not all what I hoped it would be. I was concerned with having a nice hotel and had contacted Westgate to inquire about their amenities, etc. I was led to believe that everything was up and running. Large roaches roamed our balcony at any time during the day. We did not see one in our room until the last day. The shower pressure was non existant. Our room smelled like a corn bin or something really strange that we could not put our finger on. When I questioned it, staff acted as if they get asked that every time which led me to believe, others assumed the same thing. We had to renew our key card almost every day, even when we kept them in their protector sleeve. The staff also was not apologetic or helpful when the discovery of what the hotel actually was became apparant. The location was wonderful and the beach and outdoor amenities were great. There was no offerings for snacks, no place to dine, and parking was a hassle, as there are way fewer spaces than there are people that stay there. It is a timeshare hotel, and all owners or potential owners are running around all day with salespeople, and what I assume use to be a restaurant, is a sales room with couples and salesmen chatting, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Water park, amusement park, ocean watersports:parasailing, bannana boat ride and jet skis are all right beside the hotel.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alexandria
Jun 15, 2008

very helpful staff

the staff at this hotel went out of their way to help us. My only disapointment was they had no fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many things within walking distance

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Crawley
Jun 14, 2008

family friendly

The westgate myrtle beach was an older property in the process of getting some new buildings and some renovations. our room seemed a little small, the fridge had no freezer,and the beds need to be replaced. parking was a little spread out but available at no additional charge. That was all the downside. The upside was really great. One of the best spots on the beach with lots of activities for the kids. the beach itself at this location is very nice. It was located directly across from Family Kingdom and next to the waterpark.The staff was excellent and extremely friendly,( the best staff I have ever encountered), everyone from the maids to management were great. We had our best vacation at this resort. I would recommend westgate to folks on a budget who are not really particular to detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive t BB&T Field, home of the Myrtle Beach Pelicans, a minor league baseball team, which provides entertainment for all ages at a very affordable price. The ballpark is located just across from Broadway at the beach.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 13, 2008

family friendly

I took my daughter on vacation and we had a great time at the hotel. The pools were very nice, the ocean front was excellent and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to family fun night and also a short drive to most major attractions.

Back to menu Return to top