$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duncan SC
Jul 9, 2009

New Tower, Beautiful!

The new tower of the hotel was very nice. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable,and the view was great. When we got there the staff was friendly. At one point at our stay, i heard one of the employees complaining out by the pool bar. I thought it was a little unprofessional. I did enjoy the pools. The gameroom for the kids was to little and some of the machines didn't work. I would go to the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you have any children ages 13-16 the amusement parks seem to cater to smaller children. They don't have great rides. Your better off at the waterparks.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDtrav
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 8, 2009

Condos new and nice ......

The new tower opened for the first time when we went there. The 1 BR condo was really nice and cosy. Good ameneties including a hot tub in the bed room. But the location is very noisy because of the surrounding amusement parks/entertainment. Our condo was on the side of the building which made it worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Raven (never more)
Business
Fayetteville, N.C.
Jul 6, 2009

DISGUSTED AND WON'T BE TRUSTED!!!

after taking a 4 hour trek in holiday traffic, we arrived at the hotel just to find out that we no longer had the condo we reserved and were "bumped" to another hotel. we were given no prior notification. the staff's explaination was vague and defensive. they constently deflected all issues of accoutablity. they even tried to blame "cheap tickets" and other such websites. not once did they offer any consideration or compenstaion for our plight. we were FORCED into accepting whatever they gave us or lose money. we didn't even get the opportunity to speak directly to a manager. thanks to the sheraton hotel (the hotel we were "bumped" to), we were able to turn an otherwise horrific experience into an enjoyable vacation. i'll make it a point to recommend to everyone i know, that they not stay at the westgate. after the way the people at westgate expressed their feelings about "cheap ticket's"(and the like) customers, i'll be skeptical about any other reservations i consider making there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robyn - Beach Project mom
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Westgate-MB

We only got to stay one eve. Maybe next time it will be longer!!! It was peaceful, and the beach was perfect at 10:30pm (which is when we finally had time to check it out!) The Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Donut man has FANTASTIC coffee, and a great selection of donuts, muffins and bagels. They also have a great lunch menu, and icecream.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Raven (never more)
Business
Fayetteville, N.C.
Jul 6, 2009

DISGUSTED AND WON'T BE TRUSTED!!!

after taking a 4 hour trek in holiday traffic, we arrived at the hotel just to find out that we no longer had the condo we reserved and were "bumped" to another hotel. we were given no prior notification. the staff's explaination was vague and defensive. they constently deflected all issues of accoutablity. they even tried to blame "cheap tickets" and other such websites. not once did they offer any consideration or compenstaion for our plight. we were FORCED into accepting whatever they gave us or lose money. we didn't even get the opportunity to speak directly to a manager. thanks to the sheraton hotel (the hotel we were "bumped" to), we were able to turn an otherwise horrific experience into an enjoyable vacation. i'll make it a point to recommend to everyone i know, that they not stay at the westgate. after the way the people at westgate expressed their feelings about "cheap ticket's"(and the like) customers, i'll be skeptical about any other reservations i consider making there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloversville, NY
Jul 4, 2009

Fantastic Getaway!!

My friend and I went to enjoy a great week in Myrtle Beach. We had a great time and loved the resort. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect. Would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chick73
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 29, 2009

Westgate Hotel-great location

Great that it was located right on the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sumter, SC
Jun 29, 2009

Fun for Families

This was a great hotel for a beach getaway. Very family oriented and very clean--even if a bit out dated. The breakfast buffet was inexpensive and well worth the price esp if you are traveling with kids--no need to search for food when it was right down stairs. There was a frriendly and very knowageable concierge staff (a bit unexpected)ready to point you to any attraction or restaurant. A nice tiki bar outside for frozen drinks and even a kids splash park pool. Would reccomend for families with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Common is the newest shopping attraction that is much closer than Broadway on the beach or Barefoot landing--just in the opposite direction!

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mbfamilyvisitors
Business
oxford, nc
Jun 26, 2009

Westgate

Trip was fine, but checked bank statement upon return. I noticed that resort had charged me $50 that I can't explain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury, CT
Jun 23, 2009

Unbeatable Location for the Price

Upon arrival the desk clerk Ashley was very friendly and made an excellent first impression. During the stay Amanda again at the desk went out of her way to help us. Staff in general was curtious. Including the bar staff and ground staff. The closness to the ocean and having a balconey with the view of the ocean made for an enjoyable and memorable trip. I would recommend this site to others. Even though they were selling what appeared to be time shares, there was no solicitation and we never felt uncomfortable walking through the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Murrell Inlet had excellent dining choices and was a 10 min drive. Food was excellent at the Divine Fish. Broadway on the Beach also had Landry's which was friendly and a nice happy hour 7 days a week.

Back to menu Return to top