$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KSUfan
Business
Wichita, KS
Jul 21, 2009

Overall Really Positive

We picked this hotel for it's "central to everything" location in Myrtle Beach as opposed to North Myrtle Beach which isn't as close to the many attractions. In addition to being close to everything, this hotel seemed to be actually closer to the water than past hotels we've stayed in there, providing for a spectacular view of the ocean from our room, best view we've had yet. Rooms, were nice- not overly extravagant, but clean and nicely decorated. From the start of the stay to the end (5 whole days), we were especially impressed with how attentive, concerned, and ready to help you that the relatively young staff were. A nice change of pace in Myrtle. The day we arrived, the attendant directed us into, and told us to continue parking in the lot DIRECTLY in front of the hotel, which we did for 3 days with no issues. On the 4th day, some older manager was waiting at the entrance to the lot, and instructed us (and some others) that since we're not timeshare owners, that we had to start parking in the lot across the extremely busy Ocean Avenue, in a lot which was considerably further away. This wouldn't have been an issue if we'd been told this from day one, but the first 3 days, it didn't seem to be a problem at all, and the attendants always smiled and waved as we entered the lot. The balding, rude, idiot manager was named [...]. So from then on, we had to park much further away, in a lot that was often difficult to find spots in, when the original lot right in front of the hotel remained at only about 60-70% capacity at all times. HUH?!? Oh well, other than his jerky, power-flaunting, inconsistency (in that we should've been allowed to continue to park there since we had originally been both instructed to and allowed to), it was a great stay, and the rest of the staff was incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie&Dom Super couple.35yrs :-)
Business
Long Island, N.Y.
Jul 19, 2009

South Carolina-Great

Our room view was GREAT..The staff was more then helpfull. The room was cleaned, the bathroom was bleach every day. And house keeping always had a smile. My husband and I rate this stay --6-13-16-o9 with 5 stars. The Hotel might be old. But every thing was first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To much to do and see, but not enough time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersy
Jul 19, 2009

my stay

I thought the area was great. But I found that the hotel could have been better. We stayed at the Westgate in Tenn. this year abd it was great wonderful Service we would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JC and RC
Business
Maple Heights, Ohio
Jul 18, 2009

great location for the price

We had a great time at Myrtle Beach while staying at the Westgate Oceanfront Resort, location was great for us, it was located almost directly across from Family Kingdom and close to all attractions, rooms needs a little updated, need a microwave in them and parking, if you didn't have a handicap sticker you had to park across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All attractions and shopping was close to this Resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti MI
Jul 17, 2009

Horrible

I booked this trip a month in advance. When I got there, they over booked me and moved me to another location....not what I paid for. Then when I got to the other location, they tried to get another $100 from me. The whole Westgate management was horrible. No one said "sorry" or offered anything for the huge inconvenience to me and my family. Orbitz was of no help also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashlei
Business
Georgia
Jul 16, 2009

The terrible, the bad and the ugly

I drove for 7 hours and arrived at the resort and they told me they overbooked and didn't have accomodations for me and they sent me to a horrible substitution which wasn't up to my standard. I was then rerouted to Orbitz which in turn couldn't get them to honor the reservation and could'nt find any availability any place on the beach. I was then told the only availability was the Fairfield Inn and when I arrived they only had smoking rooms, so I had to drive back to Georgia at midnight. This was very unprofessional of Orbitz and Westgate Resorts to not inform me that there was an overbooking. This was the worse travel experience I ever had, because I made reservations 1 month and 4 days before traveling and no one contacted me to let me know I didn't have a room very unprofressional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol, VA
Jul 13, 2009

Worst Experience Ever

The Westgate has more problems than they would care to explain. Upon check in we learned that our reservation had been moved to another hotel 10 miles away. I was told that we weren't the only ones that had this happen but none of us were ever given an explanation to why. We found when we arrived at the new hotel was not an oceanfront like we had reserved but in the woods 1 mile off the ocean. The Westgate didn't want to take the blame for any of what happened but placed all fault on the new hotel and Orbitz. I read the reviews on this hotel thinking that maybe the bad ones were only people being a little too picky. This is not the case. If not for the Kingston Plantation and Orbitz our trip would have been completely ruined. DO NOT STAY AT THE WESTGATE!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bp712198
Business
Lancaster, Ohio
Jul 11, 2009

Great Stay!

After reading some less-than-average reviews, I was skeptical, but booked anyway. We were very pleased with our stay! First, the staff was extra friendly. They were very courteous and helpful. Almost everyone spoke to me as I passed through the lobby or the hallways. The rooms were clean and well-stocked with towels. Access to the beach is easily reached though the pool area or a hallway near the dining room. There are a few negatives about the hotel, but these things would not prevent me from staying there again in the future. There was a slight musty odor in 2 of the 3 three rooms we occupied. Parking is not convenient. There is a small lot adjacent to the building for "owners," but travelers have to park on the other side of the street, crossing 4 lanes of traffic without a crosswalk or traffic light. High-speed Internet is available, but only for a $10/day charge. Free wi-fi should be available at all hotels. Overall, it was a great stay; better than many of the other hotels I have visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duncan SC
Jul 9, 2009

New Tower, Beautiful!

The new tower of the hotel was very nice. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable,and the view was great. When we got there the staff was friendly. At one point at our stay, i heard one of the employees complaining out by the pool bar. I thought it was a little unprofessional. I did enjoy the pools. The gameroom for the kids was to little and some of the machines didn't work. I would go to the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you have any children ages 13-16 the amusement parks seem to cater to smaller children. They don't have great rides. Your better off at the waterparks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDtrav
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 8, 2009

Condos new and nice ......

The new tower opened for the first time when we went there. The 1 BR condo was really nice and cosy. Good ameneties including a hot tub in the bed room. But the location is very noisy because of the surrounding amusement parks/entertainment. Our condo was on the side of the building which made it worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top