$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
288 reviews
Westgate

Very good resort. All the employees are nice and friendly, made you feel welcome to stay. Location... See full review

  • Jacob3393
  • Sep 9, 2014
mini vaca

It was good. Our view was not that great. But over all it was good. See full review

  • ernesto.pedroza
  • Sep 4, 2014
Family-friendly hotel with a lazy river and outdoor pool
A Grand Strand address and a heated lazy river and outdoor pool are major draws at the Myrtle Beach by Westgate Resorts property, but the children's water play area, Kid’s Club and many planned adult activities elevate its true family resort status. Studios and suites make it easy to go on vacation with the kids thanks to residential amenities like full kitchens, washers and dryers and all the extras. Parents love the fact that kids under 10 eat free with a paying adult.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront studios and two-bedroom suites
  • Kids under 10 eat free with a paying adult
  • Kid’s Club for children 2 to 12
  • Heated outdoor pool and lazy river
  • Close to attractions
Rooms

Guests enjoy beach and city views from the studios and suites, which incorporate tropical accents like palm-inspired lamps and coastal artwork. Even the studios have a place to make a meal -- each is equipped with a kitchenette complete with mini-refrigerator, two-burner stovetop, microwave and toaster. Suites have full-sized kitchens as well as utensils, dishware, pots and pans. Suites also come with a washer and dryer.

Features

A heated outdoor pool and lazy river and Kid's Club keep the kids occupied. Potty-trained children ages 2 to 12 are welcome to play video and board games and make arts and crafts -- all under the supervision of staff.

 

Adults, meanwhile, participate in the multiple planned activities on site, from jewelry making to Mary Kay facials and feet treatments. Fees may apply.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (13.3 mi./21.4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (1.2 mi./2 km)
  • Grand Strand (2.1 mi./3.3 km)
  • Children's Museum (2.1 mi./3.4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (2.1 mi./3.4 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs – Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (2.1 mi./3.4 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2.5 mi./4.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (2.5 mi./4.1 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (2.5 mi./4.1 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.5 mi./5.6 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.4 mi./10.2 km)
  • Carolina Opry (7.6 mi./12.2 km)

Business
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Business center

Policies and fees
  • Guests are allowed to bring pets under 60 pounds to the hotel, but are required to pay a $75 refundable fee at check-in. If there is no damage upon check-out, the fee will be returned. A separate $80 nonrefundable cleaning fee is required at check-out. Only one cat or dog is permitted, and there are breed limitations. Guests with service animals will not be charged any of the above fees.
  • The hotel requires a $9.95 Nightly Resort Fee (per night, per reservation) that covers the following resort services: WiFi Internet access, local calls, fitness center and in-room safe

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Double Amusement Park View Guestroom
Recently renovated...The Double Amusement Park View Guestroom features two queen beds, full bathroom with shower/tub combination, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, large work desk, flat screen TV with cable television and a balcony with amusement park view.
Double Oceanfront Guestroom
Recently renovated...The Double Oceanfront Guestroom features two queen beds, full bathroom with shower/tub combination, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, large work desk, flat screen TV with cable television and a balcony with full ocean view.
One Bedroom Ocean View Villa
The coziness of a One Bedroom Ocean View Villa provides the ideal setting for memorable vacation getaway or business trip. Each of the furnished 385 Sq Ft villas feature a king bed, full bath with stall shower, queen sleeper sofa in the living area with dining table, kitchenette with microwave, mini refrigerator and 2-burner stove top, flat screen TV with DVD player and a balcony with partial ocean view.
One Bedroom Deluxe Ocean View Villa
The superbly adorned One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom Deluxe Ocean View Villa offers noteworthy spaciousness, creating the perfect background for your Myrtle Beach visit. Each of the furnished 765 Sq Ft villas feature a king bed with whirlpool tub in the master bedroom, full bath with walk-in shower, a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area, a single banquette bed, fully equipped kitchen with dining area, washer/dryer, flat screen TV's with DVD player and a balcony with partial ocean view.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Villa
The beautifully decorated Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Ocean View Villa offers spaciousness with an attention to detail your whole family will enjoy. Each of the furnished 1,230 Sq Ft villas feature a king bed in the master bedroom with whirlpool tub, a king bed in the second bedroom, 2 full baths with walk-in showers, two queen sleeper sofas in the separate living area with dining table, one single banquette bed, a fully equipped kitchen and a kitchenette, washer/dryer, flat screen TV's with DVD player and two balconies with partial ocean view.
One Bedroom Oceanfront Villa
The coziness of a One Bedroom Oceanfront Villa provides the ideal setting for memorable vacation getaway or business trip. Each of the furnished 311 Sq Ft villas feature a queen bed, full bath with shower/tub combination, queen sleeper sofa in the living area with dining table, kitchenette with microwave, mini refrigerator and 2-burner stove top, flat screen TV with DVD player and a balcony with full ocean view.
One Bedroom Deluxe Oceanfront Villa
The beautifully adorned One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom Deluxe Oceanfront Villa offers notable spaciousness. Each of the furnished 622 Sq Ft villas feature a king bed with whirlpool tub in the master bedroom, separate full bath with stall shower, a queen sleeper sofa in the separate living area with dining table, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, flat screen TV's with DVD player, and a balcony with full ocean view.
Two Bedroom Oceanfront Villa
The wonderfully decorated Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Oceanfront Villa offers significant spaciousness that is sure to please everyone. Each of the furnished 933 Sq Ft villas feature a king bed in the master bedroom with private bath and whirlpool tub, a queen bed in the guestroom, two sleeper sofas in the separate living areas with dining area, a fully equipped kitchen and a kitchenette, washer/dryer, flat screen cable television with DVD players and two balconies with full ocean view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.6 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.6 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3.3 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.5 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.7 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9.2 mi

Dining

Seaside Cafe
Enjoy delicious cuisine and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean at the casually elegant Seaside Cafe, which is open for dinner Thursday through Sunday. Room service is available (limited hours).
Coconut Willy's Pool Bar
Location - Hotel pool deck - enjoy a cool refreshing drink and relax by the pool. Open 11 am - 5 pm. June, July, August.
Banana Bay Lobby Bar
Location - Lobby area - the Lobby Bar offers a wide variety of beer, wine, mixed and frozen drinks served by friendly bar staff.
Catamaran Cafe
Location - Kid's activity area - Serves Lunch. Variety of sandwiches and grilled items freshly prepared right in front of eyes. Also, serve mixed, frozen drinks and ice cream treats.
Banana Bay Restaurant
Location - Hotel Oceanfront - Serves: Breakfast and Dinner. Informal, yet elegant - the Banana Bay Restaurant has a floor to ceiling view of the white sands of the Atlantic Ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol, VA
Jul 13, 2009

Worst Experience Ever

The Westgate has more problems than they would care to explain. Upon check in we learned that our reservation had been moved to another hotel 10 miles away. I was told that we weren't the only ones that had this happen but none of us were ever given an explanation to why. We found when we arrived at the new hotel was not an oceanfront like we had reserved but in the woods 1 mile off the ocean. The Westgate didn't want to take the blame for any of what happened but placed all fault on the new hotel and Orbitz. I read the reviews on this hotel thinking that maybe the bad ones were only people being a little too picky. This is not the case. If not for the Kingston Plantation and Orbitz our trip would have been completely ruined. DO NOT STAY AT THE WESTGATE!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bp712198
Business
Lancaster, Ohio
Jul 11, 2009

Great Stay!

After reading some less-than-average reviews, I was skeptical, but booked anyway. We were very pleased with our stay! First, the staff was extra friendly. They were very courteous and helpful. Almost everyone spoke to me as I passed through the lobby or the hallways. The rooms were clean and well-stocked with towels. Access to the beach is easily reached though the pool area or a hallway near the dining room. There are a few negatives about the hotel, but these things would not prevent me from staying there again in the future. There was a slight musty odor in 2 of the 3 three rooms we occupied. Parking is not convenient. There is a small lot adjacent to the building for "owners," but travelers have to park on the other side of the street, crossing 4 lanes of traffic without a crosswalk or traffic light. High-speed Internet is available, but only for a $10/day charge. Free wi-fi should be available at all hotels. Overall, it was a great stay; better than many of the other hotels I have visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duncan SC
Jul 9, 2009

New Tower, Beautiful!

The new tower of the hotel was very nice. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable,and the view was great. When we got there the staff was friendly. At one point at our stay, i heard one of the employees complaining out by the pool bar. I thought it was a little unprofessional. I did enjoy the pools. The gameroom for the kids was to little and some of the machines didn't work. I would go to the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you have any children ages 13-16 the amusement parks seem to cater to smaller children. They don't have great rides. Your better off at the waterparks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDtrav
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 8, 2009

Condos new and nice ......

The new tower opened for the first time when we went there. The 1 BR condo was really nice and cosy. Good ameneties including a hot tub in the bed room. But the location is very noisy because of the surrounding amusement parks/entertainment. Our condo was on the side of the building which made it worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Raven (never more)
Business
Fayetteville, N.C.
Jul 6, 2009

DISGUSTED AND WON'T BE TRUSTED!!!

after taking a 4 hour trek in holiday traffic, we arrived at the hotel just to find out that we no longer had the condo we reserved and were "bumped" to another hotel. we were given no prior notification. the staff's explaination was vague and defensive. they constently deflected all issues of accoutablity. they even tried to blame "cheap tickets" and other such websites. not once did they offer any consideration or compenstaion for our plight. we were FORCED into accepting whatever they gave us or lose money. we didn't even get the opportunity to speak directly to a manager. thanks to the sheraton hotel (the hotel we were "bumped" to), we were able to turn an otherwise horrific experience into an enjoyable vacation. i'll make it a point to recommend to everyone i know, that they not stay at the westgate. after the way the people at westgate expressed their feelings about "cheap ticket's"(and the like) customers, i'll be skeptical about any other reservations i consider making there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robyn - Beach Project mom
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Westgate-MB

We only got to stay one eve. Maybe next time it will be longer!!! It was peaceful, and the beach was perfect at 10:30pm (which is when we finally had time to check it out!) The Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Donut man has FANTASTIC coffee, and a great selection of donuts, muffins and bagels. They also have a great lunch menu, and icecream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloversville, NY
Jul 4, 2009

Fantastic Getaway!!

My friend and I went to enjoy a great week in Myrtle Beach. We had a great time and loved the resort. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect. Would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chick73
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 29, 2009

Westgate Hotel-great location

Great that it was located right on the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sumter, SC
Jun 29, 2009

Fun for Families

This was a great hotel for a beach getaway. Very family oriented and very clean--even if a bit out dated. The breakfast buffet was inexpensive and well worth the price esp if you are traveling with kids--no need to search for food when it was right down stairs. There was a frriendly and very knowageable concierge staff (a bit unexpected)ready to point you to any attraction or restaurant. A nice tiki bar outside for frozen drinks and even a kids splash park pool. Would reccomend for families with small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Common is the newest shopping attraction that is much closer than Broadway on the beach or Barefoot landing--just in the opposite direction!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mbfamilyvisitors
Business
oxford, nc
Jun 26, 2009

Westgate

Trip was fine, but checked bank statement upon return. I noticed that resort had charged me $50 that I can't explain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top