$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julia Maegan
Deltona, FL
Feb 11, 2013

Westagate

Im a big fan of Hotels that feel almost like your own mini apartment, Westgate was just that. We had a beautiful beach view villa and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Booking the Villas means full sized kitchen so you dont need to go out every night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrsB2009
Business
Columbia, MO
Aug 20, 2009

terribe

To start off, this hotel has an amazing view,but the nice things stop there. We arrived at the Westgate Resort to a hotel thats about 30 years old and VERY outdated. The pictures I looked at were either 30 years old (highly unlikely due to the quality of the pictures)or of their brand new "tower" that was no more than a year or two old. That was the first problem. We go up to the room in the main portion of the building, on the elevator there is graffiti, we get off the elevator to a floor that has plaster (yes plaster) falling off the walls, paint flaking away and carpet peeled up in the hallway heading to our room. We get to the room, we can barely open the door because at somepoint it has been kicked in and the hinges and latch don't line up. The mini fridge had no temp gauge in it, the paint was peeling off the walls, the furniture appeared as if it were used as props for a WWE match. the table was held together by a bolted in chunk of metal. The curtains in the "suite" had splatter stains, as well as the wall, the bathtub had stains in it as did the sink. there were protectors on the edges of the walls that were peeled up at the bottom and sticking out to jab you in the legs as you walked by. To top it all off, the comforter smelled terrible. We went to the front desk to complain and was given a key to another room to look at that wasnt any better. The parking was on the other side of a street, and is a nightmare to get in and out of as it is one of the few blocks in MB without a stoplight. I was told that there was "high speed internet" in every room. that was a lie, to get it in your room you had to pay 10 bucks a night. Instead to get the wireless that they advertise you have to sit in their lobby and wait for the incredibly slow internet to work. The next morning, on our way out the door, we were asked to sign a sheet saying that a lady had cleaned our room when infact she had not. All she did was rudely give us towels and continue to bicker with her co worker about who did the most rooms that day. None of vending machines worked or even had beverages in them. you paid 1.75 for a can of drink. Overall this place is disgusting and noisy, as well as expensive and made us never want to return to MB again. The 12% (soon to be 14%) sales tax in MB didnt help either. Horrible experience, wouldnt recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

all the places we ate at, Hard Rock, Friendly's, Country Kitchen,and Ultimate California Pizza were fantastic. Great staff but not terribly affordable. The sales tax is 12% and is getting ready to be 14% which doesn't help either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zam970
Business
new fairfield,ct
Aug 20, 2009

horrible and very disappointed

the westgate hotel is located on the beach which was a great location. The hotel parking is very inconvenient and located across the street. There is no places to eat in the hotel with the exception of one cafe which was terrible. The rooms are gross. Rooms are small,smelly,dirty and roachs were present. The bedding was uncomfortable. the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely nit recommend this resort..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

broadway on the beach very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new berlin, WI
Aug 18, 2009

the best vacation stay in a long time:)

we loved it:) my husband, myself, our 2 daughters ages 18 and 21 and our 2 yr old granddaughter were so happy with our stay. such a great location, super clean, friendly staff. the room(s) were awesome, the view amazing, probably one of the best places i have ever stayed at!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia South Carolina
Aug 18, 2009

Enjoyed!!

We were well pleased! It would have been even nicer if you could have park in the parking lot where we stayed...we had to park across the street...but even in that...we still enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new berlin, WI
Aug 18, 2009

the best vacation stay in a long time:)

we loved it:) my husband, myself, our 2 daughters ages 18 and 21 and our 2 yr old granddaughter were so happy with our stay. such a great location, super clean, friendly staff. the room(s) were awesome, the view amazing, probably one of the best places i have ever stayed at!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grafton, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Only the "owners" were important

Only the "owners" who invested in the hotel were allowed to use the chairs for the beach. Visitors also had to park across the street (owners could park with a VIP pass right at the hotel). I had to beg for coffee to be replaced in the room. Room service was busy for hours at a time. Rooms were very small and had a bad smell. I would never stay there again. I don't go to a hotel to feel like a "second class citizen" like I felt there. I guess I should just be glad I'm NOT an "owner!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Moms ride free at the NASCAR Speedpark with the purchase of one regular priced admission. But beware, don't buy the "flex tickets" or advance sale tickets from the many "visitor centers". Mom can't get in free that way! WE found out the hard way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jfabuloz
Business
woodside, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Wonderful Time

Close to everything. Family Attraction directly across the street, Family Attraction waterpark directly in front of our balcony and the resort is on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 16, 2009

The Good, The Bad and The Really Ugly

Just returned from Vegas a week earlier where we stayed at Ceasar's Palace Resport. I guess I got spoiled there. Compared to Ceasar's this place was a dump...then again, compared to most places, it's a dump. Myrtle Beach, the final leg of our Summer travels, was a dream! The hotle on the other hand was a nightmare! When we arrived the area had just experienced a severe storm and the power was out. It was suggested we drive around (after a 10hr drive to get there) and see the city until the power came back on. We did. Came back an hour later. Still no power and no back up plan as to how to get us registered. We were invited to sit in the dark lobby while their staff sang, joked, danced, and in general walked about as if this were par for the course. I assume manual registration as a back-up plan never crossed their minds. And so we waited some more, without even an offer of a drink of water. Finally we got to our room. It smelled of mildew, the ceiling was spotted w/some unknown substance, the carpet was damp our entire stay, and the airconditioner in room above us leaked continuously onto our ocean view balcony. To make a long story short: NEVER AGAIN!, not at the Westgate Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sick of it
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 16, 2009

Not worth the cost of it at all- NO GO

bad mattresses, poor sliding glass windows obscuring view of the ocean through glass with moisture stuck in it, no screens, dirty carpet and food crumbs on the floor, I had to get the vacuum and do it myself!, bathtub did not drain, roaches entered, supposedly when the room was aired out, took 3 requests for 3 days to get the bathtub drained, and it took 5 days to get the phone to work in the room ("Phone Co. has to come"). Overall, a wretched experience and ruined our trip in large part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 15, 2009

Awesome!

Everything exceeded my expectations. The Hotel was spotless and beautiful. Hotel employees very helpful and went above and beyond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top