$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julia Maegan
Deltona, FL
Feb 11, 2013

Westagate

Im a big fan of Hotels that feel almost like your own mini apartment, Westgate was just that. We had a beautiful beach view villa and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Booking the Villas means full sized kitchen so you dont need to go out every night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Summer time 2014
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 28, 2014

Great service but rooms need improvement.

We booked this hotel for our family for two nights. When we arrived to the hotel (about 6:00 pm), the person at front desk offered us an ocean view room with a smaller tv instead of our original room with the amusement park view. I didn't care about the tv so I agreed. When we arrived to our room the view was very nice but the room wasn't. It was small and smelly and it didn't look any clean. We went out to have dinner and we we came back, some of the light fixtures didn't work, then I noticed the toilet was dirty, it had dry urine behind the toilet seat and I found there were still smelly wet hand towels from the previous guest on top of the shower curtain and when I tried to move them a small roach came out (I killed it). So my husband and I went to front desk to tell them we were unhappy with our room. The person at front desk apologized to us and sent somebody to clean the room immediately and a person from maintenance to get new light bulbs for the lamps. He also gave us complimentary free breakfast buffet for all the members in our party for our stay (2 days). He said they didn't have any other room available for the night but he offered to move us to a different room on the next day. When we went back to our room, somebody came over to clean the bathroom and she brought extra clean towels and room freshener spray. We had to keep the room for the next day and we were given a new room after 3:00 pm. The new room was very nice and spacious and CLEAN so even if we were very dissatisfied at the beginning of our trip, we were very pleased with their costumer service and how they helped us to have a better experience at the end. My husband noticed some other guest complaining about their rooms too, so we had a good experience at the end because of their excellent costumer service but I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they renovate all their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Medieval show and dinner was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lisa fitz
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 15, 2014

Expected more

Based on the pictures online, I was expecting to arrive at a clean, modern, comfortable hotel. What I got instead was a crowded, run down, dirty hotel in need of a major upgrade. The bathroom was not clean and I felt the need to wear shower shoes while showering. The toilet ran the entire time & the AC worked only sometimes. Lastly, there are huge cockroaches roaming the halls and on our last day we found one in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller00999
Business
Virginia
Jul 6, 2014

Average stay

Not really pleased to travel during 3rd July hurricane. Hotel front desk staff was rude on the phone, didn't even care abt the guess traveling during hurricane. Also please don't stay if you are not the owner of this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
North Jersey Visitor
Business
New Jersey
Jul 1, 2014

Pleasant stay at the Westgate Resort

This hotel was very kid friendly which is exactly what we were looking for. It was right across the street from the amusement park and convenient to the beach. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The young lady who checked us in was extremely helpful. She upgraded us to an oceanfront suite at no additional cost after the room we were originally sent to was not what we expected or booked. All staff were super pleasant and made it a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colleenmine
Business
Atlanta
Jun 3, 2014

mother/ daughters weekend

We had a fabulous stay at the Westgate. I know some reviews complained about being feeling they were sucked into a timeshare deal, but that was not the case with our stay. We booked our stay like we would any other hotel. The staff was very courteous. The rooms were clean and well supplied. The location was perfect. How much better can you get than oceanfront with pool, outside hotel restaurant, activities for kids and sun! Was pleasantly surprised since we usually book with well known hotel chains and this was evenly comparable . I would even say the staff was very accommodating to our needs. I would recommend this hotel to others. Thank you Westgate for a fun Weekend with my daughters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marybeth1234why
Business
california
Jun 2, 2014

old

smelly room- requested the tower but didn't get it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

2nd Ave Pier and 14th Ave Pier for dinner/lunch!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reed2013
Business
Cayce sc
May 28, 2014

One year wedding anniversary!

I was completely taken back! This hotel is simply amazing! We are going back in September for a week just because the entire experience was above and beyond perfect! And they have the best piña coladas! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leanlow
Business
Phila Pa
May 26, 2014

Perfect place to stay

Hotel and staff is nice I stay here every year for bike week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed a beach sunrise
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 23, 2014

The week before The Season started

We had a room at this resort / timeshare booked for three nights the week before official vacation season started. We had a room that faced the ocean and had a balcony - so that part was perfect. The walls were paper thin (the woman next door had a boyfriend that she left at home, AND she got new underwear for this trip), and there were some small roaches in the bathroom (granted - that is a function of being in the humid south and not of cleanliness but it still startles you in the middle of the night). It is a timeshare resort, and the owner is David Seigel of Queen of Versailles notoriety. The sales force is omnipresent but not aggressive about approaching people who haven't expressed an interest. To make the resort special for owners, some basic hotel amenities are not available to people using it as a hotel. The intention of this trip was never to have an amazing hotel, we wanted a great view and easy beach access. We got what we needed in terms of view and access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dunkin Donuts that share a building with a ticket based arcade was fun & friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaryC833
Business
Bristol, PA
May 22, 2014

Celebrating Life!

I was recently diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer. I just completed my last chemo treatment a few days before our trip. I booked the stay with my husband to celebrate! We were very impressed with how we were treated. Our room was awesome! It was definitely the best way for us to celebrate!!! Thank you so much for providing us with such a wonderful travel experience~!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fabulous dining at The Sea Captain's House! Ambiance, service, & food was excellent!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top