$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sick of it
Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 16, 2009

Not worth the cost of it at all- NO GO

bad mattresses, poor sliding glass windows obscuring view of the ocean through glass with moisture stuck in it, no screens, dirty carpet and food crumbs on the floor, I had to get the vacuum and do it myself!, bathtub did not drain, roaches entered, supposedly when the room was aired out, took 3 requests for 3 days to get the bathtub drained, and it took 5 days to get the phone to work in the room ("Phone Co. has to come"). Overall, a wretched experience and ruined our trip in large part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago
Aug 15, 2009

Awesome!

Everything exceeded my expectations. The Hotel was spotless and beautiful. Hotel employees very helpful and went above and beyond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Jersey
Aug 12, 2009

Reservation Cancelled by Westgate

We received an email from Orbitz, a week before our July 19 reservation at Westgate, stating that our reservation had been cancelled due to "unforseen circumstances". We had been skeptical about booking there because of the varying reviews, but selected it anyway because it was close to the resort several of our family members were staying at. Needless to say, were very upset upon learning of the cancellation and that we would have to move to a resort 10 miles away from were the rest of our family was staying. It was probably a blessing in disguise. We ended up at the Embassy Kingston Plantation in a one bedroom condo (the same as our Westgate reservation). The unit was clean and even had a housekeeper that came in to tidy up each day. I don't know what the "unforseen circumstances" were, but when I called Kingston to confirm my reservation, a sales associate told me that they were accomodating 40 Westgate cancellations there. I think a better explanation for the cancellations should have been provided by Westgate. This seemed pretty unprofessional. Especially for those who did not receive any advanced notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tanninglo for sun
Couples
Emmaus. Pa
Aug 10, 2009

Its nice for a family with kids

It was a great location, but it was more for a family, not a couple, alot for kids to do...no nite life for adults...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thorneys was a good dining experience ....

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hartford, CT
Aug 8, 2009

Good experience overall

Very good experience overall. Make sure that you get the 1 or 2 bedroom condominiums, not the hotel. Friendly staff, nice location. The only things that I didn't like are the fact that there is no internet in the room, and they try like crazy to sell you a timeshare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ohio
Aug 6, 2009

Myrtle Beach... not what Orbitz promised

We started with a 2-inch cockroach in the bathroom. The invididual from guest services tried to explain to us that it could be their state bug. No A/C in the unit upon arrival. Daily cleaning services wasn't provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Backup Plan Necessary
Family
greensboro, nc
Aug 5, 2009

Westgate cancel my reservation

did not stay at westgate we stayed at Kingston Embassy Suites in the Brinkley Bldg and it was awsome and would love to stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

below pertain to Kingston Embassy Suites

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tandsallen
Family
north carolina
Aug 5, 2009

we had a terrible experience

it took us around 3 hours to even get some one that knew where you people were sending us we tallked to 3 or 4 difdferent people an each pne gave us different directions.when we finally got ther it was asindgle bed and ther was 3 adults an 2 children. It was a nightmare.The hotel finally gave us a 2 bedroom which was nice.we ended staying an extra day just to recope.....I sure would not to go through thisagain plus my family came all the way from az.to go to the beach with us.Sinccerely sylvia allen........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Culpeper, Va
Aug 4, 2009

great vacation relaxation

unforseen operational issues. We did not stay at westgate however [...] product analyst from orbitz emailed me and accomodated us at a comparable room at kingston plantation embassy suites each condo is privatly owned and well secured with a guard at main entrance 24 hours a day. We could not ask for a better vacation we enjoyed all the amenities offered at this plantation, it had 9 swimming pools and a great view of the the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hersheycats
Friends
Augusta, Ga.
Jul 24, 2009

Friendly staff and close to everything!!

We had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive! The hotel was located very close to many great myrtle beach attractions. The pool was very clean and the room were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Family Kingdom!!

Back to menu Return to top