$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy159
Couples
Myrtle Beach, SC
Oct 20, 2012

Wonderful Vacation

We were very happy with West Gate. The staff were excellent. We arrived late in the night and when we got there they gave us an upgrade on our room for free. We had a beautiful view of the ocean. Room was clean. We would choose to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
24fan
Family
Batesburg,SC
Jun 10, 2010

Really enjoyable experience

This was a very pleasant hotel. It was really family friendly. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Union, SC
Jun 7, 2010

Great vacation destination

I have been visiting Myrtle Beach for the past 28 years and this was by far the best trip ever. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The motel was very clean and so were each of the three pools. No problems what so ever staying here. I read the bad reviews before I went and wasn't really expecting this trip to go so well but I couldn't find not one thing wrong with the place except parking across the road. Even that wasn't so bad because it was well lit. I will definitely be taking my family back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The motel is located across from The Family Kingdom amusement park.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
May 31, 2010

good location

Good location next to pavilion area in center of Myrtle Beach. Parking lot was full, but hotel provided close by, off site secured parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pavilion

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Carolina
May 25, 2010

Not Great

The staff seems like they don't know what they are doing. not very friendly or happy. NO WELCOME OR HOW ARE YOU. The bar outside did not make good drinks. The parking attendant was the best I think the room was over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girllovestotravel
Family
St. Paul, MN
May 5, 2010

Very Happy With Resort

We had a great experience at the Hotel! The only negative I have and why I only gave it 4 stars is that because you can only get WiFi in the lobby and they try to charge for internet. Otherwise, clean rooms, very friendly staff, great beach, great pools! Loved it. No one paid me to write this review and I don't have any affiliation with the resort. I read some of the bad reviews and don't understand them because my experience was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called T.I.G.E.R.S where you can hold a tiger, but plan ahead to get hours. We really wanted to do this but couldnt fit it in because the Tigers are on there own schedule.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 25, 2010

Wedding Planning Time Destination Myrtle

When we first got there late at night. I asked the guy if I could use my AAA card and he gave me a look like I had four eyes and was like you paid for it already. I was like okay I didn't know if it could be taken off the bill or not. It also took him several minutes to wait on us because he was too busy watching television. We were extremely tired from traveling and no one was at the desk. The guests were loud and extremely noisy. The security guards came room to room asking if we seen anyone jumping from the balconies and at 3 a.m. people were screaming and knocking on the doors. We were barely at the hotel because of our schedule but not very happy when we were actually there. The hot tub and pool at the hotel next door attached to the Westgate was much nicer and quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
West Bloomfield, MI
Apr 13, 2010

Hole in the wall with a good location

This hotel should only be used for quick easy access to the airport or short one night stays. It was not clean and needed badly to be updated. However the staff was friendly and very helpful and you couldn't beat the location. Everything you could think of for a good family vacation was surrounding this hotel, amusement parks, a variety of restaurants, and you can walk out the hotel right onto the beach. So if you can get past the filth and holes in the ceiling this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Va. Beach Mom
Family
Va. Beach, VA
Apr 8, 2010

Fair price for fair accomidations

A good location but really noisey and crowded. The rooms were small and old. There was free chairs and extra parking that no one told us about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indian Trail, NC.
Apr 6, 2010

not bad but not without teens partying

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean smokeless hotel. Beds were very hard. Last night there had to call front desk and police after midnight for room across the hall booked under their parents name to under age teens, about 10-12 in the room having loud party, slamming doors, yelling, foul language, drugs and alcohol. To many juveniles wanting to party. Other than that the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Virginia
Apr 5, 2010

Good price Nice hotel

Overall the stay was good especially with the price and location of the hotel. We were very close to the strip and could walk pretty much everywhere. Ocean front was a big plus. The hotel was clean and the cleaning staff was friendly and quick at cleaning. The bad part was parking. If you came back in the evening it was hard to find a parking spot. Some of the staff was unfriendly and sarcastic also but overall a good stay and I would recommend the hotel. I will be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Early bird specials are money savers and time savers. Check each restaurant for specials and you can usually get them around 4-5pm. The japanese steakhouses offer these and they give you enough food that if you get hungry late in the evening, you have leftovers.

Back to menu Return to top