$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
May 25, 2010

Not Great

The staff seems like they don't know what they are doing. not very friendly or happy. NO WELCOME OR HOW ARE YOU. The bar outside did not make good drinks. The parking attendant was the best I think the room was over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girllovestotravel
Business
St. Paul, MN
May 5, 2010

Very Happy With Resort

We had a great experience at the Hotel! The only negative I have and why I only gave it 4 stars is that because you can only get WiFi in the lobby and they try to charge for internet. Otherwise, clean rooms, very friendly staff, great beach, great pools! Loved it. No one paid me to write this review and I don't have any affiliation with the resort. I read some of the bad reviews and don't understand them because my experience was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called T.I.G.E.R.S where you can hold a tiger, but plan ahead to get hours. We really wanted to do this but couldnt fit it in because the Tigers are on there own schedule.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 25, 2010

Wedding Planning Time Destination Myrtle

When we first got there late at night. I asked the guy if I could use my AAA card and he gave me a look like I had four eyes and was like you paid for it already. I was like okay I didn't know if it could be taken off the bill or not. It also took him several minutes to wait on us because he was too busy watching television. We were extremely tired from traveling and no one was at the desk. The guests were loud and extremely noisy. The security guards came room to room asking if we seen anyone jumping from the balconies and at 3 a.m. people were screaming and knocking on the doors. We were barely at the hotel because of our schedule but not very happy when we were actually there. The hot tub and pool at the hotel next door attached to the Westgate was much nicer and quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Bloomfield, MI
Apr 13, 2010

Hole in the wall with a good location

This hotel should only be used for quick easy access to the airport or short one night stays. It was not clean and needed badly to be updated. However the staff was friendly and very helpful and you couldn't beat the location. Everything you could think of for a good family vacation was surrounding this hotel, amusement parks, a variety of restaurants, and you can walk out the hotel right onto the beach. So if you can get past the filth and holes in the ceiling this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Va. Beach Mom
Business
Va. Beach, VA
Apr 8, 2010

Fair price for fair accomidations

A good location but really noisey and crowded. The rooms were small and old. There was free chairs and extra parking that no one told us about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Trail, NC.
Apr 6, 2010

not bad but not without teens partying

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean smokeless hotel. Beds were very hard. Last night there had to call front desk and police after midnight for room across the hall booked under their parents name to under age teens, about 10-12 in the room having loud party, slamming doors, yelling, foul language, drugs and alcohol. To many juveniles wanting to party. Other than that the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Apr 5, 2010

Good price Nice hotel

Overall the stay was good especially with the price and location of the hotel. We were very close to the strip and could walk pretty much everywhere. Ocean front was a big plus. The hotel was clean and the cleaning staff was friendly and quick at cleaning. The bad part was parking. If you came back in the evening it was hard to find a parking spot. Some of the staff was unfriendly and sarcastic also but overall a good stay and I would recommend the hotel. I will be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Early bird specials are money savers and time savers. Check each restaurant for specials and you can usually get them around 4-5pm. The japanese steakhouses offer these and they give you enough food that if you get hungry late in the evening, you have leftovers.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston Salem,NC
Apr 2, 2010

Great locale, take your own beach chair

My overall stay was good. The staff was friendly. The maintenance was very helpful and quick. The hotel is located in a great location, across the street from a family amusement park...but not too close where the screams from the rides would bother you. My biggest issue that I had with the hotel is chairs for the beach. On their flyer that they give you upon check-in, it is stated (unless they've changed it) that 'as a guest...beach chairs can be used complimentary of the Westgate owners...call to reserve'. This is FALSE. When I called to reserve the chairs, I was told the chairs are for the 'resort owners' only. I went down to speak with the front desk, then the manager about it...even pointed out their printed statement. Was told by the manager it was a typo, that the fliers were printed up while he was on vacation or something. Yeah, ok. So where are your proofreaders? He told the staff to throw those fliers away. (Am I the only one who has ever brought this to their attention?) Needless to say, I didn't get the chairs. But check this, upon my check-out the same staff members were working...and more of those fliers (that were supposedly thrown away)were there to be handed out to the incoming guests. I hope they brought their own chairs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rock Hill, SC
Mar 23, 2010

Can't beat the price!!!

Great location, right on the ocean, great beach! Loved all the pools too, especially the kiddie pool! A little loud during the night, but nothing crazy. We will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Within minutes of Broadway at the Beach! Really within minutes of most anything!!

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Middlesex, PA
Mar 15, 2010

Fantastic

We were there for a very brief stay, but would have loved to stay longer and will stay here again. The location was perfect. You can walk almost anywhere from the hotel. The staff was helpful and very pleasant. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top