$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midland, mi
Jan 30, 2011

GREAT!!!!!

we had a very bad flight in from Detroit (delays and crying babbies)and so when the hotel upgraded us to a better room we were extremely happy! Everyone was so friendly and the room was clean and smelled good. very spacious. Thank You!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a burger king a block away. We ordered Mamma Mias pizza that delivered and it was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Jan 11, 2011

Don't waste your money

There are a thousand hotels at Myrtle Beach, so don't waste your money here. We stayed at the Westgate because it was getting late and we didn't have prior reservations. We had gone to several hotels but couldn't get a room. We were charged over $120 a night with a two night minimum. The first evening, we realized they charge for WiFi. Who charges for WiFi?.... Even Krispy Kreme donuts gives free WiFi. I have never had to pay for internet service before. The next day, after seeing two roaches in the room, we wanted our money back. All they would do was offer to send an exterminator. Besides the roaches, the high price for an old run down room and no free internet....the staff had an attitude as if they didn't care. After-all, we're just a couple of people out of the thousands they see. Don't be fooled by the nice entrance. For the rest of our visit, we stayed just down the street...much nicer hotel, no roaches, free internet and very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Lot to do in Myrtle beach for all ages. Don't stay at the Westgate Myrtle Beach. You will waste your money and sleep with roaches and pay for internet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Oct 24, 2010

ok stay

it was ok. not to bad but not great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newport tn
Sep 25, 2010

great value made you feel welcome

walked on beach went to ripleys played put put golf went to movies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carthage, NC
Sep 7, 2010

Great beach location

Location was great. Parking really sucks. We went on a casino cruise, got back around 1am and had to park in their 3rd parking lot which is 1.5 blocks away. I was in heels. Some people were picketing the hotel. Not sure what that was about. The signs said they were liars and the judge said to pay. The hotel is walking distance from the 2nd ave pier, which sets off fireworks. Husband and I went to the bar upstairs, ate dinner, and watched the fireworks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many things to do within walking distance from this hotel. Across the street you have an amusement park which has several things to do. A couple of buildings down, there was a water park. Beside the water park, they had para-sailing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 31, 2010

Great memories

Great location in front of Family Kingdom, nice beaches and restaurants close to many good tourist attractions, my kids love the pools, clean rooms but very small. Didn't like the parking since we have to park across the street. Don't pay for wireless internet you will be able to find it free. They do need showers after you go to beach, but they don't have any working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoos, Helicopter rides, water parks are relatively close. Please check calendars of places you want to go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 30, 2010

Minus the bugs please

The location was wonderful for the kids Just pick a better hotel. Rooms are outdate and not clean there were actually bugs. Saving grace for my kids was the beach and the pool. FYI if you are not an owner at Westgate you WILL be treated poorly. The irony of this is that we own a timeshare with Westgate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is awesome!!! The beach is right there and across the street the amusment park. Walking distance to great food and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MzTaurus
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2010

Not really a resort, just a reg hotel...

Upon 1st entrance to my room, there were two very odd odors (one was like a mildew smell & the other was from the old furniture). After letting the room air out for hours & striking some matches, the mildew order was died out. The room seemed small due to the oversized furniture in the standard room. If traveling with more than one guest, don't stay in the standard room. My phone didn't work. Someone from Maint. came up, but he wasn't able to figure out the issue & it was never resolved. The parking lot for guests was across the street & was very difficult to cross at all times. Oceanfront rooms were availble & very nice at sunrise/sunset to hear & see the waves crashing. There was a poolside bar, but it was very diserted during my 4 night stay. Ordered a daquiri one night, which was horrible for $7.25. There's a fee for wi-fi service, the business center consists of 2 PCs at $0.20/min & $0.75/pg to print. The "continental breakfast" consists of non-traditional continental items & costs $7.95. Shoney's is down the street $6.99 buffett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Aug 24, 2010

overall experience at westgate

The hotel overall wasent what i expected but bareable . They ran out of wash clothes television was fuzzy doors to the entrance of the rooms was very hard to open! rooms very small but customer service was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mommy, Auntie
Business
CHARLOTTE, NC
Aug 24, 2010

Horrible Hotel

The hotel was so misleading because the lobby was clean, well maintained, and somewhat up to date. However, once you reached the upper floors, the halls were dirty with peeling paint, debris on the floor and huge waterbugs/cockroaches either dead or crawling around. The room was small and decrepit with rust stains in the sink, toilet and tub. Carpet was really old and just plain disgusting. The room smelled musty. There were natty blankets on the bed. The worse was the tiny, narrow terrace with really cheap lawn chairs and there was condencension on the glass terrace sliding door that would not come off since it was in between two layers of glass. This obstructed our "oceanfront" view. Front desk and concierge staff were curt and not helpful when we checked in or needed dining information. The only good thing about this trip was that it mercifully lasted 2 days. Needless to say, I would never go back there [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amusement Park for kids right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top