$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Raleigh, NC
Aug 30, 2010

Minus the bugs please

The location was wonderful for the kids Just pick a better hotel. Rooms are outdate and not clean there were actually bugs. Saving grace for my kids was the beach and the pool. FYI if you are not an owner at Westgate you WILL be treated poorly. The irony of this is that we own a timeshare with Westgate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is awesome!!! The beach is right there and across the street the amusment park. Walking distance to great food and shopping.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MzTaurus
Single
Atlanta, GA
Aug 29, 2010

Not really a resort, just a reg hotel...

Upon 1st entrance to my room, there were two very odd odors (one was like a mildew smell & the other was from the old furniture). After letting the room air out for hours & striking some matches, the mildew order was died out. The room seemed small due to the oversized furniture in the standard room. If traveling with more than one guest, don't stay in the standard room. My phone didn't work. Someone from Maint. came up, but he wasn't able to figure out the issue & it was never resolved. The parking lot for guests was across the street & was very difficult to cross at all times. Oceanfront rooms were availble & very nice at sunrise/sunset to hear & see the waves crashing. There was a poolside bar, but it was very diserted during my 4 night stay. Ordered a daquiri one night, which was horrible for $7.25. There's a fee for wi-fi service, the business center consists of 2 PCs at $0.20/min & $0.75/pg to print. The "continental breakfast" consists of non-traditional continental items & costs $7.95. Shoney's is down the street $6.99 buffett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mommy, Auntie
Family
CHARLOTTE, NC
Aug 24, 2010

Horrible Hotel

The hotel was so misleading because the lobby was clean, well maintained, and somewhat up to date. However, once you reached the upper floors, the halls were dirty with peeling paint, debris on the floor and huge waterbugs/cockroaches either dead or crawling around. The room was small and decrepit with rust stains in the sink, toilet and tub. Carpet was really old and just plain disgusting. The room smelled musty. There were natty blankets on the bed. The worse was the tiny, narrow terrace with really cheap lawn chairs and there was condencension on the glass terrace sliding door that would not come off since it was in between two layers of glass. This obstructed our "oceanfront" view. Front desk and concierge staff were curt and not helpful when we checked in or needed dining information. The only good thing about this trip was that it mercifully lasted 2 days. Needless to say, I would never go back there [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amusement Park for kids right across the street.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hertford, NC
Aug 9, 2010

Very nice getaway for me and my husband!

There is lots to do at this resort! We went to the Dixie Stampede (which was great) Broadway at the beach was also wonderful (lots to do there). Overall it was a nice place to relax and listen to the waves break at night (from our balcony)! Compared to other places we have stayed it was very clean! I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 8, 2010

Westgate is great

The hotel was great! We were given an upgrade to the condo in the tower, It was more than we expected. The staff was great as well! We traveled with our 2 children & spent mot of our time at the beach collecting shells & shark teeth during the day and the pool in the evenings. Our children loved the lazy river. We ventured out to Ripleys Aquarium & Barefoot Landing which were a bout 10 -15 miles north of Westgate. Overall it was a great vacation & experience, thank you Westgate for a great 2010 vacation! We will be back someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripley's Aquarium, Barefoot Landing.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John Story
Family
New York City
Jul 29, 2010

A Decent Trip

I went to the hotel with my girlfriend and for the most part it was a decent hotel. We had a two full sized beds, we used the other one for clothes and bags. For the most part it was a good experience, a lot of Families and no free wifi in the rooms. The people were friendly, and it was very close to the beach. Affordable as well.Not much dinning options and you really need a car to travel around. Alot of other hotels in the area. Nice for a two to three day getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David6619
Family
Atlanta GA
Jul 23, 2010

Westgate

The location is good. The pool is small and overall a low class of people stayed there. I am used to North Myrtle it is much better up there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Villa Romano...

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
HANOVER, IN
Jun 21, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Check in was a little confusing to the clerk but we were quickly given a room much better than we had reserved. We reserved a ocean view and got an ocean front. The room was VERY clean and even though there was a room next to ours with children we did not hear any noise. We wanted a quiet and relaxing vacation and we certaintly got one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Memphis, TN
Jun 16, 2010

"Good, but could be better"

Hotel has a great beach location. The furniture needs updating, however the hotel is under renovation that is occurring in phases. Construction is not interferring with your stay. Lots of teenagers who stayed up all night making a lot of noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Friendly's is a wonderful restaurant that is located directly across the street. Nice family restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta, Ga
Jun 16, 2010

Good Hotel For Price

The hotel amenities were great, two pools, hot tub, lazy river and kids water play area. There were free beach chairs and umbrellas...but you had to carry them to/from beach. The rooms were clean but you had to request for housekeeping to come and clean during the stay. Kids eat free at hotel restaurant but the food is mediocre. Overall if you want a safe, clean and affordable beachfront location, this is good. We will return to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ali Babas Pizza and Gyros

Back to menu Return to top