$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

4 stars
View map of 415 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel2gether
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Perfect long weekend getaway

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, every hotel employee was more than willing to help. We stayed in an "oceanview" room in the tower. We were fortunate enough to have a beautiful view of the ocean and Myrtle Beach. The room was very clean, which had a sitting area/kitchette, nice size bathroom and separate bedroom with a balcony. The location of the hotel is on the south end of Myrtle Beach. The only negative is that there is not enough parking for all of the guests. Overall, it was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tlaning
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Misleading

It says a rated a 4 star but only one part of the hotel is. And the picture that are posted of the hotel everywhere is what its going to look in 2020. i asked. Because we were confused where the rooftop pool was.... it didnt exist yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Broadway at the Beach! Amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim2012
Business
Stony Brook, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Fine and Inexpensive! Have to pay for WiFi.

Had a fine, no-complaint, 1-week stay. Close to all Myrtle Beach has to offer. Disappointed with the extra fee ($10/day) for WiFi when other hotels provide it for free. Would have liked the carpet in the hallway to be cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snowshoes
Business
Larksville, PA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

single getaway

hotel good car no good i had to change to a bigger car because golf clubs would not fit in a cdompact but the extra charges killed me. fuel service low was 95.92 dollars. cust fac charge 32.00 dollars. plus other taxes. total 194.96. nest time ill drive. thank U m.g. stelma sr. aka cactus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Feb 11, 2012

business

people were polite and helpful. hotel was not very nice . worst value on the strip. Definitely not a 4 star- 2 star at best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
twnturbo
Business
Charleston, SC
Jan 21, 2012

Worst hotel in Myrtle Beach

I reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights. Upon arrival the front desk person tried to upsell me to oceanfront for twice what it was offered online). Then he told us the wireless network didn't work well in the portion of the hotel he was putting us in so we needed to use plug in routers and be wired (he did provide). We got to the rooms and found that we would be charged $10 nightly per room to use the internet (internet access is even free at most restaurants , let alone a "luxury" Resort). I called the front desk to inquire and was told this was their policy. I told them that we would be down to check out and they were fine with that. This is off season in Myrtle Beach and there are vacancies everywhere. We found another hotel up the street, got free wireless internet, oceanfront rooms and paid less too. Avoid this hotel at all costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sean017
Business
Rego Park, NY, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Westgate Resort - Myrtle Beach

Lesson learned. I paid an extra $24 per night for a queen size bed and an ocean view. The bed was fine but the view was of the roadway and shut down water park next door. When I contacted the front desk they told me to go to the window and look to the right for a view of the beach. Technically, there was the beach but I felt a bit cheated. I showed them a picture taken from my window and asked if the room could be changed to a higher floor or closer to the ocean. They barely glanced at the picture and said "Yeah that's an ocean view" and I was told to come back the next day after people checked out to see if anything freed up. Although disappointed, I decided not to waste any more time haggling with the indifferent staff. The studio was 3 rooms. A living area with full kitchen, a bedroom, a tv in each and a bathroom with a nicely tiled shower (don't sit down on the"foot stool"). The couch was very uncomfortable, the small dining table was unstable and the top would spin, the flat screen tv in the bedroom was set off to the right instead of centered (why?) and the room was not cleaned in the 3 days we stayed. They did provide additional towels upon request. We had breakfast at the restaurant and the waitress was great. Unfortunately, the food was not. Pancakes were so hard and rubbery you couldn't cut them and the french toast wasn't much better. There are several pancake restaurants on Kings Highway and Grandma's Chicken restaurant was the best we tried. I'll go back to Myrtle Beach, but I'll avoid the Westgate Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pirates Voyage dinner show was lots of fun (next to Carolina Opry) and Legends was very entertaining. There are coupon books pretty much everywhere, which will save you money on every venue including the giant ferris wheel and Ripley's Believe It or Not. Myrtle Beach is great for adults and kids alike.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CherylRN
Business
Delaware, USA
Dec 17, 2011

One nighter

I booked this hotel with my airfare, only needed to stay one night. I was by myself. I paid an extra $38 and that was about what it was worth... the staff was friendly...so it's not their fault...but the place needs overhauled. I bet there were only a dozen of us staying that night, so could we all have had a view of the ocean instead of the street? I mean, it IS Christmas...that would have been a perk. The curtains were those plastic liner types, and they were FILTHY. Ugh..and they didn't close completely so I didn't have a totally dark room. I do not have high expectations, but even I was a little disappointed in the room. However, I would say that the room was CLEAN (except for those drapes), the bathroom was clean, and the towels/washcloths were folded in those cutsie liitle shapes... The TV worked stupid too. At first the remote worked, and then it didn't. So I used the buttons on the TV itself, and they kept turning the sleep menu on. It was an old TV, not a flat screen. Since there were hardly any people staying there, it was quiet. I slept ok. And that's really all I needed...a bed. But would I recommend you vacation there or stay with children? NO. Absolutely not. A good renovation is what this place needs!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Myrtle Beach has plenty of varieties when you are hungry. Landry's is VERY expensive for dinner...Ultimate California Pizza has very good pizza. I also recommend seeing a show while you are here! I think I like MB even better than Florida!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennie28
Business
Queens, New York
Dec 9, 2011

Mini Getaway

Hotel was awesome!!!! doesnt get any better. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean and spotless. We even have a bath jacuzzi in our room. Of course it depends on what room you choose when you book. The staffs were so friendly and polite. Hotel grounds was always clean. The location is located right by the beach.... Overall a great experience....Would definitely visit again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boadwalk by the Sea is a great place to visit. There are so many things to do there. Shopping, food, etc..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
American girl
Business
Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Reserve Here!

The hotel was nice. They had lots of stuff to do for kids and adults. Like the different water parks. The jacuzzi was very nice. It is right off the beach. It is one of the best along S. ocean blvd. It is located by Broadway on the beach, tanger outlet, Costal grandview mall, market commons and if you walk a few blocks down there are LOTS, (literally LOTS) of things to do. By the way, I didn't have a car. So, if you are taking a taxi, the most you would spend on a one-way to the stated locations would be $20 or less. I really enjoyed it. I went by myself for my 19th birthday. The only thing that would have made it better was if I went when during the summer or spring break. Other than that, awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Costal Grand mall has way more things than Tanger Outlet and Market Commons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top