$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Breakers Resort

3 stars
View map of 2008 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
206 reviews
I had an amazing time!

The hotel was in a great location , our view was beautiful and the hotel had so many activities... See full review

  • Cecilia M.
  • Mar 22, 2015
vacation

We enjoyed our stay here. We had an oceanfront room and everything was great. See full review

  • walt
  • Mar 20, 2015
The Breakers Resort Hotel has been serving and pleasing guests that continue to return year after year- a true Myrtle Beach tradition. Centrally located oceanfront at 21st Avenue North, and now anchoring the planned unit redevelopment for the city, guests will have easy access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment experiences the area has to offer.

Guest pleasing amenities include spacious oceanfront lawn with multiple pools & whirlpools, indoor pool & whirlpool, exercise room, restaurant and meeting facilities to accommodate groups of up to 150 people.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Top hotels

The Breakers Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. One room suite with one king bed & one twin sofa bed. Small refrigerator, stove,oven,microwave & coffee maker.
Ocean View Room
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full bath, Kitchenette with compact refrigerator and microwave. Side ocean view balcony
Ocean Front Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Rooms with Two Double Beds include Oceanfront Balconies, 1 TV, Most with Refrigerator and Microwave.
Standard Hotel Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Bedroom: 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, Kitchenette with a compact refrigerator and microwave
North Tower Oceanfront Efficiency
2 Double Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, compact refrigerator, Microwave. Located at our Boutique North Tower, 8 Blocks North of main resort. Full access to all main Breakers amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.1 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.6 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.7 mi

Dining

Papa's Restaurant
Join us for our bountiful Breakfast Buffet or your favorites from land and sea served daily.
Starbucks Coffee
Start your daily in our lobby Level Starbucks Coffee. Enjoy your favorite coffee beverage and fresh baked pastries.
Scoops
It's not the beach without icecream
Red Parrot
Oceanfront Views and lighter lunch fare as well as your favorite beverages are available from 11am - until daily
Baja Cantina
Serving lunch and your favorite frozen drinks until 5pm daily (seasonal)
Jaboys Pizza
Pizza, burgers and more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Breakers Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 206
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bossc
Business
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Overnight getaway

Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly. However locating the motel was a pain. They have about five different hotels and finding the registration building was a headache. Once we made it to the room I was very glad it was only a one night stay. Had we been staying longer, I would have immediately changed motels. The room was half cleaned, the toilet was dirty and the bathroom was tiny. I will not be staying at the Breakers again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LJ62582
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2014

Unsanitary, Unsafe, Outdated. Stay at your own risk!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel and after check in we were given our keys to our first room. It was on the first floor and it was "ocean view." We walked in and the ocean view window was on the ground floor directly in front of the pool where there was a DJ dance party going on and tons of people in the pool and in front of the window. What is the point of an ocean view when you can't see the ocean? I also did not feel safe on the first floor right next to the walkway. We were able to get another room on the 8th floor but it was 2 buildings away and not ocean view. We got to that building and saw that the elevator only went up to the 7th floor and we has to walk up these dangerous and uneven stairs to get to the 8th floor. Not so fun while you're pregnant! The elevator actually had a sign that said, "Inspection Certificate is available in the maintenance department." Seriously?? That feels sooo safe! They couldn't get a copy of the inspection and post it? I took a picture of it because that has to be illegal! Maybe it's because the elevator only goes up to the 7th floor! We got to the room and it was just ok. It was a very outdated room and felt very musty and dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub grout was dirty. There was no soap. There were 2 facial bars instead of the soap which were clearly reused once or more and the wrappers were soaked. My husband and I were too grossed out to even take a shower that night or sleep under the sheets after we took off the comforter. The pillows had a nasty musty smell. When we woke up at 7:30 in the morning, my husband looked up on the ceiling and saw a palmetto bug (southern roach). We quickly got up and got ready while we took turns watching the roach. While we were watching it, it FELL OFF THE CEILING AND LANDED ON THE BED!!!! If we slept 30 minutes later, it would have landed on us. We ran out of the room and checked out in the building 3 doors down. There are 7 buildings that this hotel is composed of. Nothing is together. I saw 2 of the buildings and they are nasty. Putting a tropical bedspread on does not equal nice or clean. This was not a $70 room, this was a $160+ room so I was not expecting the low quality. If you are used to cheaper hotels or motels, the Breakers will probably be ok but if not, DO NOT GO HERE! What a waste of money and the traumatizing experience will always be a negative memory for my husband and I. The reviews online did not accurately portray this place. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Djolofman
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Dec 4, 2012

No complimentary coffee!!!

Maybe this was just a mistake on the housekeeping staff’s part, but I have never been to a hotel without free coffee. I really did not like the fact that my room door was “exposed” to the outside. Anybody could have walked in knock on my door without any interaction with the staff. The HEATER!!! That thing kept on waking me and my wife up every 15 minutes to the point I had to turn it off in the middle of the night and bundle up. Yes, it was loud. They have free parking but good luck finding a spot and they are tight! I wish I pay a little more or even less for a better deal elsewhere. Good location though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Runner
Business
Iowa
Feb 22, 2013

Not the most restful

Neighbors were loud. Wind blew through the doors which made the area very cold. Had an extra "resort fee" which we have no idea what that would be for. Being in February there wasn't too much to do at the "resort". Asked the staff where the breakfast was and they told us. Found out if we had prepaid at the hotel, we could have saved money. Not sure why they didn't tell us since they told us where to go. One positive, was the view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It was a long walk to the Aquarium but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fitzbo
Business
Havre de Grace, MD
Oct 22, 2013

Downgraded our room

When we initially arrived, we were given a room immediately above the bar - with live music. On going to the front desk, we were told they did not have any other ocean-view rooms. After discussion, we were given a third floor "walk-up" room that was not as nice as the first. But, it wasn't above the bar. The AC was noisy, the bathroom fan automatically came on with the light and sounded like a jet engine. All-in-all, this was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danny SC 77
Business
Harleyville, SC
Feb 25, 2014

Good but not great

The location is great. The interior smelled like paint. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The carpet wasnt vaccumed. The staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont waste your money at Pier 14. Its within walking distance of the Breakers but you can get better food for less somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tex
Business
grand rapids, mi
Aug 10, 2011

Myrtle Beach Central

Hotel was clean and staff was accomodating. This hotel has several locations, and one will want to know which one they will be placed at. All are on the ocean with great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out Broadway at the Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GoGoChita
Business
Jersey
Aug 1, 2012

Location! Location! Location!

The room was a little out dated but who cares when the beach is right in your backyard. We had an ocean front room with balcony, mini fridge and microwave. Perfect to stock up drinks and little snacks to take with you to the beach. There is a mini mart along with Starbucks across the street. Awesome bagel joint on Kings Hwy (right on the corner) And a great burger joint 1 block away! You are only 2 miles away from Broadway on the Beach! Avg cab ride is about $9 each way. Perfect for night of dancing, eating, shopping and people watching. Parrot bar at hotel had really cool bartenders who def hooked it up on a few of our cocktails. Also, the amusement park *Family Kingdom* was fun for all ages. Just 20 blocks away! Had a great time def would visit the Breakers again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rioz Brazalian Steak House.....OMG soooo good! They are constantly bringing different cuts of meat. Green chip means keep bringing em! Red chip means, I had enough. Great salad bar as well. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobkat7438
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Oct 28, 2012

Screw up

We were suppose to have an ocean room. We booked online and when we checked in we were off the beach. I ended up paying extra to get beach front. That was a surprise I didn't want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to the boardwalk. It's nice to get off the main district a little.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanell
Business
Statesboro, GA
Oct 14, 2013

Need Coffee and Internet!!

Nice place, 2 complaints: 1. They have a coffee pot in the room, along with cups and spoons..BUT they own the Starbucks across the street so they don't give you coffee???? (Went to Dollar General and bought my own) 2. The in room internet was either very bad or it was having a bad 2 days. Otherwise it was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Convention Center....never had to move the car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top