$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The Breakers Resort

3 stars
View map of 2008 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Breakers Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Djolofman
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Dec 4, 2012

No complimentary coffee!!!

Maybe this was just a mistake on the housekeeping staff’s part, but I have never been to a hotel without free coffee. I really did not like the fact that my room door was “exposed” to the outside. Anybody could have walked in knock on my door without any interaction with the staff. The HEATER!!! That thing kept on waking me and my wife up every 15 minutes to the point I had to turn it off in the middle of the night and bundle up. Yes, it was loud. They have free parking but good luck finding a spot and they are tight! I wish I pay a little more or even less for a better deal elsewhere. Good location though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Runner
Business
Iowa
Feb 22, 2013

Not the most restful

Neighbors were loud. Wind blew through the doors which made the area very cold. Had an extra "resort fee" which we have no idea what that would be for. Being in February there wasn't too much to do at the "resort". Asked the staff where the breakfast was and they told us. Found out if we had prepaid at the hotel, we could have saved money. Not sure why they didn't tell us since they told us where to go. One positive, was the view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It was a long walk to the Aquarium but well worth it!

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fitzbo
Business
Havre de Grace, MD
Oct 22, 2013

Downgraded our room

When we initially arrived, we were given a room immediately above the bar - with live music. On going to the front desk, we were told they did not have any other ocean-view rooms. After discussion, we were given a third floor "walk-up" room that was not as nice as the first. But, it wasn't above the bar. The AC was noisy, the bathroom fan automatically came on with the light and sounded like a jet engine. All-in-all, this was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SC Disappoined Family
Business
South Carolina
Jul 14, 2014

Short family getaway

Overall the hotel was okay; however, there must have been a shortage in towels and staff. There were no towels in the room nor toiletries (basic stuff like soap). Took hours for the staff to deliver towels and non were delivered the next morning after requesting more towels. An horrific sewer odor was overwhelming the first night of arrival into the next morning. The price paid was too high for the service received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jrm725
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 30, 2014

Just below average

Came here with some buddies for a bachelor party. When we arrived it was very early(9:30am), only flight out of Philadelphia. I understand that the room might not be ready, but when someone is coming in to the area, without a car, you have to at least expect them to want to check in early. Even noon would have sufficed. But we sat around, and were finally allowed to check in at 2:30, only after pleading my case. To our surprise the room was ready, cleaned and looked like it had been for hours, possibly days. The room was very smokey, wasn't sure if it was a non-smoking room. The beds were comfortable. Firm, but thats the way i like them. FINALLY some pillows that have something to them, NOT feathers or down, hate that stuff. Overall, not the greatest experience. Antonio was a good guy and took care of us because no one told us about a shuttle, so we took a taxi, but otherwise, pretty 'meh'. I'll stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's Cafe may not look like much, but the breakfast was stellar. It's only a block away.

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Non smoking a MUST
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 18, 2014

Would not recommend

Too many rooms and not enough staff to keep it clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lady bubba
Business
Norwalk, CT, USA
Sep 24, 2011

just ok

went to myrtle beach last week. hotel location good, but in the room found two roaches. it was nasty. according to front desk, this was a common thing. rest was so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joey M
Business
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Not worth the money

Our room had plaster falling off the ceiling which was all over the floor. We told 3 different hotel staff before it was finally cleaned up. The house keeping staff was very friendly and nice, they were much more helpful then the front desk staff. They also had a new person training at check in, who charged my debit card a second time, which meant I didn't have access to a lot of the money in my account the whole week we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danny SC 77
Business
Harleyville, SC
Feb 25, 2014

Good but not great

The location is great. The interior smelled like paint. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The carpet wasnt vaccumed. The staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont waste your money at Pier 14. Its within walking distance of the Breakers but you can get better food for less somewhere else.

Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tammecaa
Business
Columbia sc
Apr 15, 2014

Ok but

we arrived at the hotel to wait for 45 min just to check in. No one greeted us the line was out the door without movement. Once we finally got checked in. We had difficulty finding the correct building. The room was in good condition . We attempted to go to the lazy river but found lots of kids without supervision horseplaying . That evening our floor was filed with noise and kids running playing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top