$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

The Breakers Resort

3 stars
View map of 2008 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
217 reviews
I had an amazing time!

The hotel was in a great location , our view was beautiful and the hotel had so many activities... See full review

  • Cecilia M.
  • Mar 22, 2015
vacation

We enjoyed our stay here. We had an oceanfront room and everything was great. See full review

  • walt
  • Mar 20, 2015
The Breakers Resort Hotel has been serving and pleasing guests that continue to return year after year- a true Myrtle Beach tradition. Centrally located oceanfront at 21st Avenue North, and now anchoring the planned unit redevelopment for the city, guests will have easy access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment experiences the area has to offer.

Guest pleasing amenities include spacious oceanfront lawn with multiple pools & whirlpools, indoor pool & whirlpool, exercise room, restaurant and meeting facilities to accommodate groups of up to 150 people.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Breakers Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Breakers Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. One room suite with one king bed & one twin sofa bed. Small refrigerator, stove,oven,microwave & coffee maker.
Ocean View Room
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full bath, Kitchenette with compact refrigerator and microwave. Side ocean view balcony
Ocean Front Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Rooms with Two Double Beds include Oceanfront Balconies, 1 TV, Most with Refrigerator and Microwave.
Standard Hotel Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Bedroom: 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, Kitchenette with a compact refrigerator and microwave
North Tower Oceanfront Efficiency
2 Double Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, compact refrigerator, Microwave. Located at our Boutique North Tower, 8 Blocks North of main resort. Full access to all main Breakers amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.1 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.6 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.7 mi

Dining

Papa's Restaurant
Join us for our bountiful Breakfast Buffet or your favorites from land and sea served daily.
Starbucks Coffee
Start your daily in our lobby Level Starbucks Coffee. Enjoy your favorite coffee beverage and fresh baked pastries.
Scoops
It's not the beach without icecream
Red Parrot
Oceanfront Views and lighter lunch fare as well as your favorite beverages are available from 11am - until daily
Baja Cantina
Serving lunch and your favorite frozen drinks until 5pm daily (seasonal)
Jaboys Pizza
Pizza, burgers and more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Breakers Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BadMojo
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Aug 13, 2012

Breakers 2012 - Disappointment

Old, leased building, water shut off mid visit due to owner non-payment. Very disappointing. WIFI never worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alkrash
Business
NYC
Jul 1, 2013

The Breakers Resort -Palmetto Building

The Breakers Resort is overpriced for the services I was expecting. Ocean view room became the room with parking lot view. Strong sewage smell on the 9th floor and urine smell in the parking lot elevator shows that low -life people can get into the area and security can't do much about it. This is something I never saw in Mexico or any Caribbeans Resorts. Kids from any of 5 The Breakers Buildings can go into Lazy River pool so it can be pretty crowded all the time. Hot tub - forget it. You can't even fit into it's so packed. Not worse it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car for all your intertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LMG8
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 1, 2013

WORST place I have ever stayed!

Do not stay here unless you want to deal with one hassle after another. Our reservation email advised that check in time was 3 pm. Our room was not ready until 5. Our second day there, the hotel bar would not serve my sister alcohol…she is 23 years old. The washed-up, balding bartender was apparently too dumb to figure out she was old enough to drink and became loud and confrontational when he told us her ID was fake. Funny, the day before they had no problem with her ID. The management was extremely unsympathetic. So much for hospitality. There was NO parking available anywhere. The decks were completely full. We had to ride around looking for a spot every time we came back from dinner. We walked into our room one day and the maid had her phone plugged up to OUR phone charger and was blaring her music and having some sort of private dance party. After what we had already been through, this didn’t even phase us. I wouldn’t stay here again if my life depended on it. The staff was generally rude and ignorant. With all the choices in Myrtle Beach, I can guarantee you will find somewhere better than this, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bossc
Business
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Overnight getaway

Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly. However locating the motel was a pain. They have about five different hotels and finding the registration building was a headache. Once we made it to the room I was very glad it was only a one night stay. Had we been staying longer, I would have immediately changed motels. The room was half cleaned, the toilet was dirty and the bathroom was tiny. I will not be staying at the Breakers again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mashieka
Business
Raleigh
May 13, 2014

Items Stolen from my Room!

Decided to try this resort for our annual trip to the beach for my daughters dance competition. Noticed my iPad was missing from my room and immediately notified the front desk. Was treated as though I was lying and told several times that "this rarely happens here" by security. No one ever followed up with me nor contacted me just to show empathy. I left a voice message with the supervisor and never had a return call. While at checkout I voiced my opinion on how terribly I felt the situation was handled and how I would review the resort. A supervisor who happened to be at checkout contacted security who then contacted the local police. I am appalled by the lack of regard by the staff. I will never stay at this resort again and will tell anyone that has plans to visit Myrtle beach to stay clear!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby B. from ohio
Business
Ohio
Jun 14, 2014

Ohio family stay

Not family friendly. Staff were short and don't understand that children wake up early. The hotel wasn't ready for us when we arrived. Overall, bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LJ62582
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2014

Unsanitary, Unsafe, Outdated. Stay at your own risk!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel and after check in we were given our keys to our first room. It was on the first floor and it was "ocean view." We walked in and the ocean view window was on the ground floor directly in front of the pool where there was a DJ dance party going on and tons of people in the pool and in front of the window. What is the point of an ocean view when you can't see the ocean? I also did not feel safe on the first floor right next to the walkway. We were able to get another room on the 8th floor but it was 2 buildings away and not ocean view. We got to that building and saw that the elevator only went up to the 7th floor and we has to walk up these dangerous and uneven stairs to get to the 8th floor. Not so fun while you're pregnant! The elevator actually had a sign that said, "Inspection Certificate is available in the maintenance department." Seriously?? That feels sooo safe! They couldn't get a copy of the inspection and post it? I took a picture of it because that has to be illegal! Maybe it's because the elevator only goes up to the 7th floor! We got to the room and it was just ok. It was a very outdated room and felt very musty and dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub grout was dirty. There was no soap. There were 2 facial bars instead of the soap which were clearly reused once or more and the wrappers were soaked. My husband and I were too grossed out to even take a shower that night or sleep under the sheets after we took off the comforter. The pillows had a nasty musty smell. When we woke up at 7:30 in the morning, my husband looked up on the ceiling and saw a palmetto bug (southern roach). We quickly got up and got ready while we took turns watching the roach. While we were watching it, it FELL OFF THE CEILING AND LANDED ON THE BED!!!! If we slept 30 minutes later, it would have landed on us. We ran out of the room and checked out in the building 3 doors down. There are 7 buildings that this hotel is composed of. Nothing is together. I saw 2 of the buildings and they are nasty. Putting a tropical bedspread on does not equal nice or clean. This was not a $70 room, this was a $160+ room so I was not expecting the low quality. If you are used to cheaper hotels or motels, the Breakers will probably be ok but if not, DO NOT GO HERE! What a waste of money and the traumatizing experience will always be a negative memory for my husband and I. The reviews online did not accurately portray this place. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scott K M
Business
Columbia.SC
Apr 11, 2014

Barely Adequate

The room was dated. Security lock was flimsy. I had to order toilet paper since they only left a quarter of a roll. When asking they were not courteous. They phone twice to make sure it was taken care of on the second attempt. They seemed to be more worried about closing the issue rather than my inconvenience. By the way worse toilet paper and tissue ever very cheap. They did not replenish soap or shampoo. Obviously cutting too many corners. Too bad because it has good potential. TV was not working but they did resolve it but it should have been checked prior to arrival. Security to build was not existent any from the street could get to any floor. The check out was in another building so their was not anyone watching the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lady bubba
Business
Norwalk, CT, USA
Sep 24, 2011

just ok

went to myrtle beach last week. hotel location good, but in the room found two roaches. it was nasty. according to front desk, this was a common thing. rest was so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SC Momma
Business
South Carolina
Jun 22, 2012

Very unclean

First night, pulled back the sheets to get into bed and there was urine on the sheet. Took a while to get bed changed. The next day we did not get any linen service. We had no comforters on the bed either. Manager was not pleasant to deal with. Later in the day we finally got the comforters and clean towels. Never was compensated for this. Floors were dirty and I saw fleas as well. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway was just a couple of miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top