$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

The Breakers Resort

3 stars
View map of 2008 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Breakers Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marc G S
Business
Bristol CT
Aug 25, 2014

Vacation

Everything was great. Plenty of stuff to do. The only bad thing I can say about the resort is the smell of sewage coming out of the sewer drains. It was real bad somedays other than that everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate Gma
Business
Charlotte,NC
Aug 20, 2014

Breakers

Checking In was a challenge as this is a very busy resort. The car port can only hold so many checker-in-ers. The front desk seemed unaware of umbrellas and chairs offered for rent on the sand, directly in front of the hotel. Elevators slow. But, overall, I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have kids, the hotel gave you coupons for other activities. Nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CT Gingers
Business
Cheshire, CT
Aug 13, 2014

Mother/Daughter Getaway

Excellent location and value. Close to all major attractions. Free parking was great to have.Friendly, helpful staff. Room furnishings were a little "tired", but the accommodations in general were clean and spacious. Bathroom was quite small (tiles could have used an update), but functional. Kitchen was adequately stocked to prepare quick meals. Having a Murphy bed was an added bonus. This is not a 4 star resort by any means, but If you are looking for convenience and a relaxed atmosphere for family travel, it's a great spot. We had a wonderful 4 night stay and would return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zion Lowe
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Aug 12, 2014

Cool stay

Loving hotel, great view, nice location, good beach acess. The only thing negative is that the front desk girl was very snappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janice Joi
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Aug 9, 2014

Great girl's getaway

Although it rained most of the time, the accommodations were great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Pier 14 restaurant. It is worth the stroll down the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best vacation planner
Business
Catawba, NC
Aug 5, 2014

Best vacation ever

Even though there was no sun....we had a blast!! The room was perfect and we never moved the car. We walked to restaurants and found great shops to buy souvenirs. We are planning to go back next year and do it again...hopefully with a little sun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kansas Steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie best Nana
Business
Shady Side Md
Aug 4, 2014

Great family vacation

Staff was pleasant especially Brandon who was working at the desk when we checked in....kids loved the pool areaa and lazy river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio weekend traveler
Business
Ohio
Jul 30, 2014

Odd view

First, let me start by saying the room was extremely clean! That is always a plus. Our view from the room was awful! We were placed on the 2nd floor of Paradise tower and our view was of a Pirate Ship. We could barely see any of the ocean, especially me since the railing of the tiny balcony was in my direct line of sight. I am sure the wiews are much better on floor 5 or higher. The front desk lady, Lauren, was excellent!. When I called to see if we could switch to a room on a higher floor she tried everything to accomodate. It wasn't possible to get another room, but we made the best of it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want great seafood at good prices, try Nance's in Murrell's Inlet or Hoskin's in North Myrtle. Both are excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaga's lady
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 28, 2014

Nice location

It is close to the ocean and you can see the ocean just in front of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LJ62582
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2014

Unsanitary, Unsafe, Outdated. Stay at your own risk!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel and after check in we were given our keys to our first room. It was on the first floor and it was "ocean view." We walked in and the ocean view window was on the ground floor directly in front of the pool where there was a DJ dance party going on and tons of people in the pool and in front of the window. What is the point of an ocean view when you can't see the ocean? I also did not feel safe on the first floor right next to the walkway. We were able to get another room on the 8th floor but it was 2 buildings away and not ocean view. We got to that building and saw that the elevator only went up to the 7th floor and we has to walk up these dangerous and uneven stairs to get to the 8th floor. Not so fun while you're pregnant! The elevator actually had a sign that said, "Inspection Certificate is available in the maintenance department." Seriously?? That feels sooo safe! They couldn't get a copy of the inspection and post it? I took a picture of it because that has to be illegal! Maybe it's because the elevator only goes up to the 7th floor! We got to the room and it was just ok. It was a very outdated room and felt very musty and dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub grout was dirty. There was no soap. There were 2 facial bars instead of the soap which were clearly reused once or more and the wrappers were soaked. My husband and I were too grossed out to even take a shower that night or sleep under the sheets after we took off the comforter. The pillows had a nasty musty smell. When we woke up at 7:30 in the morning, my husband looked up on the ceiling and saw a palmetto bug (southern roach). We quickly got up and got ready while we took turns watching the roach. While we were watching it, it FELL OFF THE CEILING AND LANDED ON THE BED!!!! If we slept 30 minutes later, it would have landed on us. We ran out of the room and checked out in the building 3 doors down. There are 7 buildings that this hotel is composed of. Nothing is together. I saw 2 of the buildings and they are nasty. Putting a tropical bedspread on does not equal nice or clean. This was not a $70 room, this was a $160+ room so I was not expecting the low quality. If you are used to cheaper hotels or motels, the Breakers will probably be ok but if not, DO NOT GO HERE! What a waste of money and the traumatizing experience will always be a negative memory for my husband and I. The reviews online did not accurately portray this place. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top