The Breakers Resort

3 stars
2008 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
193 reviews
loved my stay!

could have not asked for more! Wonderful hotel, great location! See full review

  • Sarahnanner
  • Dec 8, 2014
Excellent for the WHOLE FAMILY!!

I traveled down to Myrtle Beach for a last minute photography shoot. Stayed here with the family.... See full review

  • Gebae'
  • Dec 3, 2014
The Breakers Resort Hotel has been serving and pleasing guests that continue to return year after year- a true Myrtle Beach tradition. Centrally located oceanfront at 21st Avenue North, and now anchoring the planned unit redevelopment for the city, guests will have easy access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment experiences the area has to offer.

Guest pleasing amenities include spacious oceanfront lawn with multiple pools & whirlpools, indoor pool & whirlpool, exercise room, restaurant and meeting facilities to accommodate groups of up to 150 people.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

The Breakers Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. One room suite with one king bed & one twin sofa bed. Small refrigerator, stove,oven,microwave & coffee maker.
Ocean View Room
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full bath, Kitchenette with compact refrigerator and microwave. Side ocean view balcony
Ocean Front Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Rooms with Two Double Beds include Oceanfront Balconies, 1 TV, Most with Refrigerator and Microwave.
Standard Hotel Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Bedroom: 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, Kitchenette with a compact refrigerator and microwave
North Tower Oceanfront Efficiency
2 Double Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, compact refrigerator, Microwave. Located at our Boutique North Tower, 8 Blocks North of main resort. Full access to all main Breakers amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.7011 -78.8696
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/International Airport
Area description
The wide, sandy beach and Atlantic surf invite swimming, boogie boarding, beachcombing, fishing (pier and deep-sea), boating, sandcastle-building, or simply soaking up the warm Southern sunshine. More than 100 golf courses are within easy driving distance. The Myrtle Beach National South, West, and King's North courses, designed by Arnold Palmer, are about 15 minutes from the resort.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.1 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.6 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.7 mi

Dining

Papa's Restaurant
Join us for our bountiful Breakfast Buffet or your favorites from land and sea served daily.
Starbucks Coffee
Start your daily in our lobby Level Starbucks Coffee. Enjoy your favorite coffee beverage and fresh baked pastries.
Scoops
It's not the beach without icecream
Red Parrot
Oceanfront Views and lighter lunch fare as well as your favorite beverages are available from 11am - until daily
Baja Cantina
Serving lunch and your favorite frozen drinks until 5pm daily (seasonal)
Jaboys Pizza
Pizza, burgers and more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for The Breakers Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate Gma
Business
Charlotte,NC
Aug 20, 2014

Breakers

Checking In was a challenge as this is a very busy resort. The car port can only hold so many checker-in-ers. The front desk seemed unaware of umbrellas and chairs offered for rent on the sand, directly in front of the hotel. Elevators slow. But, overall, I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have kids, the hotel gave you coupons for other activities. Nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CT Gingers
Business
Cheshire, CT
Aug 13, 2014

Mother/Daughter Getaway

Excellent location and value. Close to all major attractions. Free parking was great to have.Friendly, helpful staff. Room furnishings were a little "tired", but the accommodations in general were clean and spacious. Bathroom was quite small (tiles could have used an update), but functional. Kitchen was adequately stocked to prepare quick meals. Having a Murphy bed was an added bonus. This is not a 4 star resort by any means, but If you are looking for convenience and a relaxed atmosphere for family travel, it's a great spot. We had a wonderful 4 night stay and would return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zion Lowe
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Aug 12, 2014

Cool stay

Loving hotel, great view, nice location, good beach acess. The only thing negative is that the front desk girl was very snappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janice Joi
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Aug 9, 2014

Great girl's getaway

Although it rained most of the time, the accommodations were great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Pier 14 restaurant. It is worth the stroll down the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best vacation planner
Business
Catawba, NC
Aug 5, 2014

Best vacation ever

Even though there was no sun....we had a blast!! The room was perfect and we never moved the car. We walked to restaurants and found great shops to buy souvenirs. We are planning to go back next year and do it again...hopefully with a little sun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kansas Steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie best Nana
Business
Shady Side Md
Aug 4, 2014

Great family vacation

Staff was pleasant especially Brandon who was working at the desk when we checked in....kids loved the pool areaa and lazy river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio weekend traveler
Business
Ohio
Jul 30, 2014

Odd view

First, let me start by saying the room was extremely clean! That is always a plus. Our view from the room was awful! We were placed on the 2nd floor of Paradise tower and our view was of a Pirate Ship. We could barely see any of the ocean, especially me since the railing of the tiny balcony was in my direct line of sight. I am sure the wiews are much better on floor 5 or higher. The front desk lady, Lauren, was excellent!. When I called to see if we could switch to a room on a higher floor she tried everything to accomodate. It wasn't possible to get another room, but we made the best of it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want great seafood at good prices, try Nance's in Murrell's Inlet or Hoskin's in North Myrtle. Both are excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaga's lady
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 28, 2014

Nice location

It is close to the ocean and you can see the ocean just in front of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LJ62582
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2014

Unsanitary, Unsafe, Outdated. Stay at your own risk!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel and after check in we were given our keys to our first room. It was on the first floor and it was "ocean view." We walked in and the ocean view window was on the ground floor directly in front of the pool where there was a DJ dance party going on and tons of people in the pool and in front of the window. What is the point of an ocean view when you can't see the ocean? I also did not feel safe on the first floor right next to the walkway. We were able to get another room on the 8th floor but it was 2 buildings away and not ocean view. We got to that building and saw that the elevator only went up to the 7th floor and we has to walk up these dangerous and uneven stairs to get to the 8th floor. Not so fun while you're pregnant! The elevator actually had a sign that said, "Inspection Certificate is available in the maintenance department." Seriously?? That feels sooo safe! They couldn't get a copy of the inspection and post it? I took a picture of it because that has to be illegal! Maybe it's because the elevator only goes up to the 7th floor! We got to the room and it was just ok. It was a very outdated room and felt very musty and dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub grout was dirty. There was no soap. There were 2 facial bars instead of the soap which were clearly reused once or more and the wrappers were soaked. My husband and I were too grossed out to even take a shower that night or sleep under the sheets after we took off the comforter. The pillows had a nasty musty smell. When we woke up at 7:30 in the morning, my husband looked up on the ceiling and saw a palmetto bug (southern roach). We quickly got up and got ready while we took turns watching the roach. While we were watching it, it FELL OFF THE CEILING AND LANDED ON THE BED!!!! If we slept 30 minutes later, it would have landed on us. We ran out of the room and checked out in the building 3 doors down. There are 7 buildings that this hotel is composed of. Nothing is together. I saw 2 of the buildings and they are nasty. Putting a tropical bedspread on does not equal nice or clean. This was not a $70 room, this was a $160+ room so I was not expecting the low quality. If you are used to cheaper hotels or motels, the Breakers will probably be ok but if not, DO NOT GO HERE! What a waste of money and the traumatizing experience will always be a negative memory for my husband and I. The reviews online did not accurately portray this place. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiffany martin
Business
elloree south carolina
Jul 16, 2014

vacation

It was a nice hotel. Next time a come back I will visit this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was nice. And I really enjoy myself

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top