$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

The Breakers Resort

3 stars
2008 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
180 reviews
Breakers resort

We had a great time sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. The water park and lazy river are... See full review

  • wv doc
  • Sep 27, 2014
fun for the grandson

When I booked this hotel, all of my decisions were based upon amenities for my 4 year old grandson.... See full review

  • Big Nanny
  • Sep 26, 2014
The Breakers Resort Hotel has been serving and pleasing guests that continue to return year after year- a true Myrtle Beach tradition. Centrally located oceanfront at 21st Avenue North, and now anchoring the planned unit redevelopment for the city, guests will have easy access to all the shopping, dining and entertainment experiences the area has to offer.

Guest pleasing amenities include spacious oceanfront lawn with multiple pools & whirlpools, indoor pool & whirlpool, exercise room, restaurant and meeting facilities to accommodate groups of up to 150 people.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Hotel Map

33.7011 -78.8696
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/International Airport
Area description
The wide, sandy beach and Atlantic surf invite swimming, boogie boarding, beachcombing, fishing (pier and deep-sea), boating, sandcastle-building, or simply soaking up the warm Southern sunshine. More than 100 golf courses are within easy driving distance. The Myrtle Beach National South, West, and King's North courses, designed by Arnold Palmer, are about 15 minutes from the resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Breakers Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Breakers Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. One room suite with one king bed & one twin sofa bed. Small refrigerator, stove,oven,microwave & coffee maker.
Ocean View Room
Breakers Resort @ 21st. Avenue North. 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full bath, Kitchenette with compact refrigerator and microwave. Side ocean view balcony
Ocean Front Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Rooms with Two Double Beds include Oceanfront Balconies, 1 TV, Most with Refrigerator and Microwave.
Standard Hotel Room
Breakers Resort at 21st Avenue North, Bedroom: 2 Queen Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, Kitchenette with a compact refrigerator and microwave
North Tower Oceanfront Efficiency
2 Double Beds, HD Flat Screen TV, Full Bath, compact refrigerator, Microwave. Located at our Boutique North Tower, 8 Blocks North of main resort. Full access to all main Breakers amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.5 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.1 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.6 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.7 mi

Dining

Papa's Restaurant
Join us for our bountiful Breakfast Buffet or your favorites from land and sea served daily.
Starbucks Coffee
Start your daily in our lobby Level Starbucks Coffee. Enjoy your favorite coffee beverage and fresh baked pastries.
Scoops
It's not the beach without icecream
Red Parrot
Oceanfront Views and lighter lunch fare as well as your favorite beverages are available from 11am - until daily
Baja Cantina
Serving lunch and your favorite frozen drinks until 5pm daily (seasonal)
Jaboys Pizza
Pizza, burgers and more

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for The Breakers Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie best Nana
Shady Side Md
Aug 4, 2014

Great family vacation

Staff was pleasant especially Brandon who was working at the desk when we checked in....kids loved the pool areaa and lazy river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio weekend traveler
Ohio
Jul 30, 2014

Odd view

First, let me start by saying the room was extremely clean! That is always a plus. Our view from the room was awful! We were placed on the 2nd floor of Paradise tower and our view was of a Pirate Ship. We could barely see any of the ocean, especially me since the railing of the tiny balcony was in my direct line of sight. I am sure the wiews are much better on floor 5 or higher. The front desk lady, Lauren, was excellent!. When I called to see if we could switch to a room on a higher floor she tried everything to accomodate. It wasn't possible to get another room, but we made the best of it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want great seafood at good prices, try Nance's in Murrell's Inlet or Hoskin's in North Myrtle. Both are excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaga's lady
Raleigh, NC
Jul 28, 2014

Nice location

It is close to the ocean and you can see the ocean just in front of you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LJ62582
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2014

Unsanitary, Unsafe, Outdated. Stay at your own risk!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel and after check in we were given our keys to our first room. It was on the first floor and it was "ocean view." We walked in and the ocean view window was on the ground floor directly in front of the pool where there was a DJ dance party going on and tons of people in the pool and in front of the window. What is the point of an ocean view when you can't see the ocean? I also did not feel safe on the first floor right next to the walkway. We were able to get another room on the 8th floor but it was 2 buildings away and not ocean view. We got to that building and saw that the elevator only went up to the 7th floor and we has to walk up these dangerous and uneven stairs to get to the 8th floor. Not so fun while you're pregnant! The elevator actually had a sign that said, "Inspection Certificate is available in the maintenance department." Seriously?? That feels sooo safe! They couldn't get a copy of the inspection and post it? I took a picture of it because that has to be illegal! Maybe it's because the elevator only goes up to the 7th floor! We got to the room and it was just ok. It was a very outdated room and felt very musty and dirty. The bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub grout was dirty. There was no soap. There were 2 facial bars instead of the soap which were clearly reused once or more and the wrappers were soaked. My husband and I were too grossed out to even take a shower that night or sleep under the sheets after we took off the comforter. The pillows had a nasty musty smell. When we woke up at 7:30 in the morning, my husband looked up on the ceiling and saw a palmetto bug (southern roach). We quickly got up and got ready while we took turns watching the roach. While we were watching it, it FELL OFF THE CEILING AND LANDED ON THE BED!!!! If we slept 30 minutes later, it would have landed on us. We ran out of the room and checked out in the building 3 doors down. There are 7 buildings that this hotel is composed of. Nothing is together. I saw 2 of the buildings and they are nasty. Putting a tropical bedspread on does not equal nice or clean. This was not a $70 room, this was a $160+ room so I was not expecting the low quality. If you are used to cheaper hotels or motels, the Breakers will probably be ok but if not, DO NOT GO HERE! What a waste of money and the traumatizing experience will always be a negative memory for my husband and I. The reviews online did not accurately portray this place. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiffany martin
elloree south carolina
Jul 16, 2014

vacation

It was a nice hotel. Next time a come back I will visit this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was nice. And I really enjoy myself

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eli super wife
Woodbridge, Virginia
Jul 15, 2014

Fantastic weekend

Everything was great about this hotel, the staff, the location, the price except that the bathroom was not as clean as I expected it to be. Not the worse bathroom but not the best either considering everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SC Disappoined Family
South Carolina
Jul 14, 2014

Short family getaway

Overall the hotel was okay; however, there must have been a shortage in towels and staff. There were no towels in the room nor toiletries (basic stuff like soap). Took hours for the staff to deliver towels and non were delivered the next morning after requesting more towels. An horrific sewer odor was overwhelming the first night of arrival into the next morning. The price paid was too high for the service received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kat snow
Wilmington NC
Jul 13, 2014

excellent place to stay

This was a GREAT place to stay...we SO enjoyed our room and plan on coming back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ncuser
cary, NC
Jul 11, 2014

Nice location and good pool stuff

Loved the lazy river and the pools when the beach was rough with high tides. Kids had great fun. Not many restaurants in walking distance but in a little distance definitely there are some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Never reach this hotel betwen 2 to 5 PM on Sundays to checkin. The wait is about 1 to 2hrs in line to checkin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Breakers Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judymoon
Lynchburg, va
Jul 2, 2014

Weekend getaway

We really enjoyed our stay at the breakers. The room was nice and clean and loved the fact that there was a live dj at the poolside during the day and loved the parrot grill food and barside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Call taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top