$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Sun N Sand

3 stars
View map of 2701 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
94 reviews
Short Vacation Getaway

This was my first time bringing my 2 year to the beach and as soon as we got to our room she saw... See full review

  • BIG Beach Lover
  • Mar 31, 2013
Awesome!

Beach, Shopping, Good Stuff! Everything was fantastic. The hotel was quiet and all the staff were... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 14, 2011
Renovated contemporary-style rooms and modern amenities

Up-to-date features and an oceanfront address beckon business and leisure travelers to the Sun N Sand Resort, a quiet haven within driving distance to Myrtle Beach shopping, restaurants, golf courses and attractions. Rooms bear fresh modern touches like hardwood furniture and granite countertops, and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, mi.ni-refrigerators and microwaves. An alfresco bar and indoor and outdoor pools make the setting all the more intimate and relaxing.

Highlights
  • 224 renovated rooms and suites with oceanfront views
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Modern amenities like granite countertops and flat-screen TVs
  • Mojo's Beach Bar and Grill
  • Front desk staff arrange tee times and tickets to local attractions
Rooms

Rooms and suites favor sleek furniture, white down comforters and pillows, and a palette of periwinkle and brown. A multimillion dollar renovation of the Sun N Sand Resort elevated the luxury, with wet bars fashioned from polished granite and headboards and media cabinets stained in rich espresso. Creature comforts like mini-refrigerators and microwaves add to the comfort, while private balconies offer city, beach and ocean views. Connecting rooms are available upon request.

Features

As its name suggests, the Sun N Sand Resort covers the essentials: sand and surf. When guests want a day off from the beach, they spend time at the indoor and outdoor pools or fitness center. The resident bar -- Beach Bar and Grill -- sets the scene for alfresco cocktails.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (11.4 mi./18.4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (15.1 mi./24.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium (11.2 mi./18.1 km)
  • The Children's Museum (11.4 mi./18.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (11.5 mi./18.6 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (11.9 mi./19.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (11.9 mi./19.2 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (12.3 mi./19.8 km)
  • Grand Strand (12.6 mi./20.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (12.9 mi./20.8 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs – Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (15.5 mi./25 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (16 mi./25.7 km)
Business
  • 7,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Hotel charges a resort fee of $7 USD per day
  • Rollaway Beds are $25.00 per night. Cribs and rollaways are based on availability
  • No refunds for early departures

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun N Sand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Sun N Sand Rooms

Standard
Ocean View King bed with Balcony- Partial View of the Atlantic Ocean. Luxury linens. Microwave and Refrigerator. Coffee Maker. TV. Free high-speed Internet access.
Standard
Ocean Front 2 Double beds Window View- Oceanfront Double Window View - Window view overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Two double beds. Luxury linens. Microwave and Refrigerator. Coffee Maker. TV. Free high-speed Internet access.
Standard
Oceanfront 2 double Beds with Balcony - Amenities include custom bathroom with granite countertop Complimentary wireless internet flat screen tv and Granite top wetbar with microwave fridge and coffeemaker.
Standard
Ocean view 2 double Beds with Balcony - Partial view of the atlantic ocean. Amenities Include custom bathroom with granite countertop Complimentary wireless internet flat screen tv granite top wetbar with microwave fridge and coffee maker.
Standard
Oceanfront king Bed with Balcony - Amenities Include custom bathroom with granite countertop complimentary wireless internet flat screen tv granite top wetbar with microwave fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sun N Sand

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 94
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelgirl13
Business
Indiana
Mar 10, 2013

Would not go back to this hotel again.

Excited to visit Myrtle Beach for the first time, we were disappointed to find the hotel to be unlike the pictures advertised the websites. When we checked in, they charged us an additional $7 a day resort fee, which was unaccounted for through the booking process. The first room we were sent to was extremely dirty (dust on the headboard and desk, stains on the desk chair cushion, stains of an unknown nature on the curtains and dirty hand prints on the bathroom walls). The outlets were also exposed, which is a safety hazard! The cable channels were limited and the wifi was slow. From the advertising and our understanding, we were to stay in an ocean front room but that was not the case, we had a nice view of the hotel next door. The room was nothing like advertised on the websites. They offered to "upgrade" us to a different room but could not promise that the cleanliness would be any better. They also have a no refundable cancellation policy. We decided to try it because the money had already been paid upfront. Although the room still was not to the quality of the advertised pictures, the ocean view was spectacular. We decided to stay. They offered us a continental breakfast the first morning only -muffins, danishes, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. The outdoor pool was not heated and the hot tub was broken. The indoor pool was working but not accessible from inside the hotel - access was outside and around the building. The elevators were also under construction and moving very slowly. Housekeeping offered services every morning. The staff was pleasant overall. One night someone pulled the fire alarm at 2:30am so we had to evacuate the hotel and wait for the fire department to confirm that there was no fire. The last night, there were very rowdy guests on our floor. Multiple other guests complained and security was sent up to attend to the situation but the chaos continued until about 4am! It was frustrating that they were unable to control the situation more quickly. We did not allow these things to ruin our trip though. The ocean front rooms are definitely worth the money because you can see and hear the ocean at any time of the day. The beach is a few steps from the hotel. The staff was pleasant and tried to be accommodating despite the multitude of issues. If you are looking for a place to just sleep, this hotel would be okay but there is not much to do inside the hotel. They have a bar and restaurant but that is not necessarily a family-friendly environment. Although it is on the ocean front, it is not in the center of all the attractions. It is a few short driving minutes from several shopping centers, attractions, etc. They also have free parking in their parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Liberty Steakhouse and Brewery (Boardwalk at the Beach) and Nacho Hippo (The Market Common). Would definitely eat at both places again! Great food, reasonable prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHAYBUTTA
Business
GREENSBORO NC
Oct 2, 2012

Enjoyed my stay!

Hotel staff was excellent, Room was clean, hotel restaurant and bar was perfect. will be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashley wallae
Business
my office
Jun 26, 2012

Perfect trip

This hotel out did my expectations. The staff went above and beyond for my requests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I cannot wait to stay again. It was in the perfect location of myrtle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right near the Market common shopping center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tisha AN UNHAPPY STAY
Business
MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA
May 29, 2012

MY BIRTHDAY TRIP

THE HOTEL WAS HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!! SPOTS ALL OVER THE FLOOR!! THE HOTEL HAD A SMELL THAT WAS HORBIBLE! THE ONLY THING GOOD ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THAT IT WAS CLOSE TO THE BEACH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sun n sands
Business
greensboro, nc
Aug 1, 2011

ewwww

cockroachesh in balcony water was clogged in bath tub room service didnt clean up fridge wasnt that cold n it was too small i booked for ocean front and i ended up side view and that is not fair, what is meaning of reservation then? i didnt like it and i m not going there next time i m not staying there next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

crazy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LindaLoo
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jun 7, 2011

Sun Blast

The location of the hotel was perfect. I loved that it was right on the water so we could go relax anytime and it was close enough to shops and other attractions that we didnt have to drive too far. The service in the hotel was pretty good. The outdoor and indoor pools were okay but I feel like everything could have been a little cleaner. My room needed a good cleaning also. We found a dead bug stuck to the ceiling and another crawling on the floor. The sheets had some stains on them but other than that it was an okay room. We had a good time regardless of the room quality but for future trips I would probably go to a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway on the Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison wi
Jun 6, 2011

Southern Hospitality

The hotel was great ,we loved the live bands and beach bar the restaurant was very good and handled the room service.The beach was beautiful and the staff were excellent especially [...].We highly recommend the hotel to any one looking for a beautiful place full of southern hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chasity Ms. Fun
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 17, 2011

Great Find

The hotel staff was Super friendly at check out and every time they saw me and my friends. The room was clean. Linens were fresh. I had a great time for the price and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Sep 15, 2010

bad

I had to switch rooms 2 times before i got a room the 2 room i got i turned the stove on and got shocked it started smoking.Rooms not clean carpet spots everywhere.The dishes in the kitchen were dirty.The safe door was ripped off.I can go on and on etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 8, 2010

Dirty and Bad Service

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by the elevator in the parking deck that smelled like something had died in it. It was foul. There are also no lights in the parking deck, which makes single female travelers feel a little suspect of who or what might be lurking around. Then we walk in the hotel and there are buckets on the ground where water was leaking through the roof into the lobby. The woman at the desk was friendly, but did not have a very clean demeanor about her. The room was clean; however, we booked a double and they gave us a king and were completely booked so my friend and I had to share a bed for the weekend. The hotel ran out of towels and could not give us any full sized towels after the first day. The house cleaning staff also did not refill the toilet paper and when we called the front desk asking for more they told us we would have to wait until house keeping got in for the day. The hotel is very noisey, you can hear the people in the room next to you open the drawers. This hotel was a major let down, and I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top