$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Sun N Sand

3 stars
2701 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Short Vacation Getaway

This was my first time bringing my 2 year to the beach and as soon as we got to our room she saw... See full review

  • BIG Beach Lover
  • Mar 31, 2013
Awesome!

Beach, Shopping, Good Stuff! Everything was fantastic. The hotel was quiet and all the staff were... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 14, 2011
Renovated contemporary-style rooms and modern amenities

Up-to-date features and an oceanfront address beckon business and leisure travelers to the Sun N Sand Resort, a quiet haven within driving distance to Myrtle Beach shopping, restaurants, golf courses and attractions. Rooms bear fresh modern touches like hardwood furniture and granite countertops, and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, mi.ni-refrigerators and microwaves. An alfresco bar and indoor and outdoor pools make the setting all the more intimate and relaxing.

Highlights
  • 224 renovated rooms and suites with oceanfront views
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Modern amenities like granite countertops and flat-screen TVs
  • Mojo's Beach Bar and Grill
  • Front desk staff arrange tee times and tickets to local attractions
Rooms

Rooms and suites favor sleek furniture, white down comforters and pillows, and a palette of periwinkle and brown. A multimillion dollar renovation of the Sun N Sand Resort elevated the luxury, with wet bars fashioned from polished granite and headboards and media cabinets stained in rich espresso. Creature comforts like mini-refrigerators and microwaves add to the comfort, while private balconies offer city, beach and ocean views. Connecting rooms are available upon request.

Features

As its name suggests, the Sun N Sand Resort covers the essentials: sand and surf. When guests want a day off from the beach, they spend time at the indoor and outdoor pools or fitness center. The resident bar -- Beach Bar and Grill -- sets the scene for alfresco cocktails.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (11.4 mi./18.4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (15.1 mi./24.2 km)
Attractions
  • Ripley's Aquarium (11.2 mi./18.1 km)
  • The Children's Museum (11.4 mi./18.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (11.5 mi./18.6 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (11.6 mi./18.6 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (11.9 mi./19.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (11.9 mi./19.2 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (12.3 mi./19.8 km)
  • Grand Strand (12.6 mi./20.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (12.9 mi./20.8 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs – Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (15.5 mi./25 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (16 mi./25.7 km)
Business
  • 7,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Hotel charges a resort fee of $7 USD per day
  • Rollaway Beds are $25.00 per night. Cribs and rollaways are based on availability
  • No refunds for early departures

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6635 -78.9131
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun N Sand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sun N Sand Rooms

Standard
Ocean View King bed with Balcony- Partial View of the Atlantic Ocean. Luxury linens. Microwave and Refrigerator. Coffee Maker. TV. Free high-speed Internet access.
Standard
Ocean Front 2 Double beds Window View- Oceanfront Double Window View - Window view overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Two double beds. Luxury linens. Microwave and Refrigerator. Coffee Maker. TV. Free high-speed Internet access.
Standard
Oceanfront 2 double Beds with Balcony - Amenities include custom bathroom with granite countertop Complimentary wireless internet flat screen tv and Granite top wetbar with microwave fridge and coffeemaker.
Standard
Ocean view 2 double Beds with Balcony - Partial view of the atlantic ocean. Amenities Include custom bathroom with granite countertop Complimentary wireless internet flat screen tv granite top wetbar with microwave fridge and coffee maker.
Standard
Oceanfront king Bed with Balcony - Amenities Include custom bathroom with granite countertop complimentary wireless internet flat screen tv granite top wetbar with microwave fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Sun N Sand

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unbelieveable Sip
Milledgeville Ga
Jul 25, 2011

HORRIBLE

My husband and I stopped here after traveling from Va. Needless to say we should have kept going this was the nastiest hotel I have ever been in and the God awful smell of feet and wet dogs even though no pets were allowed the place reeked of horrible odors. The rooms were filthy and even after complainng to the front desk and the room was supposedly cleaned dirty towels were still left in the room and the tub not cleaned. I went to the store and purchaed my own cleaning supplies and cleaned the bathroom myself my advice if you ever go to myrtle beach run not walk away from this nasty hole called a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tisha AN UNHAPPY STAY
MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA
May 29, 2012

MY BIRTHDAY TRIP

THE HOTEL WAS HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!! SPOTS ALL OVER THE FLOOR!! THE HOTEL HAD A SMELL THAT WAS HORBIBLE! THE ONLY THING GOOD ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THAT IT WAS CLOSE TO THE BEACH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TamTam W
Winston Salem, NC
Oct 5, 2012

BEWARE!!! / DONT STAY HERE!!

RECENT CAR BREAK INS!!!! My husband and I booked 3 nights at the Sun N Sand Resort for Oct 4-Oct 7. In less than 24 hrs after checking in, we got a call from the front desk saying our car was broken into. One of the maintenance staff discovered it and reported it to the front desk. Glass and other non-valuable items were everywhere. The thief had time enough to rummage through every compartment inside the car and get away clean. No real security cameras. Not only was the staff not helpful, but the MB Police Dept wasn’t either. One of the desk clerks nonchalantly pointed out to the cop that there were other break-ins there within the last 2 wks. The staff will not tell you this when you are checking in and parking your car. We packed our things and approached management regarding a refund for the remaining days we’d already paid for– she basically told us they have “strict policies and that they DO not refund for early departure for any reason”. She made sure to remind us of the agreement we signed. Not to mention, on every level of the parking deck they have signs/disclaimers saying they are not responsible for theft or damage to vehicles parked in THEIR parking deck. To add insult to injury, she offered us another vacation there with them as compensation for our trouble. NO THANKS! Word to the wise, DO NOT STAY HERE! Pay a few extra bucks and stay somewhere else or you’re on your own. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luanna
NYC
Jul 13, 2013

WARNING!!!

My husband and I arrived at Sun and Sand Resort for a 4 day stay this past week. WARNING!!! We were placed in room 711, where the door was opened when we arrived, the room smelled dingy, the bed was held up with wooden blocks, the sheets felt sticky, the lamps were broken, the sink and tub were clogged, the bathroom door was broken AND the phone line did not work although it was completely plugged into the jack. When we made a complaint at the front desk, were were placed in another room and were told that management would contact us immediately... It is now 2 days after checkout and we have yet to speak to management. I feel that we should have been refunded for at least the first day but every time we asked at the desk, we were told that the manager Will and Chad were at meetings or that we had just missed them.... Hmmmmm this place is a horror, it runs itself with staff who do not care about their jobs maybe because they are mismanaged. Just book a stay and you will see that you will get no room service, no towels, no respect, no answers!!! They are even too cheap to turn on the AC in the lobby... Make no mistake, their rates are not as cheap as their service...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
rockwell nc
Aug 8, 2011

sucked i want my money back not worthit

Swimming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sun n sands
greensboro, nc
Aug 1, 2011

ewwww

cockroachesh in balcony water was clogged in bath tub room service didnt clean up fridge wasnt that cold n it was too small i booked for ocean front and i ended up side view and that is not fair, what is meaning of reservation then? i didnt like it and i m not going there next time i m not staying there next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

crazy

Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
manda mama
greenville, sc
Aug 4, 2010

False advertising

[...] It is now the Sun and Sand. It doesn't have a Spa anymore which is what made us choose this hotel. When we booked the room we wanted a ocean front king and mini kitchen. When we got to the room it was two double beds and mini kitchen. They gave us a King ocean view suite to make it up. The room was bigger, but the kitchen was missing cabinet doors, the living room was flooded with water when it rained, you couldn't close the bathroom door or you would get trapped in it, and there was a hole in the wall behind the door. Overall we will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Jul 25, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever

The hotel was presented as a 3 star hotel. The hotel was more like a 1-star motel. The staff for the most part was not concerned about the problems that we had with our stay. The wireless internet was not working well at all, the dirty towels were not picked up and had to call to get clean ones,and the beds were not made up properly. I was also not pleased with the customer service with your company either. When I explained about the problems we were having with our stay. The customer service rep. told me to check out of the hotel, without providing us with another hotel to go to. We wanted our money back because we were not happy with the hotel, but the rep. could not state whether we could get our money back, so we stayed the 2 days that we paid for. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
short vacation bad experince
New York and Richmond
Jul 12, 2010

never again

We arrived at 2pm.Eventhough there was noboby there beside us we had to wait more than 20 min.to c/in.The staff at the front desk doesnt care about customer.This is not CUSTOMER service.No smily face at all.We were really dissapointed we paid 250 dolar for two night but we didnt enjoy our stay.Elevators are discusting dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
morehead city, nc
Jul 13, 2010

was not a good stay

the name got changed no notice. no sign. aircondition blow black dust. room service left door open. Paint tape left up. no bar or fine dining under construction with no notice. floor was durty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search