Sun N Sand

3 stars
View map of 2701 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sun N Sand

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greenville south carolina
Jul 26, 2010

not bad but there r better hotels

staff and maids were great, was not bad place to be since it was last min booking for week of 4th of july, but I have stayed in much better hotels at myrtle beach for the price. this hotel has been remodel and looks good, but everything still looks cheap and old like its owned by non american? Room was also too small, beds were pretty hard. Cheap pictures hanging in room and such. one big important info to note, the name of this hotel is not the name they have shown on this web, the number on this web has been disconnected, and the web pic is not the right pic of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 25, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever

The hotel was presented as a 3 star hotel. The hotel was more like a 1-star motel. The staff for the most part was not concerned about the problems that we had with our stay. The wireless internet was not working well at all, the dirty towels were not picked up and had to call to get clean ones,and the beds were not made up properly. I was also not pleased with the customer service with your company either. When I explained about the problems we were having with our stay. The customer service rep. told me to check out of the hotel, without providing us with another hotel to go to. We wanted our money back because we were not happy with the hotel, but the rep. could not state whether we could get our money back, so we stayed the 2 days that we paid for. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 21, 2010

Great value

The hotel is in transition and the new owners are doing it right. They will only get better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like put put golf play early in morning.It's not crowded and not as hot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Jul 21, 2010

family getaway

it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
asheboro,nc
Jul 19, 2010

"Could be nicer"

rooms weren't ready for check in til almost an hour after "check-in". Someone else was booked in the same room. Cards didn't work half the time, elevators were extremely slow. But the beds slept better than any I have ever had in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superob100
Business
Columbus, OH
Jul 19, 2010

In Transition - Trending Positive

Hotel has recently changed ownership and has been under renovation for over year. Reviews of this hotel over the past year have not been positive but we booked anyway because we had friends next door in a high end condo unit. We had seen this hotel the previous year when visiting the same friends next door and saw that they were doing alot to upgrade but bad reviews were still coming in. Our experience was positive. We had an average room with 2 double beds. There were problems with the room but nothing that would ruin our stay. A lamp had a lamp shade sitting on a bulbless socket. The hair dryer wasn't firmly attached to the wall. A chair's fabric was water stained. The outdoor pool was small and the indoor pool was smaller and a bit dirty. However, we did have hot water, cold air conditioning and comfortable beds. The microwave, mini fridge and free WiFi worked. The desk and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant opened while we stayed. Had been closed for a long time. The deck overlooking the beach was great for drinks and a meal. The lobby was neat and clean. All of the hallways appeared to be freshly painted. There was plenty of parking. If you stay on the 3rd floor, beware that the hotel's party rooms are on the 2nd floor. We had one loud night with heavy bass beats going to 12:30am. The overall location was great, ocean front with many palm trees between the hotel and the beach. Quite pretty. While the hotel was not perfect, the rooms could use some additional updating, the overall experience was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many things to do but you are near the end of the southern side of Myrtle beach. Other than the beach you are probably going to be driving to most of the attractions or better dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stanthaman
Business
Ga
Jul 19, 2010

The M Grand

When we first checked in they didnt put us in the room we requested and the a/c wasn't working. We went to the front desk and showed them the order that we placed(which we had read on another review to print the order just in case which was a great idea) and they took care of it. The employee at the front desk was really nice. The only thing we didnt like was the showers. They were small and there was nowhere to put our soap and shampoos. Other than that it was great and we will probably stay there again. Hopefully they will have the dining area remodeled when we return.If you love seafood you have to eat at "The Original Benjamins". It was great!!! We will absolutely go back to MB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Original Benjamins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocean1204
Business
charlotte, nc
Jul 18, 2010

nightmare on ocean blvd

would not reccomend to my worst enemy, when reported things wrong, no one fixed them, or cared

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

market commons area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
baldtar
Business
Myrtle beach
Jul 18, 2010

Worst Resort Ever

worst resort ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun N Sand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
morehead city, nc
Jul 13, 2010

was not a good stay

the name got changed no notice. no sign. aircondition blow black dust. room service left door open. Paint tape left up. no bar or fine dining under construction with no notice. floor was durty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top