$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Springmaid Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Springmaid Beach Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 29, 2010

Great Hotel and Location for the Price

The location was perfect. I did not like that check in was at 4:00p. I think 4pm is too late. We arrived early and they gave us our room keys and told us to call a phone number at 3:30 to see if our room was ready. At 3:30 we called and they said our room was ready and we could go on up to it. Once we arrived, our room keys did not work. So we had to walk all the way back to the reservations building so they could reactivate the cards. The room was nice. I didn't like that you could see other people on their balconies from your balcony. I felt like some of the other guests were right beside me. There was a pretty nice view of the beach. The hotel has a very nice pier with an amazing view. However, many people fish on the pier, so there is a fishy aroma and dried guts from bait on parts of the pier. The hotel does not have a complimentary breakfast. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Since this hotel does not have a complimentary breakfast, I would recommend taking advantage of the pools and beach until as close to check out as possible (with time to shower, change and pack of course), and then go to a breakfast place nearby. They do have a restaurant that I heard is pretty good. On the next street over (Kings Hwy) there are tons of breakfast places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OnlyWentThereForThePier
Business
NC
Jun 24, 2010

3 days and 2 nights at SpringMaid

OK, first the good. We chose this hotel because of its location (last hotel at the south end of myrtle beach and nice and quiet) and the pier. My son loves to fish, so having the pier right there was great. Now the not so good – the room smelled smoky and musty when we walked in. I paid an extra $10 per night for a "resort" room, but I don't think it would have been different than any of the other rooms. We've stayed here before and didn't pay extra, and got the same type of room. The microwave was literally the size of a shoe box and took 3 times longer to cook (and no turn table). There was no sink, oven, utensils, or plates. I usually stay at the Dunes Village Resort in the winter time and am used to having all of this I guess. The beds are extra firm, so if you like a soft bed you may not like these. There were two itty bitty trash cans in the room, so trash piled up pretty quickly. There is no sink in the bathroom, and the soap/shampoo is in dispensers on the wall instead of the travel size bottles – good or bad depending on what you prefer. Most of the rooms are ocean view, but not directly facing the ocean. There was a K9 conference of some sort going on which involved several dogs, which were also staying in the rooms. I don't have anything against dogs but I prefer to know that I wasn't staying in a room that a dog with possibly fleas and ticks was laying around in. The Marlin restaurant was a waste of money - very limited selection of cafeteria style food that was over priced. The café on the pier was pretty good though. Overall, we had a good time. The kids enjoyed the pools (small) and the pier (great!). If this hotel did not have a pier though, we would not stay here. It

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the Marlin Restaurant, unless you want cafeteria style food. There was a very limited selection. For the price, go out to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Lawn Pa
Jun 16, 2010

Clean

Very Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dawglover
Business
kingsport tn
Jun 13, 2010

great price, great location!

loved the hotel, easy beach access and the private beach kept the crowd at a minimum,loved it! disappointed that the on site resturant wasn't open for the season yet but overall the trip was great! our youngest loved being close enough to the baech to look for shells all day. the room was a liitle outdated but well maintained. we cant wait to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Jun 2, 2010

Good Family Atmosphere

we were there for a craft show that was being held at the facility. We enjoyed the show and other things offered at the hotel. The breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 1, 2010

Overall very enjoyable vacation!

Our first room needed serious maintenance (leaking pipes)and updating. After insisting on another room, we were moved to a newly renovated room which was much nicer and made the stay more enjoyable. The maintenance gentlemen and security lady even helped us move! Very friendly staff! Kids loved the beach and pools and Dad loved the pier for fishing! Just make sure you ask for a renovated room when you stay! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Day-Day
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
May 24, 2010

Not to Hot

From the website, the hotel rooms look bigger, more comfortable and nicer. Once we arrived, I was dissapointed with the rooms size and how the sink is in the bedroom area instead of in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Computer Engineer -- Go Jackets!
Business
Savannah, GA
May 23, 2010

Unbeatable value!!

After booking the room, I was a bit worried because of how inexpensive the rooms were. Once I arrived and got to the room I was impressed. The room was very large and very clean. The resort has multiple pools (some are heated). The beach was just a short walk across a courtyard. My trip was just a brief getaway for my wife and I, but we grabbed as many brochures as we could because we plan on taking the family back. This will most likely be our Summer getaway for the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway at the Beach ... the shopping, the dining, and the nightlife was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah the Wonder Mom
Business
Statesville, NC
May 17, 2010

A fabulous stay

This trip was perfect for me and my kids. I was concerned with safety and accessibility to the beach and restaurants being a single parent. Everything that you needed was right there and you didn't have to walk a mile to get where you wanted to go. I hope to come back to Springmaid Beach Resort soon. The kids hope so too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is also a wonderful restaurant next door to the resort besides the two on site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Springmaid Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
May 17, 2010

Springmaid Pier Hotel

This hotel was first class.The location was great. The service was also excellent. It was nice to walk out on the pier at night and listen to the ocean and check out the lights along the coastline. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top