$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
377 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (377)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 377
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greeneville flash
Business
Greeneville, TN
Jun 1, 2009

fantastic time

Arrived early and they accomodated me rite then. The hotel was very clean. The room was very spacious. The location was close to places to eat that i enjoyed. The rooms were cleaned daily. Lots of parking area. I have nothing but good things to say for my stay here and i certainly will book there next stay. Hope everyone enjoys as much as me and my wife did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chappy12
Business
iowa city iowa
Nov 21, 2011

my sister loved her bday vacation

I brought my sister who just turned 14 out to myrtle beach for the weekend and she loved the beach front/ocean view. we were in the middle of everything and we both enjoyed our stay, thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

its only 4 miles from the hotel on kings highway north but we would recommend the flimangio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Business
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Tan Tim
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 12, 2013

Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things done right to make you comfortable. And yes, right on the ocean, great view. But what struck me the most was that the staff seemed to really care, not just because of company policy, but because of the kind of people they were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Also a well known national specialty coffee shop just across the street. (I liked it).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilkes, north carolina
Jun 12, 2009

perfect trip,great get away

hotel and staff were great. rooms and pool area have been remodeled. room was clean & comfortable,great view and close to every thing myrtle beach has to offer . one of our best trips to myrtle beach. parking is not great at hotel but parking deck is only a couple hundred yards away. we are thinking of going back again this fall and would use this hotel again. we are very pleased A+ service betty N.C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pier 14 is about 10 to 15 min walik on the beach,great place for lunch & drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Mom!
Business
Beckley WV
Jul 29, 2010

Great FamilyGet Away!

We were there for a few days and the it was perfect. The staff were all very helpful and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Quite a nice hotel.

I read some other reviews about Sandcastle and was a little bit worried about the quality of staying. Plus I didn't have little children with me. As a matter of fact, everything was just OK. I saw a lot of families with children, who spent their time in two swimming pools or on the beach. They seemed pretty happy. I didn't see any cockroaches (I read about it at some review) but I saw pest control specialists. Elevator: We thought it would be better to have more then one for the tower but that fact will not stop me from choosing this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MB obsessed
Business
Carolina Beach, NC
May 12, 2009

beautiful and relaxing

I love Myrtle Beach, and this was by far the most relaxing weekend I have had in a long time. I enjoyed sitting by the pool and lazy river and sipping a delicious cocktail from the cabana bar. There was a restaurant onsite, that we visited in our bathing suits. That saved us an hour or more of relaxation time! I usually stay oceanfront, but decided to give the sideview room a chance. I am glad I did because I could see the ocean fine! Walking distance to another great bar beside the Camelot Resort called Bummz, where we sat out under the stars sipping pina coladas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florence sc
May 20, 2010

great vacation

very great stay great location just what i needed only stayed two days but it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 5, 2011

Great Place and restaurant

Nice place for the money! Check internet for deals cause that is where I found mine! Had a cool Tiki bar at the pool that also has virgin drinks for the kids. They have recently updated all of the rooms-new carpet, bedcovers, paint...the works! Doesn't look like online pics, but much nicer! Don't miss the Cafe! BEST PHILLY EVER!! And my kids LOVED the pizza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They will even deliver to the pool for you so you don't have to leave!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top