$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
590 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great for couples

The hotel was ocean front!! Perfect access to the beach !!! The rooms decor was a warm and beachy... See full review

  • Rustyboy
  • Jul 14, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (590)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 590
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen of the Nile
Charleston, SC
Dec 9, 2010

Fantastic couple Getaway

Get to spend some one on one time with each other and go to the beach and they had an indoor heated spa and pool. we got to enjoy everything like it was summer. Never been here before but i would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen of the Nile
Charleston, SC
Dec 9, 2010

Fantastic couple Getaway

Get to spend some one on one time with each other and go to the beach and they had an indoor heated spa and pool. we got to enjoy everything like it was summer. Never been here before but i would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville, NC
Aug 23, 2010

Best Beach Vacation

Our overall experience at this hotel was great!!! We went while I was 5 monthes pregnant and I was very comfortable my whole stay. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was attentive, quick, and thorough. I enjoyed all the little restaunts that were all within walking distance.My sister and brother in law were also in town for a few days of our trip (they stayed at the "Best Western" and payed a lot more than us and didn't have nearly as nice room or amenities ((they did have free continental breakfast)) My husband and brother in law enjoyed a few nights out on the town. There are not a lot of bars and clubs but if you're looking to just have a couple of drinks and relax in a mature atmosphere this area was fine.Also I read in another travelers review that the tiki bar at the hotel was overpriced....not true!!! I had to inquire about pricing once we got there and I don't consider $5 for a mixed drink and $7 for a frozen (RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE OCEAN) that bad. I'm not sure exactly but I saw happy hour specials written on a special board daily. The drinks were smaller but the convience would have been ideal for someone wanting to relax and just enjoy a few drinks. My 18 month old nephew was also along during there stay and he enjoyed the lazy river at our hotel one day as well as the water park, beach, and (few activities) at Family Kingdom. There were a lot of shops but not as much variety as I initially expected. Once you've seen one you've pretty much seeen them all. With all that said I think the area is great for young people, old people, and families alike. Will defdinately be going back after baby is here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many little palces close that I thought were great. We did go out to dinner at the "Giant Crab" twice and it was great but there wewre so many little places that were much more budget friendly and great tasting. I can't remember a lot of the names off the top of my head but the cafe in the hotel was good and not as expensive as I had read it would be. There was also a breakfast place called "the Omega Pancake house" great breakfast!!! There were a few little restaunts right with 5 blocks boths ways and we tried someting at all of them and were overall very satisfied. OOhh yeah and there was a starbucks about 2 blocks out of the front to the right, that was great for me.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Beasley
Redford, MI
May 30, 2011

Wonderful spring vacation !!

great hotel! great location! great hospitality! everyone makes you feel more than welcome. with so much to do in such a short time this is definitely the best getaway place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the convenience of everything was in walking distsnce

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Beasley
Redford, MI
May 30, 2011

Wonderful spring vacation !!

great hotel! great location! great hospitality! everyone makes you feel more than welcome. with so much to do in such a short time this is definitely the best getaway place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the convenience of everything was in walking distsnce

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorretta
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Nice for a week end get-away

The rooms were not huge, but there was a great view. If we went back for a longer stay I would stay again. The pools and hot tub where clean and the staff was very polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peir 14 is just a short walk with great food, from steak to lobster. They are even serving breakfast now.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 21, 2007

Very family ,& friendly

The room was comfortable. and it location was very good restaurants very close just short dive to go shoping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville, NC
Aug 23, 2010

Best Beach Vacation

Our overall experience at this hotel was great!!! We went while I was 5 monthes pregnant and I was very comfortable my whole stay. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was attentive, quick, and thorough. I enjoyed all the little restaunts that were all within walking distance.My sister and brother in law were also in town for a few days of our trip (they stayed at the "Best Western" and payed a lot more than us and didn't have nearly as nice room or amenities ((they did have free continental breakfast)) My husband and brother in law enjoyed a few nights out on the town. There are not a lot of bars and clubs but if you're looking to just have a couple of drinks and relax in a mature atmosphere this area was fine.Also I read in another travelers review that the tiki bar at the hotel was overpriced....not true!!! I had to inquire about pricing once we got there and I don't consider $5 for a mixed drink and $7 for a frozen (RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE OCEAN) that bad. I'm not sure exactly but I saw happy hour specials written on a special board daily. The drinks were smaller but the convience would have been ideal for someone wanting to relax and just enjoy a few drinks. My 18 month old nephew was also along during there stay and he enjoyed the lazy river at our hotel one day as well as the water park, beach, and (few activities) at Family Kingdom. There were a lot of shops but not as much variety as I initially expected. Once you've seen one you've pretty much seeen them all. With all that said I think the area is great for young people, old people, and families alike. Will defdinately be going back after baby is here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many little palces close that I thought were great. We did go out to dinner at the "Giant Crab" twice and it was great but there wewre so many little places that were much more budget friendly and great tasting. I can't remember a lot of the names off the top of my head but the cafe in the hotel was good and not as expensive as I had read it would be. There was also a breakfast place called "the Omega Pancake house" great breakfast!!! There were a few little restaunts right with 5 blocks boths ways and we tried someting at all of them and were overall very satisfied. OOhh yeah and there was a starbucks about 2 blocks out of the front to the right, that was great for me.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 21, 2007

Very family ,& friendly

The room was comfortable. and it location was very good restaurants very close just short dive to go shoping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top