$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
#1 Daphne
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jul 21, 2009

"Last minute traveler, BEWARE"

Hey guys, I am not usually one to complain or even offer my opinion about things, but I had to say something about this hotel. You really can't ask for a better location. Everything you need is within a short walk or drive. As far as the staff goes, they were all friendly and I think for the most part tried to make up for the hotels short comings. The cleanliness of the hotel is a different story. The hallway and stairwell both smelled of urine all the time. Our room wasn't what I would consider gross, just old and in need of an update. The carpet was dirty and a few tiles near the kitchenette were broken. We had to ask for towel the whole time we were there. They never left enough. I don't know that I could take my family back to this hotel. It seemed like it had more of a party atmosphere. I am not saying that I did not drink a few while by the pool, but when people get so wasted that they are puking outside by the trees or urinating on the side of the building by the pool, it's my thought that may not be the best environment for kids. If it were just me and my husband for a quick weekend get away, then maybe I could overlook some of the small stuff, but for a family vacation, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PilotJoe
Business
Goldsboro, NC
Sep 7, 2009

Good price, bad parking, old hotel

This hotel is the oldest looking one in the bunch. So many of the hotels in this area are recently renovated and have many moor amenities. There was no gym, no wifi, the rooms were old, the carpets were dingy, there were baby ants all over the balcony that found their way into the room, roaches roamed the balcony all night every night, the parking was far less than superb but it was only 310 for 3 nights. Not worth that if you ask me. The television remote didn't even work!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON DC
Jun 3, 2011

AIR- RIFFIC

WHILE I WAS THERE DURING BIKE WEEK, I ENJOYED THE FESTIVITIES.THIS HOTEL WAS AIR-RIFFIC MEANING HORRIBLE IT HAD NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOM WE USED A FAN THAT THEY ALREADY HAD IN THE ROOM.THIS WAS THE WORST STAY I HAD IN MY LIFE.COULD USE A UPGRADE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 22, 2009

Not impressed

This was a quick get-a-way weekend trip for us, so we weren't expecting anything grand. However, we did expect friendlier front desk staff & a working elevator. We had to climb the stairs to the 9th floor w/2 young kids. No clean towels/washcloths were put in our room and when we called the front desk, we were told to come down & get them. This was after we just walked up the 9 stories. Also, the lazy river had barely any water in it, which was disappointing because we always check the hotels that advertise this amenity. It seems that the staff at the front desk could've had a much better attitude toward paying customers, considering what had taken place. We don't see ourselves in the future at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mitten kitt
Business
upper sandusky, OH
Jun 26, 2009

orbitz almost fell through

tHE HOTEL WAS OKAY, BUT THE BIGGEST HAssle was trying to check in because orbitz did not send info to the hotel after booking. And yes, they had already charged my cc, and I had to wait almost an hour in the lobby while the manager got someone on the phone from orbitz, who eventually hung up on him. FINALLY, after calling back and demanding to speak w/ a supervisor was my stay confirmed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Organizer Mom
Business
New York, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Not quite as advertised...

From the hotels' website we expected a much newer, bigger place. On the negative side, parking was a nightmare, the elevator was slow, the beds rock hard, televisions small, the sofa was not big enough for 2 people to sit comfortably although the room was supposed to hold six. I immediately covered it with a sheet before sitting down. Also by the 2nd day everything in the room felt damp. On the plus side, the view was absolutely spectacular, the staff exceptionally responsive and the rooms though old were clean. You should bring your own towels for the beach. So if you're looking for a great location and don't care about modern amenities this is an okay choice. We are not particularly choosy since we tend to use the room just for sleeping, but we won't be coming back to what we called our room at Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're a carnivore like most of my family, try The Grill House in North Myrtle Beach. Definitely worth the drive. They have great seafood too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morganton NC
Jul 24, 2010

An ok place to stay on a budget

The room was ok for the price. The lazy river and pool were so crowded that you couldnt get in. The indoor pool was the smallest I have ever seen and was only 5 feet deep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bennetts Calabash Seafood was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirtythirty
Business
north carolina
Jul 21, 2011

Good place to stay

It was a good place to stay if you are needing a place to sleep. We did not stay at the hotel during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WV
Aug 2, 2009

Hotel needs major updates!

We stayed in the North Tower. We paid extra for a full kitchen so we could save money and cook in the room. Our kitchen did not have utensils to cook or silverware to use. The stove did not work and the microwave was as old as the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Feb 25, 2011

Good location but nothing special.

A hotel placed a great location but it is old,dirty and no internet service,no amenities. Please be prepare!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top