$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
378 reviews
New Year's trip

The staff was great and friendly. The beds were in poor condition and were not easy to sleep on.... See full review

  • Tony H.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
The Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is a 241-unit oceanfront hotel perfectly located for easy access to all local attractions. We are located only eight blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion so you can walk to all the fun and adventure that awaits you there! We are only a few blocks from the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, as well, and are only one and a half miles from Broadway at the Beach, where you'll find fabulous restaurants, unique shops, and a host of great attractions such as Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe, Ripley's Aquarium and The IMAX Theater. Our 241 units are composed of newly renovated oceanfront and side-view suites and rooms with large number of oceanfront efficiencies. Our amenities include an outdoor pool, endless river and kiddie pool and also an indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. For your dining needs we have an on-site restaurant featuring an excellent breakfast and lunch menu and while you are at the pool we have seasonal poolside cabana bar for all your refreshment needs. Minumum age of 25 to book and checkin on all reservations. Must be 25 years of age to book reservations and check in at the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greeneville flash
Business
Greeneville, TN
Jun 1, 2009

fantastic time

Arrived early and they accomodated me rite then. The hotel was very clean. The room was very spacious. The location was close to places to eat that i enjoyed. The rooms were cleaned daily. Lots of parking area. I have nothing but good things to say for my stay here and i certainly will book there next stay. Hope everyone enjoys as much as me and my wife did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Sep 1, 2010

My stay

I requested a ocean front and got a ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey Lee
Business
Islip, NY
Oct 23, 2011

Absolutely wonderful vacation!!

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, I made very good use of the lazy river, pool, and indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, the staff was friendly and helpful, I really would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to vacation in Myrtle Beach. I'm definitely planning on going again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chappy12
Business
iowa city iowa
Nov 21, 2011

my sister loved her bday vacation

I brought my sister who just turned 14 out to myrtle beach for the weekend and she loved the beach front/ocean view. we were in the middle of everything and we both enjoyed our stay, thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

its only 4 miles from the hotel on kings highway north but we would recommend the flimangio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
Business
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Business
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Tan Tim
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 12, 2013

Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things done right to make you comfortable. And yes, right on the ocean, great view. But what struck me the most was that the staff seemed to really care, not just because of company policy, but because of the kind of people they were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Also a well known national specialty coffee shop just across the street. (I liked it).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Preacher Ric
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 6, 2009

Exceeded my best expectations

I went to Myrtle Beach to get inspiration on a book I am writing. So the trip was to be a recreational study project. The quietness and serenity (overlooking the ocean) allowed me to focus on my work. While the clean beach and swimming pool provided the perfect environment in which to take my "breaks" from writing. I stayed in the top (8th) floor of the sandcastle, giving me one of the best possible views of the ocean day and night. In the light of the full moon shimmering across the surface of the water, I sat on my balcony which seemed to almost touch heaven, and complete my work as planned. Given the respectful and efficient treatment by Orbitz booking the trip, I was very pleased. Given the price, the service, the location, the privacy and tranquility, as well as the variety of things to do in my "offtime," I could not have asked for anything better. Thankfully, Ric Toney (a sold customer who will definitely use Orbitz for my next getaway.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilkes, north carolina
Jun 12, 2009

perfect trip,great get away

hotel and staff were great. rooms and pool area have been remodeled. room was clean & comfortable,great view and close to every thing myrtle beach has to offer . one of our best trips to myrtle beach. parking is not great at hotel but parking deck is only a couple hundred yards away. we are thinking of going back again this fall and would use this hotel again. we are very pleased A+ service betty N.C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pier 14 is about 10 to 15 min walik on the beach,great place for lunch & drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Mom!
Business
Beckley WV
Jul 29, 2010

Great FamilyGet Away!

We were there for a few days and the it was perfect. The staff were all very helpful and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top