$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
377 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (377)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Jay Beach
Business
Rochester, IN
Sep 25, 2012

Well you get what you pay for!!

My wife and I took a three night vacation to Myrtle Beach. We spent 2 nights at a more expensive 4 star hotel, but the 3rd night being a Friday that hotel was double the price. So I chose to stay at a less expensive property. As the saying goes you get what you pay for. The room was dirty. I found pubes in the tub. The chairs in the room were filthy. The beds were very uncomfortable. But all in all we just wanted one more night on the beach, so that is what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Crabby Mikes buffet in Surfside Beach. Well worth the short drive, and all you can eat with crab legs for $26.99

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MissH
Business
Greensboro, NC
Sep 24, 2012

old beach hotel

Dirty carpet, no iron/board. Bugs in room. Will not stay again. Staff extemely friendly:) Location great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaware Mama B
Business
Georgetown, DE
Sep 18, 2012

Great family fun!

The hotel itself was great - the room was clean, location wonderful, and price pretty good. The cleaning staff were lovely and very accommodating. The older gentleman (there was a young guy and middle aged guy) at the front desk Friday was disorganized and easily distracted. Woman in front of me had to repeat her name 4 times because he would ask for it then not listen for answer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bettie484
Business
Raleigh
Sep 17, 2012

Roaches

I killed or drowned several roaches in kitchen and bathroom. The new frig extended 2 feet into walkway because it was too tall to fit under cabinet. Hotel needs renovations. I will not stay there again. The only good thing was entertainment at the pool (Reggae band) on Saturday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mammy's is a good place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SanjaySharma
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Very Bad as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs

When we booked the hotel then we were very excited about the room, location and the space in the rooms that is there in the hotel websites and other booking web sites but actually there is no space in the room as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs, very very small bathroom and very small balcony. Fridge handle was broken. Kitchen and bathroom are in front of each other and no space at all. Hence I would recommend that if you are a group of more than 2 people don’t think about this hotel and also its costly and not worth it at all as far as our previous trip to Panama City beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MacaBoo
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 3, 2012

Terrible, Unclean, and Too Expensive (But on the Beach)

The hotel was horrible. The rooms smelled. The rooms were small and were dark. They only had small lamps, and only a few of those worked. They were rusted and stained. The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling and near door. What they called updated was the terrible textured beige paint and they did not remove fixtures when they did so. The paint was on lampshades and cords. Floor felt damp. AC leaked from the balcony above and apparently had the same issue. The comforters were thin and stiff... rough to the skin. The TV was about 15 years old and was 19". We requested a non smoking room and it smelled as if they sprayed heavy air freshiner and it was not a pleasant smell. So strong it burned our throats until we got use to it. There was not a hair dryer, an iron, nor a closet. Oh an NO SECURITY, all doors were unlocked and no key required at all times of day and night. Easy access to pool... even for unsupervised children. The pool had a low gate and easy handle to go in..very risky. The worst part... the Pillow Case with a BLOOD stain on it. They just gave us a new pillow and said sorry. At most I would rate this a 1.5 and the .5 and the 1 is for the ocean view and beach location. On to a positive not. The pool was ok and the View was nice. Being on the ocean was nice and the location was great. With in walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SkyWheel is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dr01420
Business
Fitchburg Ma
Aug 23, 2012

Great location but needs some work

Well for starters the hallways smelt funny, our fridge leaked water because it was off and it smelled bad and left our room smelling funny and when i reported it to the office no one came. You could feel the springs in the beds, I ordered extra pillows and they only had one avalible and I had to go get it. The tv was old and blocky, there was no hair drier the furniture was worn and one of our dresser drawers were broken. The bathrooms were not that big or inviting! it was not the best hotel experiance i had the place needs a make over, the location and pools were the nicest part of the hotel but thats about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short drive yo Broadway on the beach and right on the strip of the board walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyP72
Business
New York, NY
Aug 21, 2012

Good hotel

Hotel was a little dated but great for quick getaway. Very close to the beach! Cleaning service was a little delayed in the morning. Other than that not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
peluche
Business
virginia
Aug 6, 2012

super

firsthing good personal assist quikly Ididn't wait long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J.D.
Business
Raleigh
Jul 27, 2012

Wow Ridiculous

I called to book 2 rooms for 2 nights and was told i could not because they only have rooms for 3 nights not two...my response well, i only NEED two nights. theirs: "sorry, ma'am...CLICK" so because im a working adult and only have two nights to take my family on a mini vacation i cant stay here... will never try again! hope your experience is more pleasant :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top