$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
378 reviews
New Year's trip

The staff was great and friendly. The beds were in poor condition and were not easy to sleep on.... See full review

  • Tony H.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denali1
Business
Chicago Il
Oct 29, 2012

Weekend Getawaty

Went for a weekend getaway. Hotel location was great walking distance to main area and good places to eat. Outside pool, jacuzzi and bar were closed for the season. Didn't know that until we got there. Hotel was clean but felt like I was transported to the 70's. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would go back to Mrytle Beach again would probably find a more updated place to stay but for the money it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Want a great burger hit Duffy's in the center of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smiling Chick
Business
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Oct 29, 2012

Not bad

This hotel could definitely use some updating, BUT it wasn't a bad place to stay. We were only there for 2 nights, but if we were staying in Myrtle Beach longer, we probably would have looked for a hotel with something more. There was no hair dryer in the room, for a woman thats a little disappointing. I would have loved for there to have been a hot tub, but as I said we were only there for 2 days, so it was no big deal. Would definitely stay there again for a short trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shortyandb
Business
Hilton head,sc
Oct 25, 2012

Weekend getaway

My husband and I were there about two weeks prior to this stay. We mentioned what good time we had so they invited us to come go with them up there. Now, they are ready to come back already. We went to the Loris Bogoff and then we ate dinner at Original Benjamin s. Everything was really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maluntow
Business
Columbia, SC
Oct 22, 2012

Ehhh...

The hotel has great location right on the beach. The staff is very friendly. They try their best to be a three star but they are lil outdated and I did not think it was enough. There was blood on the walls. The main door clearly had not been cleaned. For a night and the price it was good. Wouldn't stay there if I was there for multiple days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AJ RocksMySocks
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 9, 2012

Nice location

Very small room, right next to the beach and a hop skip and a jump to the night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
petloverof5
Business
TN
Oct 8, 2012

Don't people usually sleep later than 9:00 am on vacation?

My son and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days, two of which the hotel staff woke us up to clean our room. One day it was 8:15, the other it was just after 9:00. I realize people don't sleep terribly late on vacation, but good grief. There was not a do not disturb sign to prevent it. In addition to that we were charged a $15.00 deposit in cash to use an iron, so be aware that this hotel does not provide one. The indoor pool and spa were closed for repairs. The room itself was not terrible for the money that we paid, I've seen worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jess1the1mischievous1mess
Business
new bern nc
Oct 8, 2012

good deal

Wasn't the best room ever but for the price it was great. Only really bad thing about it was the smell. It had a strong smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCGrandma
Business
Wilmington, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Fantastic weekend getaway

We had a perfect weekend at the Sandcastle at the Pavillion. I loved the lazy river, the jacuzzi, and the comfortable shaded chaises on the grass looking out on the ocean. The breakfast at the Sole restaurant on the property is a great value and the Italian dinner we enjoyed there one evening was quite good. My only quibble is that I had to go out on the balcony to get Wi-fi reception, but other than that this resort has it all. We'll definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach Super Mom
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2012

Worst getaway

The best thing about this place was the pool and that the ocean was right there. Definitly won't be going back. Room was dirty and smelled gross. It was also probably the most unclean beach town we have ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steph B.
Business
Charlotte,NC
Oct 8, 2012

Birthday Celebration

Horrible!!!There were bed bugs.The only good thing was the location,everything else sucked.Wish I could do it over again..Would choose somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top