$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pamela Hinton
Family
Greer, SC
Apr 8, 2013

Wouldn't recommend

The first night was kept up till 4am with drunk teenagers. 2nd night police came because of the drunk teenagers 13 in 1 room. No security. Plus they didn't offer coffee in the room. I forgot to pack my hairdryer, asked if they had one I could use and they asked for a $10 non-fundable deposit. Not a very happy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Band Man
Couples
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 5, 2013

The struggle was real.

I promise to go into as much detail as possible so that you don't make the same mistake that I did. I hope this review helps you in not reserving this hotel. Let's talk about the staff first. This was probably the most friendly group of people I have ever met. Please note: that is complete sarcasm. On the first day of my vacation at the hotel I will be staying at, I would LOVE to be greeted by someone friendly. I feel like it sets the tone for your trip. If you want your tone to be something of oh I don't know, death....then you are at the right place. Everyone there looks as if they are miserable. From the desk clerks all the way to the cleaning staff. Nobody wants to be there. If they don't, I assure you, you don't either. Even better, let's move on to parking. Beside the hotel there are about 26 parking spaces. That is an estimate so don't quote me exactly. There really is no parking directly in front of the hotel (about 5 spaces maybe...) because it is right one the oceanfront. If parking on the side of the hotel fills up, then you have to go across the street. Not that bad being that is still directly in front of the hotel. Here's the kicker. If that parking lot is filled up, you have to go two streets over in front of the hotel and try and find a space on the parking deck. Yes that's right...a parking deck. And let me re-emphasize...two streets over. Parking is horrendous at this place. It literally took us over thirty minutes to park our vehicle. Now let's finish up with the beautiful room. One thing I will compliment this place on is location. The ocean view was really nice. I will give it that. But the features of this room are to die for. (Please note the constant sarcasm...) The room decor looks like it came straight out of a bad 1980's movie. The baby blue paint on the head boards, the bathroom, were TERRIBLE! The TV was a small box TV, not the flat screen that they mention. My room indicated it would have a kitchenette. It actually only had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with no coffee. There were no lamps in the room. Instead what you got was a light that was chained (yes I said chained) to the ceiling and had a lamp shade around it. But wait, there's more! Let's go to the comfort zone, the bathroom. Very small, dank, and just not nice. There was NO shower head. And when I say no shower head, I mean no shower head. The water was just spritzing out. Not to mention it was about 30 degrees (F). The sink would constantly back up and you would have to wait for it to drain. I love this part though. This trip was myself and my girlfriend. With two people, you would expect two sets of towels. Nope! This place does not disappoint. We had one set, with a full sized towel and two hand towels that we had to divide up. As a woman, my girlfriend needed a blow dryer. Most hotels usually have these. The Sandcastle is too classy for that. They prefer air drying. And by air I mean they don't have one. Just a couple more side notes. If you like roommates, be sure to go here. They tried sending a couple into our room. If you like Domino's pizza, they will surely stop by. Even if you didn't place the order! So the whole time we were in the room we were constantly disturbed. By the way, hope you don't need to iron anything because they don't have that either. All in all this trip was not fun in the least bit. The only two things I can say that were nice about this place were the view of the ocean and the bed was actually pretty comfortable. Other than that I honestly have nothing positive to say. None of the features, amenities, or the pictures were near what we got. The lazy river was so lazy the floats didn't even move in it. People please do me a huge favor and don't go to this place. You are wasting your money, time, and comfort. If you are desperate for an ocean front stay, then by all means subject yourself to this and make sure you pack everything that I listed above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrandpyB
Family
Fuquay Varina NC
Mar 18, 2013

Fun weekend!

Good accommodations close to attractrions, within walking distance to car show and eating joints. Comfortable and on the beach. Weather could have been a little warmer!! Had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great to be so near the car show we went to, could walk there, get something to eat.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ittle Angel
Family
Milwaukee
Mar 4, 2013

Nice weekend getaway

The best things about this hotel is that it is right on the beach, with beautiful ocean views, and the super friendly staff. The pool wasnt that great, really small. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
applepie123
Single
Kingstree SC
Feb 26, 2013

No where to park

The shower had not been used in quite some time and it was extremely difficult to turn it on. The room had a strong smell of air freshner. When I returned at midafternoon, there were not parking spaces. I rode around for a while in the various areas that I was directed to park when checking in. Became disgusted and check-out a day early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jko001
Couples
Pembroke, North Carolina
Feb 18, 2013

Needs more than that special something

Wi-fi Internet connection was nonexistent. Hotel Staff was not informative or helpful. Ask the clerk a question and his response was "I have no idea" and didn't offer any other assistance on the matter. The hot tub was cold and clerk says it's missing a "part" and no one knows when that "part" will come in, and he don't even know if the "part" was ordered yet. Quote "its been down for some time now". . Many other comments but I will leave it at this; The ONLY good thing about this room was the price and the location of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad beds
Couples
Myrtle Beach S.C.
Feb 3, 2013

They need up dated on there beds

Had back problems with the beds. Had coffee pots but no coffee was there to use it. They need to up there game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping was great that time of year you can buy many things. The distance to where I needed to go was great. Out side the room was great. I would not recommend it to a friend or family.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
friendsandfamily
Single
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Nov 25, 2012

The worst possible hotel experience in my life!

I walked into the hotel entrance lobby, and immediately detected a strong, stale ordor. I was given my key and went to the room, it smelled so bad of some sort of a chemical ordor, most likey a cleaning product, that the fumes were in my throat. I immediately went back to the lobby and told the clerk I could not stay. I requested a refund... I was told to contact booking agency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Music events in Myrtle Beach

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denali1
Couples
Chicago Il
Oct 29, 2012

Weekend Getawaty

Went for a weekend getaway. Hotel location was great walking distance to main area and good places to eat. Outside pool, jacuzzi and bar were closed for the season. Didn't know that until we got there. Hotel was clean but felt like I was transported to the 70's. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would go back to Mrytle Beach again would probably find a more updated place to stay but for the money it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Want a great burger hit Duffy's in the center of town.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smiling Chick
Couples
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Oct 29, 2012

Not bad

This hotel could definitely use some updating, BUT it wasn't a bad place to stay. We were only there for 2 nights, but if we were staying in Myrtle Beach longer, we probably would have looked for a hotel with something more. There was no hair dryer in the room, for a woman thats a little disappointing. I would have loved for there to have been a hot tub, but as I said we were only there for 2 days, so it was no big deal. Would definitely stay there again for a short trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top