$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
589 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Quick getaway

Good location. Perfect of being on the beach.elevators could be faster. I would have liked to see a... See full review

  • Football mom NY bucks
  • Jun 25, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (589)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
589 out of 589
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bettie484
Raleigh
Sep 17, 2012

Roaches

I killed or drowned several roaches in kitchen and bathroom. The new frig extended 2 feet into walkway because it was too tall to fit under cabinet. Hotel needs renovations. I will not stay there again. The only good thing was entertainment at the pool (Reggae band) on Saturday afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mammy's is a good place to eat.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SanjaySharma
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Very Bad as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs

When we booked the hotel then we were very excited about the room, location and the space in the rooms that is there in the hotel websites and other booking web sites but actually there is no space in the room as Everything in Single Room - Kitchen, 2 Queen Beds, Very Small table and chairs, very very small bathroom and very small balcony. Fridge handle was broken. Kitchen and bathroom are in front of each other and no space at all. Hence I would recommend that if you are a group of more than 2 people don’t think about this hotel and also its costly and not worth it at all as far as our previous trip to Panama City beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MacaBoo
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 3, 2012

Terrible, Unclean, and Too Expensive (But on the Beach)

The hotel was horrible. The rooms smelled. The rooms were small and were dark. They only had small lamps, and only a few of those worked. They were rusted and stained. The bathroom had mildew on the ceiling and near door. What they called updated was the terrible textured beige paint and they did not remove fixtures when they did so. The paint was on lampshades and cords. Floor felt damp. AC leaked from the balcony above and apparently had the same issue. The comforters were thin and stiff... rough to the skin. The TV was about 15 years old and was 19". We requested a non smoking room and it smelled as if they sprayed heavy air freshiner and it was not a pleasant smell. So strong it burned our throats until we got use to it. There was not a hair dryer, an iron, nor a closet. Oh an NO SECURITY, all doors were unlocked and no key required at all times of day and night. Easy access to pool... even for unsupervised children. The pool had a low gate and easy handle to go in..very risky. The worst part... the Pillow Case with a BLOOD stain on it. They just gave us a new pillow and said sorry. At most I would rate this a 1.5 and the .5 and the 1 is for the ocean view and beach location. On to a positive not. The pool was ok and the View was nice. Being on the ocean was nice and the location was great. With in walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

SkyWheel is awesome!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dr01420
Fitchburg Ma
Aug 23, 2012

Great location but needs some work

Well for starters the hallways smelt funny, our fridge leaked water because it was off and it smelled bad and left our room smelling funny and when i reported it to the office no one came. You could feel the springs in the beds, I ordered extra pillows and they only had one avalible and I had to go get it. The tv was old and blocky, there was no hair drier the furniture was worn and one of our dresser drawers were broken. The bathrooms were not that big or inviting! it was not the best hotel experiance i had the place needs a make over, the location and pools were the nicest part of the hotel but thats about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short drive yo Broadway on the beach and right on the strip of the board walk!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennyP72
New York, NY
Aug 21, 2012

Good hotel

Hotel was a little dated but great for quick getaway. Very close to the beach! Cleaning service was a little delayed in the morning. Other than that not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
peluche
virginia
Aug 6, 2012

super

firsthing good personal assist quikly Ididn't wait long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J.D.
Raleigh
Jul 27, 2012

Wow Ridiculous

I called to book 2 rooms for 2 nights and was told i could not because they only have rooms for 3 nights not two...my response well, i only NEED two nights. theirs: "sorry, ma'am...CLICK" so because im a working adult and only have two nights to take my family on a mini vacation i cant stay here... will never try again! hope your experience is more pleasant :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TimN
Cary, NC
Jul 23, 2012

3 Star is correct rating

Older hotel with average everthing EXCEPT one...The restaurant food (italian) is terrific!!! The breakfast boufet at $6.95 including coffee is also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

food (italian) is fabulous and reasonably priced.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gmaangie
OHIO
Jul 11, 2012

MOST HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Bulldoze this hotel, rebuild a new one! Fire everybody that works there for being so rude and inconsiderate, especially the housekeeping staff due to they don't know the meaning of the word clean!Our vacation was like an extremely horrible never ending nightmare!!!We wouldn't allow our dogs to stay there, let alone us being not so smart and staying the night there, we felt filthy dirty and couldn't wait to get out of there! My husband had a heart attack a month and a half ago and the elevator stopped working,he had to endure 4 flights of stairs in the heated stairwells. The hallways were hot as can be, smelled like urine and our room smelled just as bad! This hotel was like a cheap dive. We haven't had a vacation in over 20 years, and thought that this experience in Myrtle Beach at your hotel would be a wonderful one, instead I cried and wished I had never came, and my husband was extremely disappointed as well, he felt very bad, like it was his fault and I was never going to forgive him for this, blaming himself. But we were both to blame, we didn't do enough research into this hotel and we should've known better! After reading some of the reviews, in which there were a few good ones, we were giving this hotel the benefit of doubt, the pictures sure looked good, but they were probably from 20 years ago when this hotel first opened!! Well I guess we all live and learn,at least we weren't at a total loss. I spoke with the manager who refunded the rest of our money for the other days we had planned on staying and then all I got was "I'm Sorry". That's pretty bad! So we immediately packed up and headed back home a (12 Hr ride) to Ohio. We will never make this mistake again! Shame on all of you for taking advantage of people and for false advertisement!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moneysaving Beachgoer
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 5, 2012

weekend getaway

Everyone was friendly and helpful. first time we had been there on vacation. Plenty of things to do within walking distance , lots of restaurants, places to eat, and Piggly Wiggly was only 2 blocks for those going on a budget like we did. There is the SkyWheel, the Boardwalk which has lots of family friendly things to do and there were free concerts at Plyler Park next to the Skywheel which is all within 6 min walking distance to the hotel. We had a side ocean view room which was good- you could see the ocean to the left and to the right the street. the pool and the endless river were not packed which was nice. We parked the car in their parking deck and left it their for the whole weekend since we didnt need it since we could walk everywhere.They do not serve breakfast so we went grocery shopping and ate breakfast and lunch in the room to save money, we tried the Ultimate California Pizza- it was great! The beach is nice and we didnt have to spend alot of money! Overall, a good vacation and nice hotel for a last minute trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You might want to buy stuff for breakfast and lunch at the grocery store since they dont serve breakfast and then you can try out the different restaurants at nite.

Back to menu Return to top