$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
353 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great Stay

Hotel was in a great location. Room clean. Only suggestion, coffee cup (coffee maker, but no coffee... See full review

  • Linda Nick
  • Jan 22, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
353 out of 353
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
Untrusted
Augusta, Georgia
Jul 2, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel...

Unfortunately it was packed, but only had one elevator. We waited 20 mins for the elevator because we didn't want to lug our bags down the stairs. They played kids movies until 11:30pm at the pool that we could hear over the air conditioner - we were on the 5th floor! Hair in the sink, sand in the tub, empty Advil bottle and pop cans under the bed. It wasn't even that good of a price. It is within walking distance to the ferriswheel, Ripley's, etc. I won't be back. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
TonyNj1234
New jersey
Jul 2, 2012

Needs serious updating

The rooms were very old the bathroom door got stuck twice with some one inside and took forever to get them out. Also the bar at the pool ripped us off spent 35$ with a receipt to prove it and they charged my credit card $150!! Horrible experience with that ... Pool & beach was nice that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
steve from uncc
york, sc
Jul 1, 2012

it's ok

the hotel needs some updating to the interior. It's a good value for being right on the beach and is in walking distance to a lot of restaurants and activities. The beds weren't overly comfortable and the cleaning staff seemed to be there just to replace the dirty towels and make the beds. I don't think they vacummed the floors in the room while we were there. The TV in the room was kind of small and there isn't a hair dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
Susan xsn
Duluth, GA
Jun 29, 2012

Terrible !! Dont Go Here !

Worst service ever. Do Not stay here. DO NOT GO IN THE POOLS>>>>>You cannot go in the pools because they bleach out your swim suit first time in. They do not care and say their signs posted advise "swim at your own risk" That doesnt mean they should ruin your clothes. They said "we dont care." The manager is never available and they dont compensate after ruining your swim suit. Beware dont go here. The fire marshal was there at check out trying to find a maintenance mgr to fix the leaking sprinklers as well no safety here. Staff is totally rude. Supposedly remodeled. NOT. a coat of paint peeling does not make a remodel. mold in bathrooms. disgusting place. We were in the main hotel with ocean view. leaky ac on balconys drip all over the place. pools were way over chlorinated to the point it made our skin itchy and burned ruined brand new suits. Made a complaint filled out their report was told a manager would call me back after I tried to call back several days in a row. They said "we dont care." Well that is the theme of their place they dont care. and they will tell you that. Point blank. Do not go here. terrible attitudes and service sux.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
SmokyMtnGirl
Smoky Mountains
Jun 28, 2012

Hard as a ROCK!

The beds in this hotel wannabe are as hard as sleeping on the floor! I recently broke my back & the minute I sat on the bed, I knew I was in for a LONG night,. I immediately called the front desk & asked for a softer bed, but was told they were all alike. I ended up folding both bedspreads & putting them under the bottom sheet. Hotel itself is old & needs upgrading . Room had a very strange smell. Wish I had read the reviews before I booked. Won't happen again. The only thing this MOTEL has going for it is it's location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
silly florida grandma
FL
Jun 28, 2012

special vacation trip

This was first trip to Myrtle Beach SC area. The best part of trip was the location of hotel.It's right in the middle of everything & also right on the beach.The pool with its lazy river & regular pool was great for the kids & adults alike. The Boardwalk & Piers along the beach with all the food venues & Arcades & shops were wonderful. Also not to far from hotel is the Broadway venue.Will have to make another trip to see things we didn't get to see the 1st time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
elocin
Buffalo, NY, USA
Jun 27, 2012

we had bugs in our room

The first night we were there we saw a bug on the wall and killed it. The third night we were there we saw three more of the same kind of bug, one on the bed and two on the nightstand. The rest of our one week stay i was too paranoid of bugs being in the bed with me to sleep. I don't know what kind of bugs they were, but they were gross looking enough to make me not want to share a room with them. One good part of the hotel stay was that the front desk staff was all very nice and helpful. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

two blocks away from the hotel there is a piggly wiggly grocery store, so you can save money on buying some food instead of always eating out.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
Chuff
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 26, 2012

Great Time

My friends and I had a great time! The price was awesome for this hotel! Perfect location, great staff, and the room was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
cutigs81
Warner Robins, GA, USA
Jun 25, 2012

sandcastle

This hotel is old and not very clean but it is located in a good location on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
Grandma Marilyn
Bedford, Virginia
Jun 14, 2012

Family vacation Myrtle beach 2012

Overall the stay was good....biggest complaint I would have is the parking situation and the elevators were so slow....need more than one....had some problems getting room cleaned but they did OK after it was brought to their attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top