$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kenny69
Business
savannah
May 20, 2013

bike week 13

hotel was nice and in a great location close to the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoshuafromRDU
Business
Durham, NC
May 12, 2013

Great for the price.

Friendly staff, helpful on where to go for nightlife. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Broadway at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaware Mama B
Business
Georgetown, DE
May 4, 2013

Visiting Son

This was my second stay at Sandcastle. The hotel is perfect in location and is always clean. It could use some upgrades like new tv (larger), new carpets, and more substantial shower curtain. Overall though, I enjoy my stay at Sandcastle and would definitely recommend it. The price is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is great! Lots of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
java girl 275
Business
raleigh , nc
Apr 8, 2013

weekend escape

Best thing I love about this hotel is its location. You really could spend several days here without ever getting in your car. If you don't mind a little walking there are plenty of restaurants and bars within a few blocks.since we mainly travel to this area for events at or near the convention center easy walk for those as well. Been coming back for years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

breakfast buffet across the street is great, pier 14 special dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pamela Hinton
Business
Greer, SC
Apr 8, 2013

Wouldn't recommend

The first night was kept up till 4am with drunk teenagers. 2nd night police came because of the drunk teenagers 13 in 1 room. No security. Plus they didn't offer coffee in the room. I forgot to pack my hairdryer, asked if they had one I could use and they asked for a $10 non-fundable deposit. Not a very happy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Band Man
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 5, 2013

The struggle was real.

I promise to go into as much detail as possible so that you don't make the same mistake that I did. I hope this review helps you in not reserving this hotel. Let's talk about the staff first. This was probably the most friendly group of people I have ever met. Please note: that is complete sarcasm. On the first day of my vacation at the hotel I will be staying at, I would LOVE to be greeted by someone friendly. I feel like it sets the tone for your trip. If you want your tone to be something of oh I don't know, death....then you are at the right place. Everyone there looks as if they are miserable. From the desk clerks all the way to the cleaning staff. Nobody wants to be there. If they don't, I assure you, you don't either. Even better, let's move on to parking. Beside the hotel there are about 26 parking spaces. That is an estimate so don't quote me exactly. There really is no parking directly in front of the hotel (about 5 spaces maybe...) because it is right one the oceanfront. If parking on the side of the hotel fills up, then you have to go across the street. Not that bad being that is still directly in front of the hotel. Here's the kicker. If that parking lot is filled up, you have to go two streets over in front of the hotel and try and find a space on the parking deck. Yes that's right...a parking deck. And let me re-emphasize...two streets over. Parking is horrendous at this place. It literally took us over thirty minutes to park our vehicle. Now let's finish up with the beautiful room. One thing I will compliment this place on is location. The ocean view was really nice. I will give it that. But the features of this room are to die for. (Please note the constant sarcasm...) The room decor looks like it came straight out of a bad 1980's movie. The baby blue paint on the head boards, the bathroom, were TERRIBLE! The TV was a small box TV, not the flat screen that they mention. My room indicated it would have a kitchenette. It actually only had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with no coffee. There were no lamps in the room. Instead what you got was a light that was chained (yes I said chained) to the ceiling and had a lamp shade around it. But wait, there's more! Let's go to the comfort zone, the bathroom. Very small, dank, and just not nice. There was NO shower head. And when I say no shower head, I mean no shower head. The water was just spritzing out. Not to mention it was about 30 degrees (F). The sink would constantly back up and you would have to wait for it to drain. I love this part though. This trip was myself and my girlfriend. With two people, you would expect two sets of towels. Nope! This place does not disappoint. We had one set, with a full sized towel and two hand towels that we had to divide up. As a woman, my girlfriend needed a blow dryer. Most hotels usually have these. The Sandcastle is too classy for that. They prefer air drying. And by air I mean they don't have one. Just a couple more side notes. If you like roommates, be sure to go here. They tried sending a couple into our room. If you like Domino's pizza, they will surely stop by. Even if you didn't place the order! So the whole time we were in the room we were constantly disturbed. By the way, hope you don't need to iron anything because they don't have that either. All in all this trip was not fun in the least bit. The only two things I can say that were nice about this place were the view of the ocean and the bed was actually pretty comfortable. Other than that I honestly have nothing positive to say. None of the features, amenities, or the pictures were near what we got. The lazy river was so lazy the floats didn't even move in it. People please do me a huge favor and don't go to this place. You are wasting your money, time, and comfort. If you are desperate for an ocean front stay, then by all means subject yourself to this and make sure you pack everything that I listed above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomlance1
Business
Downingtown, PA
Mar 28, 2013

OK Place

Nice spot on the beach and close to the big wheel. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant. Tried to one morning for breakfast but it was closed. Seemed odd. Parking was good. Always a spot. Elevator was quick, so long as the cleaning crew wasn't keeping the door open. One morning I could hear the cleaning crew coming up the the elevators, stopping at each floor and unloading something? Not sure what that was. The toilet ran slowly and I was afraid it would run over. I told the front desk person and they said "Its late, we don't have anyone hear now." It was 5 pm. No one ever came to look at it, not even the next day. Thankfully it didn't run over. The shower was a joke. You couldn't adjust the showerhead from side to side or up and down. It was frozen in one position. The fan in the bathroom was funny too. It made really strange noises. All in all it wasn't a bad place. It just needs some updating. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach and the Aquarium are nice places to visit and do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrandpyB
Business
Fuquay Varina NC
Mar 18, 2013

Fun weekend!

Good accommodations close to attractrions, within walking distance to car show and eating joints. Comfortable and on the beach. Weather could have been a little warmer!! Had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great to be so near the car show we went to, could walk there, get something to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ittle Angel
Business
Milwaukee
Mar 4, 2013

Nice weekend getaway

The best things about this hotel is that it is right on the beach, with beautiful ocean views, and the super friendly staff. The pool wasnt that great, really small. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
applepie123
Business
Kingstree SC
Feb 26, 2013

No where to park

The shower had not been used in quite some time and it was extremely difficult to turn it on. The room had a strong smell of air freshner. When I returned at midafternoon, there were not parking spaces. I rode around for a while in the various areas that I was directed to park when checking in. Became disgusted and check-out a day early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top