$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Tan Tim
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 12, 2013

Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things done right to make you comfortable. And yes, right on the ocean, great view. But what struck me the most was that the staff seemed to really care, not just because of company policy, but because of the kind of people they were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Also a well known national specialty coffee shop just across the street. (I liked it).

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Bizz3l
Business
Columbia s.c.
Jun 25, 2013

birthday beach trip

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay its not the biggest room but it is perfect for people wanting to be beach bums and just have drinks in the room before going out it is a good young age group about for 1/4 of the hotel bit families also were there I would definitely stay here again !!!! Kb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get great cheap sunglasses across the street to the right of down then strip for 8$ max

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delightful Danny
Business
Bluefield WV
Jun 17, 2013

The view and location

The view and location was perfect..we was able to walk onto the beach in a few steps....we do look forward to going back...the staff was very helpful and kind and we are lookin forward to our next trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Several shows to see within minutes..the food was awesome and a short drive away and the shopping was a lot of fun and within minutes of the hotel...

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DPatrick1
Business
Dayton OH
Jun 17, 2013

Family Vacation

Average Hotel. Good location in relation n to activities. Within walking distance to 14th avenue Pier and boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justbeachy
Business
Glen Burnie, MD
Jun 3, 2013

Ok; Inexpensive

My room was comfortable & the beds were clean & fresh. The staff at the front desk was VERY nice! My view of the ocean was good, too. The pool & lazy river are both nice & well maintained. Considering the value for the money, I would recommend this resort. You need to bring your hair dryer & clock radio with you, as they are not standard in the rooms. But, not a big deal. After all, you're not going to the ocean to stay in the room, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When you go to the beach to swim, be sure to have those 'swimming shoes', as it's VERY gravelley once you step into the water, & VERY hard on your feet! You'll be glad you brought those shoes along!! You can grab a pair at K Mart for around $5.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CB Vaca
Business
Augusta, GA
May 30, 2013

Ups and downs

I did enjoy my stay. BUT my NEGATIVES: Some of the house keeping staff, VERY RUDE! I dealt with only ONE nice front desk person. Our bathroom SMELLED HORRIBLE. No blow dryer. Hair was in our bathroom shower. Old school TV, needs to be updated. Balcony was not cleaned off. Elevator is a joke. Either it's on point or very slack. Things I did enjoy: the location was perfect, I suggest visiting LuLu's Cafe across the street, they are open 24/7 and friendly. Our beds where comfortable, the side view balcony was really nice. The pool and lazy river was nice too. No jacuzzi though. I would go back, only due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LuLu's Cafe!!! Right across the street, Open 24/7. Great staff, good food. Don't let the '80's look fool you. They have a small but GREAT selection of drinks!! Try the Caribbean Cola!! Also, you'll get to see all the paint cans that made the beautiful mural on the side of the building!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rochi28
Business
Fayetteville,NC
May 23, 2013

Good experience overall

Perfect location for the price. I would recommend to anybody.The only thing I didn't like it was that there were not enough towels, neither blow dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the skywheel where all the attractions and night life is.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kenny69
Business
savannah
May 20, 2013

bike week 13

hotel was nice and in a great location close to the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoshuafromRDU
Business
Durham, NC
May 12, 2013

Great for the price.

Friendly staff, helpful on where to go for nightlife. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Broadway at the beach.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaware Mama B
Business
Georgetown, DE
May 4, 2013

Visiting Son

This was my second stay at Sandcastle. The hotel is perfect in location and is always clean. It could use some upgrades like new tv (larger), new carpets, and more substantial shower curtain. Overall though, I enjoy my stay at Sandcastle and would definitely recommend it. The price is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is great! Lots of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top