$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
376 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
my birthday vacation

it was wonderful but there was a wet spot by the a/c unit on the carpet. but overall it was... See full review

  • shandy birthday girl
  • Sep 23, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Band Man
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 5, 2013

The struggle was real.

I promise to go into as much detail as possible so that you don't make the same mistake that I did. I hope this review helps you in not reserving this hotel. Let's talk about the staff first. This was probably the most friendly group of people I have ever met. Please note: that is complete sarcasm. On the first day of my vacation at the hotel I will be staying at, I would LOVE to be greeted by someone friendly. I feel like it sets the tone for your trip. If you want your tone to be something of oh I don't know, death....then you are at the right place. Everyone there looks as if they are miserable. From the desk clerks all the way to the cleaning staff. Nobody wants to be there. If they don't, I assure you, you don't either. Even better, let's move on to parking. Beside the hotel there are about 26 parking spaces. That is an estimate so don't quote me exactly. There really is no parking directly in front of the hotel (about 5 spaces maybe...) because it is right one the oceanfront. If parking on the side of the hotel fills up, then you have to go across the street. Not that bad being that is still directly in front of the hotel. Here's the kicker. If that parking lot is filled up, you have to go two streets over in front of the hotel and try and find a space on the parking deck. Yes that's right...a parking deck. And let me re-emphasize...two streets over. Parking is horrendous at this place. It literally took us over thirty minutes to park our vehicle. Now let's finish up with the beautiful room. One thing I will compliment this place on is location. The ocean view was really nice. I will give it that. But the features of this room are to die for. (Please note the constant sarcasm...) The room decor looks like it came straight out of a bad 1980's movie. The baby blue paint on the head boards, the bathroom, were TERRIBLE! The TV was a small box TV, not the flat screen that they mention. My room indicated it would have a kitchenette. It actually only had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with no coffee. There were no lamps in the room. Instead what you got was a light that was chained (yes I said chained) to the ceiling and had a lamp shade around it. But wait, there's more! Let's go to the comfort zone, the bathroom. Very small, dank, and just not nice. There was NO shower head. And when I say no shower head, I mean no shower head. The water was just spritzing out. Not to mention it was about 30 degrees (F). The sink would constantly back up and you would have to wait for it to drain. I love this part though. This trip was myself and my girlfriend. With two people, you would expect two sets of towels. Nope! This place does not disappoint. We had one set, with a full sized towel and two hand towels that we had to divide up. As a woman, my girlfriend needed a blow dryer. Most hotels usually have these. The Sandcastle is too classy for that. They prefer air drying. And by air I mean they don't have one. Just a couple more side notes. If you like roommates, be sure to go here. They tried sending a couple into our room. If you like Domino's pizza, they will surely stop by. Even if you didn't place the order! So the whole time we were in the room we were constantly disturbed. By the way, hope you don't need to iron anything because they don't have that either. All in all this trip was not fun in the least bit. The only two things I can say that were nice about this place were the view of the ocean and the bed was actually pretty comfortable. Other than that I honestly have nothing positive to say. None of the features, amenities, or the pictures were near what we got. The lazy river was so lazy the floats didn't even move in it. People please do me a huge favor and don't go to this place. You are wasting your money, time, and comfort. If you are desperate for an ocean front stay, then by all means subject yourself to this and make sure you pack everything that I listed above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomlance1
Business
Downingtown, PA
Mar 28, 2013

OK Place

Nice spot on the beach and close to the big wheel. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant. Tried to one morning for breakfast but it was closed. Seemed odd. Parking was good. Always a spot. Elevator was quick, so long as the cleaning crew wasn't keeping the door open. One morning I could hear the cleaning crew coming up the the elevators, stopping at each floor and unloading something? Not sure what that was. The toilet ran slowly and I was afraid it would run over. I told the front desk person and they said "Its late, we don't have anyone hear now." It was 5 pm. No one ever came to look at it, not even the next day. Thankfully it didn't run over. The shower was a joke. You couldn't adjust the showerhead from side to side or up and down. It was frozen in one position. The fan in the bathroom was funny too. It made really strange noises. All in all it wasn't a bad place. It just needs some updating. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach and the Aquarium are nice places to visit and do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrandpyB
Business
Fuquay Varina NC
Mar 18, 2013

Fun weekend!

Good accommodations close to attractrions, within walking distance to car show and eating joints. Comfortable and on the beach. Weather could have been a little warmer!! Had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great to be so near the car show we went to, could walk there, get something to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ittle Angel
Business
Milwaukee
Mar 4, 2013

Nice weekend getaway

The best things about this hotel is that it is right on the beach, with beautiful ocean views, and the super friendly staff. The pool wasnt that great, really small. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
applepie123
Business
Kingstree SC
Feb 26, 2013

No where to park

The shower had not been used in quite some time and it was extremely difficult to turn it on. The room had a strong smell of air freshner. When I returned at midafternoon, there were not parking spaces. I rode around for a while in the various areas that I was directed to park when checking in. Became disgusted and check-out a day early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jko001
Business
Pembroke, North Carolina
Feb 18, 2013

Needs more than that special something

Wi-fi Internet connection was nonexistent. Hotel Staff was not informative or helpful. Ask the clerk a question and his response was "I have no idea" and didn't offer any other assistance on the matter. The hot tub was cold and clerk says it's missing a "part" and no one knows when that "part" will come in, and he don't even know if the "part" was ordered yet. Quote "its been down for some time now". . Many other comments but I will leave it at this; The ONLY good thing about this room was the price and the location of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad beds
Business
Myrtle Beach S.C.
Feb 3, 2013

They need up dated on there beds

Had back problems with the beds. Had coffee pots but no coffee was there to use it. They need to up there game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping was great that time of year you can buy many things. The distance to where I needed to go was great. Out side the room was great. I would not recommend it to a friend or family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
friendsandfamily
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Nov 25, 2012

The worst possible hotel experience in my life!

I walked into the hotel entrance lobby, and immediately detected a strong, stale ordor. I was given my key and went to the room, it smelled so bad of some sort of a chemical ordor, most likey a cleaning product, that the fumes were in my throat. I immediately went back to the lobby and told the clerk I could not stay. I requested a refund... I was told to contact booking agency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Music events in Myrtle Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denali1
Business
Chicago Il
Oct 29, 2012

Weekend Getawaty

Went for a weekend getaway. Hotel location was great walking distance to main area and good places to eat. Outside pool, jacuzzi and bar were closed for the season. Didn't know that until we got there. Hotel was clean but felt like I was transported to the 70's. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would go back to Mrytle Beach again would probably find a more updated place to stay but for the money it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Want a great burger hit Duffy's in the center of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smiling Chick
Business
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Oct 29, 2012

Not bad

This hotel could definitely use some updating, BUT it wasn't a bad place to stay. We were only there for 2 nights, but if we were staying in Myrtle Beach longer, we probably would have looked for a hotel with something more. There was no hair dryer in the room, for a woman thats a little disappointing. I would have loved for there to have been a hot tub, but as I said we were only there for 2 days, so it was no big deal. Would definitely stay there again for a short trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top