$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
373 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great location

Hotel is in a great location. A short (very short!) walk to the beach. Close to shops and... See full review

  • Jc187636
  • Sep 4, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CB Vaca
Augusta, GA
May 30, 2013

Ups and downs

I did enjoy my stay. BUT my NEGATIVES: Some of the house keeping staff, VERY RUDE! I dealt with only ONE nice front desk person. Our bathroom SMELLED HORRIBLE. No blow dryer. Hair was in our bathroom shower. Old school TV, needs to be updated. Balcony was not cleaned off. Elevator is a joke. Either it's on point or very slack. Things I did enjoy: the location was perfect, I suggest visiting LuLu's Cafe across the street, they are open 24/7 and friendly. Our beds where comfortable, the side view balcony was really nice. The pool and lazy river was nice too. No jacuzzi though. I would go back, only due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LuLu's Cafe!!! Right across the street, Open 24/7. Great staff, good food. Don't let the '80's look fool you. They have a small but GREAT selection of drinks!! Try the Caribbean Cola!! Also, you'll get to see all the paint cans that made the beautiful mural on the side of the building!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rochi28
Fayetteville,NC
May 23, 2013

Good experience overall

Perfect location for the price. I would recommend to anybody.The only thing I didn't like it was that there were not enough towels, neither blow dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the skywheel where all the attractions and night life is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kenny69
savannah
May 20, 2013

bike week 13

hotel was nice and in a great location close to the center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoshuafromRDU
Durham, NC
May 12, 2013

Great for the price.

Friendly staff, helpful on where to go for nightlife. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Broadway at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaware Mama B
Georgetown, DE
May 4, 2013

Visiting Son

This was my second stay at Sandcastle. The hotel is perfect in location and is always clean. It could use some upgrades like new tv (larger), new carpets, and more substantial shower curtain. Overall though, I enjoy my stay at Sandcastle and would definitely recommend it. The price is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is great! Lots of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
java girl 275
raleigh , nc
Apr 8, 2013

weekend escape

Best thing I love about this hotel is its location. You really could spend several days here without ever getting in your car. If you don't mind a little walking there are plenty of restaurants and bars within a few blocks.since we mainly travel to this area for events at or near the convention center easy walk for those as well. Been coming back for years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

breakfast buffet across the street is great, pier 14 special dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pamela Hinton
Greer, SC
Apr 8, 2013

Wouldn't recommend

The first night was kept up till 4am with drunk teenagers. 2nd night police came because of the drunk teenagers 13 in 1 room. No security. Plus they didn't offer coffee in the room. I forgot to pack my hairdryer, asked if they had one I could use and they asked for a $10 non-fundable deposit. Not a very happy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Band Man
Fayetteville, NC
Apr 5, 2013

The struggle was real.

I promise to go into as much detail as possible so that you don't make the same mistake that I did. I hope this review helps you in not reserving this hotel. Let's talk about the staff first. This was probably the most friendly group of people I have ever met. Please note: that is complete sarcasm. On the first day of my vacation at the hotel I will be staying at, I would LOVE to be greeted by someone friendly. I feel like it sets the tone for your trip. If you want your tone to be something of oh I don't know, death....then you are at the right place. Everyone there looks as if they are miserable. From the desk clerks all the way to the cleaning staff. Nobody wants to be there. If they don't, I assure you, you don't either. Even better, let's move on to parking. Beside the hotel there are about 26 parking spaces. That is an estimate so don't quote me exactly. There really is no parking directly in front of the hotel (about 5 spaces maybe...) because it is right one the oceanfront. If parking on the side of the hotel fills up, then you have to go across the street. Not that bad being that is still directly in front of the hotel. Here's the kicker. If that parking lot is filled up, you have to go two streets over in front of the hotel and try and find a space on the parking deck. Yes that's right...a parking deck. And let me re-emphasize...two streets over. Parking is horrendous at this place. It literally took us over thirty minutes to park our vehicle. Now let's finish up with the beautiful room. One thing I will compliment this place on is location. The ocean view was really nice. I will give it that. But the features of this room are to die for. (Please note the constant sarcasm...) The room decor looks like it came straight out of a bad 1980's movie. The baby blue paint on the head boards, the bathroom, were TERRIBLE! The TV was a small box TV, not the flat screen that they mention. My room indicated it would have a kitchenette. It actually only had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with no coffee. There were no lamps in the room. Instead what you got was a light that was chained (yes I said chained) to the ceiling and had a lamp shade around it. But wait, there's more! Let's go to the comfort zone, the bathroom. Very small, dank, and just not nice. There was NO shower head. And when I say no shower head, I mean no shower head. The water was just spritzing out. Not to mention it was about 30 degrees (F). The sink would constantly back up and you would have to wait for it to drain. I love this part though. This trip was myself and my girlfriend. With two people, you would expect two sets of towels. Nope! This place does not disappoint. We had one set, with a full sized towel and two hand towels that we had to divide up. As a woman, my girlfriend needed a blow dryer. Most hotels usually have these. The Sandcastle is too classy for that. They prefer air drying. And by air I mean they don't have one. Just a couple more side notes. If you like roommates, be sure to go here. They tried sending a couple into our room. If you like Domino's pizza, they will surely stop by. Even if you didn't place the order! So the whole time we were in the room we were constantly disturbed. By the way, hope you don't need to iron anything because they don't have that either. All in all this trip was not fun in the least bit. The only two things I can say that were nice about this place were the view of the ocean and the bed was actually pretty comfortable. Other than that I honestly have nothing positive to say. None of the features, amenities, or the pictures were near what we got. The lazy river was so lazy the floats didn't even move in it. People please do me a huge favor and don't go to this place. You are wasting your money, time, and comfort. If you are desperate for an ocean front stay, then by all means subject yourself to this and make sure you pack everything that I listed above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomlance1
Downingtown, PA
Mar 28, 2013

OK Place

Nice spot on the beach and close to the big wheel. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant. Tried to one morning for breakfast but it was closed. Seemed odd. Parking was good. Always a spot. Elevator was quick, so long as the cleaning crew wasn't keeping the door open. One morning I could hear the cleaning crew coming up the the elevators, stopping at each floor and unloading something? Not sure what that was. The toilet ran slowly and I was afraid it would run over. I told the front desk person and they said "Its late, we don't have anyone hear now." It was 5 pm. No one ever came to look at it, not even the next day. Thankfully it didn't run over. The shower was a joke. You couldn't adjust the showerhead from side to side or up and down. It was frozen in one position. The fan in the bathroom was funny too. It made really strange noises. All in all it wasn't a bad place. It just needs some updating. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach and the Aquarium are nice places to visit and do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrandpyB
Fuquay Varina NC
Mar 18, 2013

Fun weekend!

Good accommodations close to attractrions, within walking distance to car show and eating joints. Comfortable and on the beach. Weather could have been a little warmer!! Had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great to be so near the car show we went to, could walk there, get something to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search