$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
361 out of 361
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS Country Girl
Business
Georgia
Jul 29, 2013

My review

The hotel is in a great location. Right on the beach. I do not like the parking lot being away from the hotel. The pools are average. The lazy river is nice but small. The internet wasn't working but they fixed it and then I no longer had problems. They really need more elevators. You always had to wait on the elevator. The nicest thing is that you can walk straight to the beach and are very close to lots of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2tired2c
Business
southern wv
Jul 23, 2013

too tired

We drove 7 hrs to get to this hotel to find that the elevator was out of order. We had to carry all of our luggage (by ourselves) up to the 4th floor. My mother has asthma and arthritis so it was especially hard for her...I will be staying at another hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy Guest AAR
Business
Knoxville TN
Jul 23, 2013

Run away as fast as you can

It started with check in. Our room was not ready, I checked back several times before they asked to take my cell number and they would call me when it was ready. I waited for another 2 hours and checked back again. The room was ready but nobody bothered to call me. We get into the room and my daughter wanted to take a shower. The water pressure was so bad she had to take a bath and I had to use the ice bucket to get the soap out of her hair. No hair dryer was in the room. Then we were going to go to dinner and found out the elevator was not working. We were on the 6th floor and the elevator went out everyday!!!!! The second day when we returned from breakfast our room had been cleaned but we only had hand towels and the cups had not be replenished. I had to walk down 6 flights of stairs to get towels. It had a coffee maker but no coffee or cups. The lazy river pool was green. I had to take my 7 year old to the doctor when we got back because she ended up with an eye infection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with Sandcastle
Business
NC/SC
Jul 18, 2013

Grossest Hotel Ever

First the hotel was further away from our needed destination than advertised. Second the pool was so gross, what appeared to be urine filled, that it wasn't even worth sitting by. The room was nasty! Hot and muggy. As were the hallways, elevators, and foyers. The shower took days to get hot water and would spray for a minute then stop for a few seconds and then restart. Parking was a nightmare, unsafe, and down right frustrating. The only good part of the experience was our departure. It was so horrible, it wasn't even worth complaining because no one cared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulus across the street was great! Otherwise the Sandcastle sucks!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Tan Tim
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 12, 2013

Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things done right to make you comfortable. And yes, right on the ocean, great view. But what struck me the most was that the staff seemed to really care, not just because of company policy, but because of the kind of people they were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Also a well known national specialty coffee shop just across the street. (I liked it).

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Bizz3l
Business
Columbia s.c.
Jun 25, 2013

birthday beach trip

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay its not the biggest room but it is perfect for people wanting to be beach bums and just have drinks in the room before going out it is a good young age group about for 1/4 of the hotel bit families also were there I would definitely stay here again !!!! Kb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get great cheap sunglasses across the street to the right of down then strip for 8$ max

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delightful Danny
Business
Bluefield WV
Jun 17, 2013

The view and location

The view and location was perfect..we was able to walk onto the beach in a few steps....we do look forward to going back...the staff was very helpful and kind and we are lookin forward to our next trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Several shows to see within minutes..the food was awesome and a short drive away and the shopping was a lot of fun and within minutes of the hotel...

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DPatrick1
Business
Dayton OH
Jun 17, 2013

Family Vacation

Average Hotel. Good location in relation n to activities. Within walking distance to 14th avenue Pier and boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justbeachy
Business
Glen Burnie, MD
Jun 3, 2013

Ok; Inexpensive

My room was comfortable & the beds were clean & fresh. The staff at the front desk was VERY nice! My view of the ocean was good, too. The pool & lazy river are both nice & well maintained. Considering the value for the money, I would recommend this resort. You need to bring your hair dryer & clock radio with you, as they are not standard in the rooms. But, not a big deal. After all, you're not going to the ocean to stay in the room, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When you go to the beach to swim, be sure to have those 'swimming shoes', as it's VERY gravelley once you step into the water, & VERY hard on your feet! You'll be glad you brought those shoes along!! You can grab a pair at K Mart for around $5.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CB Vaca
Business
Augusta, GA
May 30, 2013

Ups and downs

I did enjoy my stay. BUT my NEGATIVES: Some of the house keeping staff, VERY RUDE! I dealt with only ONE nice front desk person. Our bathroom SMELLED HORRIBLE. No blow dryer. Hair was in our bathroom shower. Old school TV, needs to be updated. Balcony was not cleaned off. Elevator is a joke. Either it's on point or very slack. Things I did enjoy: the location was perfect, I suggest visiting LuLu's Cafe across the street, they are open 24/7 and friendly. Our beds where comfortable, the side view balcony was really nice. The pool and lazy river was nice too. No jacuzzi though. I would go back, only due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LuLu's Cafe!!! Right across the street, Open 24/7. Great staff, good food. Don't let the '80's look fool you. They have a small but GREAT selection of drinks!! Try the Caribbean Cola!! Also, you'll get to see all the paint cans that made the beautiful mural on the side of the building!

Back to menu Return to top