Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
373 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great location

Hotel is in a great location. A short (very short!) walk to the beach. Close to shops and... See full review

  • Jc187636
  • Sep 4, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Stewart
Hillsborough, NC
Jul 30, 2013

Not so great

Not ideal if you have small kids. We have a 6-month old and the noise in the hallways and from the street was not good for naps and bedtime. At one point we had to call the front desk and they called security, due to fireworks (which are illegal...and very loud!) Plus, we came back to our room one evening to find some clothes IN our bathroom sink, and when I tried to move them, they were soaking wet! So I went down to the front desk and they explained there was a water leak in some rooms above ours. Then we noticed the wet spot on the floor when I got back to the room. It just wasn't very nice. Alot of partying people!! I would not stay here again. It wasn't horrible, and this one guy at the front desk was very helpful, but it's not a good deal. I just need to remember how loud the Pavilion is and keep the baby away from there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MS Country Girl
Georgia
Jul 29, 2013

My review

The hotel is in a great location. Right on the beach. I do not like the parking lot being away from the hotel. The pools are average. The lazy river is nice but small. The internet wasn't working but they fixed it and then I no longer had problems. They really need more elevators. You always had to wait on the elevator. The nicest thing is that you can walk straight to the beach and are very close to lots of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy Guest AAR
Knoxville TN
Jul 23, 2013

Run away as fast as you can

It started with check in. Our room was not ready, I checked back several times before they asked to take my cell number and they would call me when it was ready. I waited for another 2 hours and checked back again. The room was ready but nobody bothered to call me. We get into the room and my daughter wanted to take a shower. The water pressure was so bad she had to take a bath and I had to use the ice bucket to get the soap out of her hair. No hair dryer was in the room. Then we were going to go to dinner and found out the elevator was not working. We were on the 6th floor and the elevator went out everyday!!!!! The second day when we returned from breakfast our room had been cleaned but we only had hand towels and the cups had not be replenished. I had to walk down 6 flights of stairs to get towels. It had a coffee maker but no coffee or cups. The lazy river pool was green. I had to take my 7 year old to the doctor when we got back because she ended up with an eye infection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2tired2c
southern wv
Jul 23, 2013

too tired

We drove 7 hrs to get to this hotel to find that the elevator was out of order. We had to carry all of our luggage (by ourselves) up to the 4th floor. My mother has asthma and arthritis so it was especially hard for her...I will be staying at another hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with Sandcastle
NC/SC
Jul 18, 2013

Grossest Hotel Ever

First the hotel was further away from our needed destination than advertised. Second the pool was so gross, what appeared to be urine filled, that it wasn't even worth sitting by. The room was nasty! Hot and muggy. As were the hallways, elevators, and foyers. The shower took days to get hot water and would spray for a minute then stop for a few seconds and then restart. Parking was a nightmare, unsafe, and down right frustrating. The only good part of the experience was our departure. It was so horrible, it wasn't even worth complaining because no one cared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulus across the street was great! Otherwise the Sandcastle sucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Tan Tim
Louisville, KY
Jul 12, 2013

Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things done right to make you comfortable. And yes, right on the ocean, great view. But what struck me the most was that the staff seemed to really care, not just because of company policy, but because of the kind of people they were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Also a well known national specialty coffee shop just across the street. (I liked it).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Bizz3l
Columbia s.c.
Jun 25, 2013

birthday beach trip

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay its not the biggest room but it is perfect for people wanting to be beach bums and just have drinks in the room before going out it is a good young age group about for 1/4 of the hotel bit families also were there I would definitely stay here again !!!! Kb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get great cheap sunglasses across the street to the right of down then strip for 8$ max

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DPatrick1
Dayton OH
Jun 17, 2013

Family Vacation

Average Hotel. Good location in relation n to activities. Within walking distance to 14th avenue Pier and boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delightful Danny
Bluefield WV
Jun 17, 2013

The view and location

The view and location was perfect..we was able to walk onto the beach in a few steps....we do look forward to going back...the staff was very helpful and kind and we are lookin forward to our next trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Several shows to see within minutes..the food was awesome and a short drive away and the shopping was a lot of fun and within minutes of the hotel...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justbeachy
Glen Burnie, MD
Jun 3, 2013

Ok; Inexpensive

My room was comfortable & the beds were clean & fresh. The staff at the front desk was VERY nice! My view of the ocean was good, too. The pool & lazy river are both nice & well maintained. Considering the value for the money, I would recommend this resort. You need to bring your hair dryer & clock radio with you, as they are not standard in the rooms. But, not a big deal. After all, you're not going to the ocean to stay in the room, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When you go to the beach to swim, be sure to have those 'swimming shoes', as it's VERY gravelley once you step into the water, & VERY hard on your feet! You'll be glad you brought those shoes along!! You can grab a pair at K Mart for around $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top