$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
louisa shingler
Business
Charleston, SC
Sep 23, 2013

Disappointing

Rooms are clean and staff is friendly and helpful. But rooms are very dated and worn. No blankets on beds. Coffee maker provided but no coffee. Loud. Pretty bare bones all round. I could have stayed at a chain hotel for less money and had better in room amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and her girls
Business
Martinsville, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Girls Weekend

The Sandcastle was a very nice place for a weekend get away for the price.The staff was very friendly at all times. The pool & lazy river were excellent places to relax. The room could use some updates but the motel is close by to lots of places to eat & have fun, plus it was right on the beach. Overall it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. MC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 10, 2013

Birthday Celebration Getaway

The experience at this hotel was pretty average. I went to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday. We had a really good time. The only thing I had a problem with was the smell in the lobby, elevator and hallways of the hotel. This hotel could really use some updated furniture, mattresses and paint colors.. but other than that it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom Mom Freda
Business
Salem, New Jersey
Aug 20, 2013

Needs Renovating

We were shocked that such a large hotel on the beach could be so dirty and cheap looking. The carpeting was old and dirty, the elevator was shaky and filthy. There was so much dust on hanging lamp. No soap, no hairdryer, no coffee (pot yes, coffee no). The pool looked nice but the green slime on the cement kept us away. The lazy river was built for 2 to 5 year olds. Pictures on internet have been enhanced as it sure doesn't look like that. We left two days early and lost our money but couldn't stay there one more night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsey
Business
Va
Aug 16, 2013

Vac 2013

Was kinda , upset with it because we was on the 7th floor and the elevator was down a lot and we had to take the steps even when we checked out we had to carry out stuff down from the 7th floor. But other than that I guess it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJJLA
Business
Raleigh NC
Aug 12, 2013

Needs some TLC

Probably would not stay here again. For what we paid, it was worth it, but overall not the nicest or cleanest hotel. Right by the strip, so it was very loud at night. Ok place to stay for younger couples or groups of friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsey
Business
Va
Aug 10, 2013

Elevator

Seems, like we was walking down 7 flights every night even when we checked out that morning we had to carry all of our luggage and rest of our stuff down the steps. I have a lot wrong with my back. So that was no fun walking up all those steps. And y'all didn't have a blow dryer in your room. So I though it was kinda pricey without elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sky

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Myrtle beach man
Business
New Jersey
Aug 9, 2013

Really Enjoyed except for Roaches

Location is perfect - Beach is right at front of the hotel. You can also walk to the ride, stores and restaurants. Alert! Roaches are in the room. That turned me down. I wouldn't stay this hotel again beacasue of this problem. If you don't mind roaches, you can stay. I complained but the staff denied that they are not roaches. That means there is no chance to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chilippr
Business
Michigan
Aug 5, 2013

Amazing Time!!

I had the greatest experience. This was my first "by my self" vacation, and was taken care of by the amazing staff. From check-in to check-out, not one complaint. The room was so clean and the view... couldn't have asked for better. Thank you for such a great experience. Everything was within walking distance. Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joyce Disappointed
Business
Catonsville, Maryland
Aug 4, 2013

Disappointed

Although I requested a room on a non-smoking floor of the hotel and the sign next to the elevator on the floor where my room was located read "No Smoking", the hallway outside my room reeked of cigarette smoke. Even my room smelled like cigarette smoke. As non-smokers, this was an uncomfortable and restless night for my family and me. Fortunately, we only needed the accommodations for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top