$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
371 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Exactly what we expected

This hotel was basic, but it was pretty clean and in a great location!! It was close to the... See full review

  • Jen12
  • Aug 29, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (371)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Unhappy Guest AAR
Knoxville TN
Jul 23, 2013

Run away as fast as you can

It started with check in. Our room was not ready, I checked back several times before they asked to take my cell number and they would call me when it was ready. I waited for another 2 hours and checked back again. The room was ready but nobody bothered to call me. We get into the room and my daughter wanted to take a shower. The water pressure was so bad she had to take a bath and I had to use the ice bucket to get the soap out of her hair. No hair dryer was in the room. Then we were going to go to dinner and found out the elevator was not working. We were on the 6th floor and the elevator went out everyday!!!!! The second day when we returned from breakfast our room had been cleaned but we only had hand towels and the cups had not be replenished. I had to walk down 6 flights of stairs to get towels. It had a coffee maker but no coffee or cups. The lazy river pool was green. I had to take my 7 year old to the doctor when we got back because she ended up with an eye infection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2tired2c
southern wv
Jul 23, 2013

too tired

We drove 7 hrs to get to this hotel to find that the elevator was out of order. We had to carry all of our luggage (by ourselves) up to the 4th floor. My mother has asthma and arthritis so it was especially hard for her...I will be staying at another hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with Sandcastle
NC/SC
Jul 18, 2013

Grossest Hotel Ever

First the hotel was further away from our needed destination than advertised. Second the pool was so gross, what appeared to be urine filled, that it wasn't even worth sitting by. The room was nasty! Hot and muggy. As were the hallways, elevators, and foyers. The shower took days to get hot water and would spray for a minute then stop for a few seconds and then restart. Parking was a nightmare, unsafe, and down right frustrating. The only good part of the experience was our departure. It was so horrible, it wasn't even worth complaining because no one cared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulus across the street was great! Otherwise the Sandcastle sucks!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Tan Tim
Louisville, KY
Jul 12, 2013

Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things done right to make you comfortable. And yes, right on the ocean, great view. But what struck me the most was that the staff seemed to really care, not just because of company policy, but because of the kind of people they were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Also a well known national specialty coffee shop just across the street. (I liked it).

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Bizz3l
Columbia s.c.
Jun 25, 2013

birthday beach trip

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay its not the biggest room but it is perfect for people wanting to be beach bums and just have drinks in the room before going out it is a good young age group about for 1/4 of the hotel bit families also were there I would definitely stay here again !!!! Kb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get great cheap sunglasses across the street to the right of down then strip for 8$ max

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DPatrick1
Dayton OH
Jun 17, 2013

Family Vacation

Average Hotel. Good location in relation n to activities. Within walking distance to 14th avenue Pier and boardwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delightful Danny
Bluefield WV
Jun 17, 2013

The view and location

The view and location was perfect..we was able to walk onto the beach in a few steps....we do look forward to going back...the staff was very helpful and kind and we are lookin forward to our next trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Several shows to see within minutes..the food was awesome and a short drive away and the shopping was a lot of fun and within minutes of the hotel...

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justbeachy
Glen Burnie, MD
Jun 3, 2013

Ok; Inexpensive

My room was comfortable & the beds were clean & fresh. The staff at the front desk was VERY nice! My view of the ocean was good, too. The pool & lazy river are both nice & well maintained. Considering the value for the money, I would recommend this resort. You need to bring your hair dryer & clock radio with you, as they are not standard in the rooms. But, not a big deal. After all, you're not going to the ocean to stay in the room, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When you go to the beach to swim, be sure to have those 'swimming shoes', as it's VERY gravelley once you step into the water, & VERY hard on your feet! You'll be glad you brought those shoes along!! You can grab a pair at K Mart for around $5.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CB Vaca
Augusta, GA
May 30, 2013

Ups and downs

I did enjoy my stay. BUT my NEGATIVES: Some of the house keeping staff, VERY RUDE! I dealt with only ONE nice front desk person. Our bathroom SMELLED HORRIBLE. No blow dryer. Hair was in our bathroom shower. Old school TV, needs to be updated. Balcony was not cleaned off. Elevator is a joke. Either it's on point or very slack. Things I did enjoy: the location was perfect, I suggest visiting LuLu's Cafe across the street, they are open 24/7 and friendly. Our beds where comfortable, the side view balcony was really nice. The pool and lazy river was nice too. No jacuzzi though. I would go back, only due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LuLu's Cafe!!! Right across the street, Open 24/7. Great staff, good food. Don't let the '80's look fool you. They have a small but GREAT selection of drinks!! Try the Caribbean Cola!! Also, you'll get to see all the paint cans that made the beautiful mural on the side of the building!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rochi28
Fayetteville,NC
May 23, 2013

Good experience overall

Perfect location for the price. I would recommend to anybody.The only thing I didn't like it was that there were not enough towels, neither blow dryer in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the skywheel where all the attractions and night life is.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search