$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired two
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 4, 2013

Fall getaway

My husband and I had a very relaxing time. The cable went out a few times on the second day but the cable guys were called in immediately. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucas Jackson
Business
South Carolina
Sep 30, 2013

Just not a three star property...

Rooms are very old fashioned and outdated. 'Partial Ocean View' basically means if you stick your head out the sliding glass door you can see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's across the street serves a very good reasonably priced breakfast.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maromonte
Business
Trafford, PA
Sep 27, 2013

great location.

near everything, but note that room has coffee/tea MAKER but does NOT provide the coffee/tea like most other hotels do (i like being able to have my coffee in the morning without leaving room. and i don't want to have to go shopping for coffee, sugar and cream when on vacation).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
louisa shingler
Business
Charleston, SC
Sep 23, 2013

Disappointing

Rooms are clean and staff is friendly and helpful. But rooms are very dated and worn. No blankets on beds. Coffee maker provided but no coffee. Loud. Pretty bare bones all round. I could have stayed at a chain hotel for less money and had better in room amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and her girls
Business
Martinsville, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Girls Weekend

The Sandcastle was a very nice place for a weekend get away for the price.The staff was very friendly at all times. The pool & lazy river were excellent places to relax. The room could use some updates but the motel is close by to lots of places to eat & have fun, plus it was right on the beach. Overall it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. MC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 10, 2013

Birthday Celebration Getaway

The experience at this hotel was pretty average. I went to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday. We had a really good time. The only thing I had a problem with was the smell in the lobby, elevator and hallways of the hotel. This hotel could really use some updated furniture, mattresses and paint colors.. but other than that it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom Mom Freda
Business
Salem, New Jersey
Aug 20, 2013

Needs Renovating

We were shocked that such a large hotel on the beach could be so dirty and cheap looking. The carpeting was old and dirty, the elevator was shaky and filthy. There was so much dust on hanging lamp. No soap, no hairdryer, no coffee (pot yes, coffee no). The pool looked nice but the green slime on the cement kept us away. The lazy river was built for 2 to 5 year olds. Pictures on internet have been enhanced as it sure doesn't look like that. We left two days early and lost our money but couldn't stay there one more night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsey
Business
Va
Aug 16, 2013

Vac 2013

Was kinda , upset with it because we was on the 7th floor and the elevator was down a lot and we had to take the steps even when we checked out we had to carry out stuff down from the 7th floor. But other than that I guess it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJJLA
Business
Raleigh NC
Aug 12, 2013

Needs some TLC

Probably would not stay here again. For what we paid, it was worth it, but overall not the nicest or cleanest hotel. Right by the strip, so it was very loud at night. Ok place to stay for younger couples or groups of friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsey
Business
Va
Aug 10, 2013

Elevator

Seems, like we was walking down 7 flights every night even when we checked out that morning we had to carry all of our luggage and rest of our stuff down the steps. I have a lot wrong with my back. So that was no fun walking up all those steps. And y'all didn't have a blow dryer in your room. So I though it was kinda pricey without elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sky

Back to menu Return to top