Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
377 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (377)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucas Jackson
Business
South Carolina
Sep 30, 2013

Just not a three star property...

Rooms are very old fashioned and outdated. 'Partial Ocean View' basically means if you stick your head out the sliding glass door you can see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's across the street serves a very good reasonably priced breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maromonte
Business
Trafford, PA
Sep 27, 2013

great location.

near everything, but note that room has coffee/tea MAKER but does NOT provide the coffee/tea like most other hotels do (i like being able to have my coffee in the morning without leaving room. and i don't want to have to go shopping for coffee, sugar and cream when on vacation).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
louisa shingler
Business
Charleston, SC
Sep 23, 2013

Disappointing

Rooms are clean and staff is friendly and helpful. But rooms are very dated and worn. No blankets on beds. Coffee maker provided but no coffee. Loud. Pretty bare bones all round. I could have stayed at a chain hotel for less money and had better in room amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and her girls
Business
Martinsville, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Girls Weekend

The Sandcastle was a very nice place for a weekend get away for the price.The staff was very friendly at all times. The pool & lazy river were excellent places to relax. The room could use some updates but the motel is close by to lots of places to eat & have fun, plus it was right on the beach. Overall it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. MC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 10, 2013

Birthday Celebration Getaway

The experience at this hotel was pretty average. I went to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday. We had a really good time. The only thing I had a problem with was the smell in the lobby, elevator and hallways of the hotel. This hotel could really use some updated furniture, mattresses and paint colors.. but other than that it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom Mom Freda
Business
Salem, New Jersey
Aug 20, 2013

Needs Renovating

We were shocked that such a large hotel on the beach could be so dirty and cheap looking. The carpeting was old and dirty, the elevator was shaky and filthy. There was so much dust on hanging lamp. No soap, no hairdryer, no coffee (pot yes, coffee no). The pool looked nice but the green slime on the cement kept us away. The lazy river was built for 2 to 5 year olds. Pictures on internet have been enhanced as it sure doesn't look like that. We left two days early and lost our money but couldn't stay there one more night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsey
Business
Va
Aug 16, 2013

Vac 2013

Was kinda , upset with it because we was on the 7th floor and the elevator was down a lot and we had to take the steps even when we checked out we had to carry out stuff down from the 7th floor. But other than that I guess it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJJLA
Business
Raleigh NC
Aug 12, 2013

Needs some TLC

Probably would not stay here again. For what we paid, it was worth it, but overall not the nicest or cleanest hotel. Right by the strip, so it was very loud at night. Ok place to stay for younger couples or groups of friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelsey
Business
Va
Aug 10, 2013

Elevator

Seems, like we was walking down 7 flights every night even when we checked out that morning we had to carry all of our luggage and rest of our stuff down the steps. I have a lot wrong with my back. So that was no fun walking up all those steps. And y'all didn't have a blow dryer in your room. So I though it was kinda pricey without elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sky

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Myrtle beach man
Business
New Jersey
Aug 9, 2013

Really Enjoyed except for Roaches

Location is perfect - Beach is right at front of the hotel. You can also walk to the ride, stores and restaurants. Alert! Roaches are in the room. That turned me down. I wouldn't stay this hotel again beacasue of this problem. If you don't mind roaches, you can stay. I complained but the staff denied that they are not roaches. That means there is no chance to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top