$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fatts
Business
Phila. PA
Mar 30, 2014

Needs Help

The picture of the hotel looked ok but when we got there we were put in a side older building. Security locks did not work. Hall ways were dark and dirty. Front desk wasn't helpful. Coffee was not available in the morning. The off season rates were good and it was in a good location. Since they had many empty rooms I expected to get an ocean front room upgrade but didn't. No big deal though. Don't think I would stay again unless necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of good restaurants and bars close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Nick
Business
Plymouth, CT
Jan 22, 2014

Great Stay

Hotel was in a great location. Room clean. Only suggestion, coffee cup (coffee maker, but no coffee or coffee cup). Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katbell8888
Business
Charleston, SC
Jan 2, 2014

Rooms do not look like the pictures!!!

I have stayed in tons of hotels in Myrtle and this one averages about the same price as captin quarters, and bay view. However, they did not have a flat screen. The rooms were tiny and dated. And the balcony was very , very small in the side view rooms. My friend had ocean view and they were a little bit bigger. This hotel is fine if you plan on going out drinking the whole time. But I would have been super Disappointed if it was a family trip with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Can ride from here to broadway for 5 People is 15 bucks one way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nekosan
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas at the beach

Close to pavilion boardwalk and walking. Dining is very close and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired two
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 4, 2013

Fall getaway

My husband and I had a very relaxing time. The cable went out a few times on the second day but the cable guys were called in immediately. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucas Jackson
Business
South Carolina
Sep 30, 2013

Just not a three star property...

Rooms are very old fashioned and outdated. 'Partial Ocean View' basically means if you stick your head out the sliding glass door you can see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's across the street serves a very good reasonably priced breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maromonte
Business
Trafford, PA
Sep 27, 2013

great location.

near everything, but note that room has coffee/tea MAKER but does NOT provide the coffee/tea like most other hotels do (i like being able to have my coffee in the morning without leaving room. and i don't want to have to go shopping for coffee, sugar and cream when on vacation).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
louisa shingler
Business
Charleston, SC
Sep 23, 2013

Disappointing

Rooms are clean and staff is friendly and helpful. But rooms are very dated and worn. No blankets on beds. Coffee maker provided but no coffee. Loud. Pretty bare bones all round. I could have stayed at a chain hotel for less money and had better in room amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and her girls
Business
Martinsville, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Girls Weekend

The Sandcastle was a very nice place for a weekend get away for the price.The staff was very friendly at all times. The pool & lazy river were excellent places to relax. The room could use some updates but the motel is close by to lots of places to eat & have fun, plus it was right on the beach. Overall it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. MC
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 10, 2013

Birthday Celebration Getaway

The experience at this hotel was pretty average. I went to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday. We had a really good time. The only thing I had a problem with was the smell in the lobby, elevator and hallways of the hotel. This hotel could really use some updated furniture, mattresses and paint colors.. but other than that it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top