$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim and Family
Business
Michigan
Aug 10, 2009

Great location, needs updating.

This hotel is right on the beach and in the middle of great shops and restaurants. The pool and lazy river were very nice, although not as big as they appear on the internet. The hotel itself is in major need of updating. It seemed very dark and old. The first room we received was VERY small (side room) and dark. The toilet overflowed like a geyser. We asked to move, and paid an upgrade fee, and received a first floor room that was poolside with a kitchen. This room was MUCH better and worth the extra money. Overall, I would stay here again because it is a great value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is a short drive away and is wonderful! It has great atmosphere and many major restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Batesville, AR
Aug 9, 2009

Great location! Great price! Had a blast

My son and I went on a "road trip" to Myrtle Beach just before he leaves home for college. This hotel was not extravagant but didn't have an extravagant price either. It was clean. Nice. Everything worked. Was in a great location if you want to be around people which we did. We enjoyed the beach, nice food, and was able to relax for an entire week for half the price of a hotel just 3 down. I would go back to this hotel. The people were very friendly and helpful. It was an awesome getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of places to eat at Myrtle Beach and all sorts of prices but I suggest you get the coupon book. It has lots of coupons that will save you $$. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shreksbabe
Business
NC
Aug 9, 2009

Decent

Staff not very knowledgable about the area and I requested a call from the manager, but never received one. Other than that and the parking, it was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Olive,NC
Aug 9, 2009

Not bad for a quickie.

Not the most upscale place to stay but the orbitz deal for a quick couple of days getaway was too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby, NC
Aug 9, 2009

Good vacation spot for the cost

You can't go wrong with being on the beach. The frig was bigger than the cube size I thought it would be. There was room above it to store food, plates, etc. Shower and bathroom were nice, though small. We had a sideview room, and could see the other towers' balcony AND into their room, so I was conscious of what others could see in my room and kept the curtain shut way more than I would in an oceanfront room. The room was clean when we started, but out of a 3 night stay, it only got cleaned one day. I got a plastic bag of clean towels the next day. Not sure why that is. We were on the 6th floor and it was nice and quiet. Parking usually was about a block away, but my boys are active and can go, go, go, so that was okay. It was nice being close to the grand strand and broadway at the beach. The beachfront was not crowded at all for the beginning of August. I was going for a money saving trip, so this hotel was more than what I was expecting for the price. Hot tubs and pools were great, indoor and outdoor. One elevator for the tower we were in, including staff having to use (housekeeping, maintenance, etc.), so be prepared to wait each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe 1800 in bldg. Easy to eat quick. Not bad price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 8, 2009

Smelly

Our stay at the Sandcastle was just for the weekend. The location was great it was close to everything. Loved the fact that our room was oceanfront. However the cleanliness and the service of the hotel was not the best. The stairwell smelled like urine and the rugs in the room are old, dirty and smelly. For a weekend getaway it is just fine but not if your stay is going to be longer than a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is only like a 5 minute drive. Highly recommend going there It has everything, dining, entertainment and nightlife!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1wildstang
Business
West Virginia
Aug 7, 2009

My Sandcastle experience.

As soon as we checked into our room, there was something on our toilet seat (use your imagination) which we had to wipe off before we used it. The floor looked dirty like the sweeper was never ran before we checked in, you could see strings on the floor. Our whole stay which was 5 nights, our sheets were never changed and the floor was never swept. One other complaint we had was one elevator for 9 floors. There was a constant wait for the elevators. For the money, the location was good, the rooms weren't that bad, but the appliances were very old. The bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Tanger outlets. Found some great bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Mike
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 6, 2009

It was happy to stay and nice location

Very enjoyed and relaxed to stay in the hotel and the view of our Ocean Front room is great! Our kids was so happy to play in the pools. The only thing made me Unhappy was when I went to Check Out before 12:00pm. The Check Out time on my Orbitz reservation is 12:00pm, but the front desk staff told me that their Check Out time is 11:00am(No one told me when I got Check In and I just followed my reservation). I have shown them my Orbitz reservation and they said they did not know why Orbitz has this Check Out time. They said I was stealing rooms and I have argued with them. Finally they told me that they just wanted letting me know their Check In/Out time and I should noticed it next time. I think Orbitz may need to check on why the difference about this hotel Check In/Out time so that other customers will not be confused and/or get any trouble later on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Preacher Ric
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 6, 2009

Exceeded my best expectations

I went to Myrtle Beach to get inspiration on a book I am writing. So the trip was to be a recreational study project. The quietness and serenity (overlooking the ocean) allowed me to focus on my work. While the clean beach and swimming pool provided the perfect environment in which to take my "breaks" from writing. I stayed in the top (8th) floor of the sandcastle, giving me one of the best possible views of the ocean day and night. In the light of the full moon shimmering across the surface of the water, I sat on my balcony which seemed to almost touch heaven, and complete my work as planned. Given the respectful and efficient treatment by Orbitz booking the trip, I was very pleased. Given the price, the service, the location, the privacy and tranquility, as well as the variety of things to do in my "offtime," I could not have asked for anything better. Thankfully, Ric Toney (a sold customer who will definitely use Orbitz for my next getaway.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gn_bacon
Business
Macon, GA
Aug 4, 2009

a place to stay

The trip itself was really fun. Broadway on the beach park was great, lots of shops and restaurants, also lots of things for younger children to enjoy. The beach was pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top