$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WV
Aug 2, 2009

Hotel needs major updates!

We stayed in the North Tower. We paid extra for a full kitchen so we could save money and cook in the room. Our kitchen did not have utensils to cook or silverware to use. The stove did not work and the microwave was as old as the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Churchville, Va
Aug 1, 2009

Myrtle Beach vacation

The staff was very polite and helpful. The room could have been a little bit larger, but we enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The room and pool were clean. We enjoyed the beach, pool and did lots of shopping while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tanger outlets have lots of great bargains, and Broadway at the Beach is just a five minute drive from the Sandcastle.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 30, 2009

Great Family Getaway

I really enjoyed the stay and it was a beautiful view, as long as you can deal with the parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is always alot going on when you are on the strip. You are right in the middle of everything

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, Ga
Jul 30, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Had requested a non=smoking room; but request was not honored. Staff helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
#1 Daphne
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jul 21, 2009

"Last minute traveler, BEWARE"

Hey guys, I am not usually one to complain or even offer my opinion about things, but I had to say something about this hotel. You really can't ask for a better location. Everything you need is within a short walk or drive. As far as the staff goes, they were all friendly and I think for the most part tried to make up for the hotels short comings. The cleanliness of the hotel is a different story. The hallway and stairwell both smelled of urine all the time. Our room wasn't what I would consider gross, just old and in need of an update. The carpet was dirty and a few tiles near the kitchenette were broken. We had to ask for towel the whole time we were there. They never left enough. I don't know that I could take my family back to this hotel. It seemed like it had more of a party atmosphere. I am not saying that I did not drink a few while by the pool, but when people get so wasted that they are puking outside by the trees or urinating on the side of the building by the pool, it's my thought that may not be the best environment for kids. If it were just me and my husband for a quick weekend get away, then maybe I could overlook some of the small stuff, but for a family vacation, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Alright

You get what you pay for. Myrtle Beach is very similar to Panama City in that it is filled with large families and the college crowd. If you are looking for a quiet vacation then this is the wrong place. The hotel was exactly what you would expect from beach tower type hotel in the area, it was serviceable. The staff was friendly at check-in and the cleaning service was happy to give us extra towels. Don't expect to be wowed by the decor in the lobby or anything. There is only one elevator. The pool has a tiny lazy river and a salt-water pool with a nearby pool bar that BLASTS top-40 continuously. Again if you are looking to relax by the pool this is not the place. The beach is packed to the brim with families in most locations so you may want to check out the state park beaches which tend to be way less crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a hole in the wall bar/grill that is a lifeguard secret. $1 bottles of beer and big $2 burgers. 3 of us were stuffed and only spent $10.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe,CT
Jul 19, 2009

Review

Rooms were relatively spacious. Bathroom was spacious, and the hotel is very well maintained. Great beach access and several pools to choose from. Very close to Broadway on the Beach and attractions. Great find for my friends and I. They had washers and dryers, vending machines in the lower level which I thought was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway on the Beach is an absolute blast and the Sandcastle is one of the closest hotels located on the beach.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach babes
Business
Georgia
Jul 18, 2009

Girls weekend!

Very nice, right on the beach. Pool area very clean. Location was within walking distance to the strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESR
Business
Beckley,WV
Jul 13, 2009

Will stay there again

This was the perfect place for the kind of vacation at the last minute that we were looking for. It was a great view, access to beach was good & rooms were clean. There were things that I ended up having to go out and buy that I would assume a hotel that I was paying that price would have. Examples were a hair dryer ( I could go to front desk put down $10 deposit and take right back....very inconvenient. Also there were not very many cooking utensils. I had to go out and buy some utensils. I thought the view was great and I always had an easy time finding parking. The room was clean also. I did find that the front desk staff were not very friendly. They made me feel like I was bothering them if I called down to ask a question. I know it was the 4th of July but I still feel that they could have been more courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use your coupon books!!!! A dollar here and a dollar there saved makes a big difference.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paintsville, KY
Jul 13, 2009

Not want I thought

The best part about our stay was the oceanfront view. The room was not very modern.Hotel needs new carpet and some freshness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stay further North.

Back to menu Return to top