$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
386 out of 386
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 18, 2009

Great location....not so great place!

I picked this hotel after reading numerous reviews. I would concur with the majority....the hotel is old and dated and is not very clean. However, it is on the beach and in a very good location and is cheap....so you get what you pay for! Probably the nicest feature of the hotel is the pool area with bar area and music enterainment and the fact that you can walk to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some really good restaurants a short walk from the hotel! Dirty Dons, Kona Sushi, Beach Bummz all had great food and atmosphere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Whomeohno
Business
Petersburg,Va
Aug 17, 2009

Not happy at all

The room had a foul odor,we were placed next to laundry room and front door entrance, we couldn't sleep whatsoever. The microwave stopped working and the toilet wouldn't flush it took maintenance 4 hours to come and check toilet. I thought it had a jacuzzi but it was only a small rectangle shaped jetted pool which was full of children. Guy at front desk had an attitude and what put the icing on the cake my reservations said check in 3pm check out was 12 noon and room service came in and woke us up at 11 and said we were not authorized to be in there past 11. So we had to rush to pack and I left behind earrings and a shoe being rushed and disoriented from just waking up I'm I will never again stay at this hotel. We played Putt Putt and people were rude there. Myrtle Beach is a beautiful place but the people have ugly attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Aug 16, 2009

Not To Shabby

Overall the hotel was decent. The rooms weren't huge, but they were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. This was more of a motel than a resort. And I would stay there again because of the great location right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waldo family
Business
Hurt, Va
Aug 15, 2009

Fun in the sun

You got what you paid for. The room was convenient to the beach. The pools was ok, but could have been supervised for unruly kids not being watched by their parents.Overall we had a nice time. We only had to use the car one time. Walk to the beach whenever and look at the beach at night from the balcony.I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right on the strip, anything pertaining to the beach, supplies for you or for the kids entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very disappointed
Business
Toledo, OH
Aug 14, 2009

Would not recommend

First the counter staff was VERY rude and unable to answer any type of questions regarding the area, transportation, etc. They do not allow any type of early check-in nor late check-out, even at a cost. A few bathroom ammenities are supplied upon check-in, it's a one time deal, they'll not be replenished each day. No pool towels are available, you must bring your own. The pool area was way overcrowed, with many people being non-paying guests from the outside. The lazy river is not what the site leads you to believe. It's basically just a round small circle, the 5 intertubes for the river usually weren't available due to the kids taking them into the indoor pool or removing them from the river to use for jumping in the main pool. The pool area should've been supervised to prohibit ocean swimmers from returning to the pool totally sand covered without showering. It was impossible to lay out and read a book, the chaos from all the kids who were acting like animals jumping, shoving, made relaxing impossible. There was no whee near enough of the hard plastic uncomfortable chairs at poolside. The halls reaked of what smelled like cat urine. There was a complete flood of sewage on the first floor of the hotel. Coffee makers were in the rooms, however, when the front desk was asked for coffee, they directed you to go 4 blocks down to Piggly Wiggly supermarket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Transportation is definately a problem. Although it's only 4 miles from the airport, a taxi fare is arounf $20, to the Boardwalk it's around $10 each way. If you have your own vehicle, good luck with parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 13, 2009

Nice place, bed uncomfortable, decent $

Check in was fast. Had top floor room. Was not loud but smelled of smoke in hallway, our room never did however and that was great. Staff gave plenty of service and towels. Close to beach and pools (outside, lazy river, indoor, jacuzzi) all nice. Elevator had water in floor due to pool and ocean travels of clients, wear flip-flops. Great price, Orbitz was over 60 dollar cheaper than listed price (and even more really when figuring tax and such).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BummZ. If you leave the hotel on foot, travel north on the same side of the street the hotel is on, is a small pub. It is warm in there but we ate on the patio. The food is just great. I mean, REALLY great. It wasn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. The cheeseburger and fries were the bomb and the flounder (next night) was just great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elizabethton tn
Aug 13, 2009

no late check out

Great location not noisey but close to the action. The tv was 20yrs old and room was plain but freshly painted. I was really disapointed about not letting us have a late checkout. They said we would have to pay for another day like we were some punk kids. My girlfriend works at a hotel that will let you check out till 4 o clock. The lounge chairs at the pool needed to be double next to imposibile to get a spot. Needs to buy new beds also 20 yrs old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rock Hill, SC
Aug 10, 2009

Had a great time at the beach!!

My son and I really enjoyed our time at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort. The staff was friendly, the location was great, and the room was clean and comfortable. We would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Aug 10, 2009

Great Place for Vacation!!!

Great place to vacation with family, pool area didnt have enough chairs around for everyone, Walk out of the motel and right on the beach that was great, Walking distance for dining and shopping, just great all around place, everyone should stay here, staff was very nice and helpful, it was my b-day and I enjoyed it and will go back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Every thing was walking distance or driving!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holly Hill, SC
Aug 10, 2009

Fantastic trip

While I was there I just relax a little. Everything was well put together could not have ask for anything different. It was a really good trip can not really compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top