Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
373 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great location

Hotel is in a great location. A short (very short!) walk to the beach. Close to shops and... See full review

  • Jc187636
  • Sep 4, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt. Olive,NC
Aug 9, 2009

Not bad for a quickie.

Not the most upscale place to stay but the orbitz deal for a quick couple of days getaway was too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelby, NC
Aug 9, 2009

Good vacation spot for the cost

You can't go wrong with being on the beach. The frig was bigger than the cube size I thought it would be. There was room above it to store food, plates, etc. Shower and bathroom were nice, though small. We had a sideview room, and could see the other towers' balcony AND into their room, so I was conscious of what others could see in my room and kept the curtain shut way more than I would in an oceanfront room. The room was clean when we started, but out of a 3 night stay, it only got cleaned one day. I got a plastic bag of clean towels the next day. Not sure why that is. We were on the 6th floor and it was nice and quiet. Parking usually was about a block away, but my boys are active and can go, go, go, so that was okay. It was nice being close to the grand strand and broadway at the beach. The beachfront was not crowded at all for the beginning of August. I was going for a money saving trip, so this hotel was more than what I was expecting for the price. Hot tubs and pools were great, indoor and outdoor. One elevator for the tower we were in, including staff having to use (housekeeping, maintenance, etc.), so be prepared to wait each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe 1800 in bldg. Easy to eat quick. Not bad price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 8, 2009

Smelly

Our stay at the Sandcastle was just for the weekend. The location was great it was close to everything. Loved the fact that our room was oceanfront. However the cleanliness and the service of the hotel was not the best. The stairwell smelled like urine and the rugs in the room are old, dirty and smelly. For a weekend getaway it is just fine but not if your stay is going to be longer than a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is only like a 5 minute drive. Highly recommend going there It has everything, dining, entertainment and nightlife!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1wildstang
West Virginia
Aug 7, 2009

My Sandcastle experience.

As soon as we checked into our room, there was something on our toilet seat (use your imagination) which we had to wipe off before we used it. The floor looked dirty like the sweeper was never ran before we checked in, you could see strings on the floor. Our whole stay which was 5 nights, our sheets were never changed and the floor was never swept. One other complaint we had was one elevator for 9 floors. There was a constant wait for the elevators. For the money, the location was good, the rooms weren't that bad, but the appliances were very old. The bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Tanger outlets. Found some great bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Mike
Knoxville, TN
Aug 6, 2009

It was happy to stay and nice location

Very enjoyed and relaxed to stay in the hotel and the view of our Ocean Front room is great! Our kids was so happy to play in the pools. The only thing made me Unhappy was when I went to Check Out before 12:00pm. The Check Out time on my Orbitz reservation is 12:00pm, but the front desk staff told me that their Check Out time is 11:00am(No one told me when I got Check In and I just followed my reservation). I have shown them my Orbitz reservation and they said they did not know why Orbitz has this Check Out time. They said I was stealing rooms and I have argued with them. Finally they told me that they just wanted letting me know their Check In/Out time and I should noticed it next time. I think Orbitz may need to check on why the difference about this hotel Check In/Out time so that other customers will not be confused and/or get any trouble later on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Preacher Ric
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 6, 2009

Exceeded my best expectations

I went to Myrtle Beach to get inspiration on a book I am writing. So the trip was to be a recreational study project. The quietness and serenity (overlooking the ocean) allowed me to focus on my work. While the clean beach and swimming pool provided the perfect environment in which to take my "breaks" from writing. I stayed in the top (8th) floor of the sandcastle, giving me one of the best possible views of the ocean day and night. In the light of the full moon shimmering across the surface of the water, I sat on my balcony which seemed to almost touch heaven, and complete my work as planned. Given the respectful and efficient treatment by Orbitz booking the trip, I was very pleased. Given the price, the service, the location, the privacy and tranquility, as well as the variety of things to do in my "offtime," I could not have asked for anything better. Thankfully, Ric Toney (a sold customer who will definitely use Orbitz for my next getaway.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gn_bacon
Macon, GA
Aug 4, 2009

a place to stay

The trip itself was really fun. Broadway on the beach park was great, lots of shops and restaurants, also lots of things for younger children to enjoy. The beach was pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travleing mom
Greensboro, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Average

the hotle is right on the beach, the pool and lazy river pool were fun the kids had a great time! right on the strip so all Myrtle Beach attractions w/i walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Aug 3, 2009

SoSo

The Location was great. The room needed to be updated with new furniture. There was no hair dryer or ironing board and iron. Good place to just sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
upfrontlovers
Fort Mill, SC
Aug 3, 2009

Pretty Good

Overall the hotel was Ok for the money. It was right on the beach wich was great, but the room was very small along with the balcony and the pools were quite small too. There were alot of children there which made it loud at times and house keeping in the morning was very loud. The hotel was in walking distnacce of resturants and things to do. The wireless internet only works in the resturant which was a bummer but overall it was an ok stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top