$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Organizer Mom
Business
New York, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Not quite as advertised...

From the hotels' website we expected a much newer, bigger place. On the negative side, parking was a nightmare, the elevator was slow, the beds rock hard, televisions small, the sofa was not big enough for 2 people to sit comfortably although the room was supposed to hold six. I immediately covered it with a sheet before sitting down. Also by the 2nd day everything in the room felt damp. On the plus side, the view was absolutely spectacular, the staff exceptionally responsive and the rooms though old were clean. You should bring your own towels for the beach. So if you're looking for a great location and don't care about modern amenities this is an okay choice. We are not particularly choosy since we tend to use the room just for sleeping, but we won't be coming back to what we called our room at Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're a carnivore like most of my family, try The Grill House in North Myrtle Beach. Definitely worth the drive. They have great seafood too!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby, NC
Aug 24, 2009

Suitable Hotel for Great Vacation

We arived early and were allowed to check in. The first employee we encountered wasn't very friendly but the others were very helpful. Cleaning was sufficient and accomodations were great for our vacation. The side doors to the main building do not require keys for entry so I did feel a bit unsafe, but other than that, we had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Giligan's Karaoke Bar- Lots of fun!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, NC
Aug 23, 2009

Great location, below average place.

Our overall trip was great. The hotel is located in a nice, central location to things for people of all ages. The hotel itself left a little to be desired considering we had to change rooms on the first night. Room #1 had a sliding glass door to the balcony that would take two people to close. Room #2 had an air conditioning unit that leaked so bad there was water behind the wall and the carpet was damp. We made another service call for room 2 and toughed it out. The pool was excellent but if you did'nt get up by 8am to place your towel out, you could'nt find a seat. The live music provided on Friday and Saturday was by far the best entertainment. That guy was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is less than 5 minutes from the hotel.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaDawg
Business
Augusta, GA
Aug 23, 2009

Couldnt ask for much more!!!

Booked the trip online, and had no troubles checking in or out. Hotel was in a great location on the strip, not very far from anything. Hotel was not smoke free, so if there was any complaints it owuld be that. Other than that, everything about it was 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
magnanimous
Business
ohio
Aug 23, 2009

We had a great stay!

The hotel itself and location was great for the price. They have a great jacuzzi. Two complaints we have are the clerk who checked us in seemed to be offended by the fact we booked thru orbitz and was a bit rude ~and~ the tiki bar by the pool, the bar tender rushed us off b4 servin us the drinks we ordered sayin he wasnt busy enuf to stay open even tho several people @ the pool were ordering and goin back to their chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Great Mommy
Business
Belmont, NC
Aug 22, 2009

A Wonderful Place to Stay

They were very accomadating to our small child. We had a nice crib in the room and they put us on a quiet floor. Our other child enjoyed playing in the pools and lazy river. It was a nice experience. Only downfall is the staff isn't very helpful if you have questions about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The rides at Broadway at the Beach were fairly priced and provided an entire evening of play for our children.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxlane
Business
Fort Blackmore,Va
Aug 22, 2009

Great Location and Great Beach

Hotel was very nice. Great Location close to pavilion. Rooms were nice. Great view from balcony. Beach was Great and very clean and wide. Check in and out was easy. They do need more parking near hotel as does all hotels in myrtle beach !! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get hotel through Orbitz and see if there are any promotion codes. And save a lot of money. Calling hotel cost more.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charleston,sc
Aug 19, 2009

not the best place up here

no iron or iron board had to put a deposit to get it, no alarm clock, no coffee for the coffee maker, noise coming from everywhere, cabana bar drinks cost a fortune no lock for the safe in the room. the price was good so I guess you get what you pay for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concord NC
Aug 19, 2009

A Great Stay

It was a good place to stay. The parking was a little of a problem, but we made it do. The room was great and a great view of the beach area. The trip was a very good one and was very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 18, 2009

Great location....not so great place!

I picked this hotel after reading numerous reviews. I would concur with the majority....the hotel is old and dated and is not very clean. However, it is on the beach and in a very good location and is cheap....so you get what you pay for! Probably the nicest feature of the hotel is the pool area with bar area and music enterainment and the fact that you can walk to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some really good restaurants a short walk from the hotel! Dirty Dons, Kona Sushi, Beach Bummz all had great food and atmosphere!

Back to menu Return to top