$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
Couples
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pay more expect more
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Aug 13, 2014

You get what you pay for!

8/10/14-8/12/14 I paid for a suite with Murphy bed, but it was a first floor room. . I asked if I can change to a higher floor and they said yes third floor will be available at 4 pm. I was called two hours later and told there was a "maintenance issue" on the third floor and would have to take the original first floor room. I declined. I was put on the top floor, but in a smaller room. And I was not given the difference back. Hotel staff and management was disorganized. Gave false promises. And room was missing the freaking shower curtain!!!! Destruction of a hotel next door spread a mildew smell towards my balcony too. Simply put, pay a little more to stay somewhere else!!! You've been warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Amusement park atmosphere

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Srachel
Couples
Myrtle Beach, SC
Aug 11, 2014

Sandcastle at the Pavillion needs a facelift

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel was the location on the beach! Needs updated, had to ask for the iron and ironing board and if they had blow dryers to use!? Overall it was less than a satisfactory experience to say the least!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelsey renee
Couples
Raleigh nc
Jul 30, 2014

Out of date

This hotel has the perfect location but unfortunately the room was out of date and the bathrooms were disgusting! Definitely would never return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain George's is delicious!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annee2014
Family
Nc
Jul 24, 2014

Ehh..

Good location but thought we were booking a condo with a kitchenette and not a simple room with a fridge and microwave... Not too clean...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domo Diamond
Family
Chesapeake Va
Jul 21, 2014

Great getaway

It was very nice great view of the beach the bar was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aau bball mom
Family
augusta, ga
Jul 20, 2014

Bball Tournament

It was very outdated. Also the first night, we had to take cold showers bc we didnt know the cold & hot were backwards. The hallways smelled awful.Really needs to be remodeled!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rustyboy
Couples
Hebron,ohio
Jul 14, 2014

Great for couples

The hotel was ocean front!! Perfect access to the beach !!! The rooms decor was a warm and beachy feel . The staff was courteous and polite . We had a wonderful time at Myrtle Beach;) we will stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love charbroiled burgers The place to go is COOKOUT!!! The best ever!!great $$ for your money!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spotty grandma
Family
Ohio
Jul 13, 2014

Ocean view

Oceanfront is good but rooms are outdated beds uncomfortable, kitchen old, best part about hotel is the pool and lazy river. This hotel doesn't even offer coffee in lobby !! Balcony is small but good view and access to ocean good . Rooms are clean but in desperate need of renovation too much money for what you get

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football mom NY bucks
Family
Ohio
Jun 25, 2014

Quick getaway

Good location. Perfect of being on the beach.elevators could be faster. I would have liked to see a bigger room to see if I could bring whole family down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Wanda
Family
Dougals GA
Jun 17, 2014

Family getaway

The beach was beautiful. The hotel was ok. The room was kind of small and had an odor. The staff was friendly. It was wonderfully located near many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Myrtle Beach water park was great

Back to menu Return to top