$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael Paton
Business
Va beach, Virginia
Jun 14, 2014

Beach weekend

First room we had was extremely dirty with bugs smashed on the walls and dirty floors so we requested another room immediately and the staff was nice and gave us a suit which was much cleaner and nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caylan
Business
Nashville tn
May 31, 2014

Couples getaway

Friendly staff, fast checkin Location was good Great beach area behind the hotel Rooms were clean just not the best view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best time to check in if you can is after 5pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn from WV
Business
Cyclone, WV
May 26, 2014

Great Mother-Daughter Hotel

Great location....Friendly and courteous staff....Rooms were clean. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenkevde
Business
Concord NC
May 17, 2014

Good

Good hotel for the money. It was clean. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekender4
Business
North Carolina
Apr 30, 2014

Overall good experience

Great location - only 4 blocks from the boardwalk. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a "side view" room, but still had a good view of the ocean. The only negative thing during our stay were the neighbors next door - they stayed up partying until after 4 am!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryZee3
Business
Myrtle Beach
Apr 29, 2014

Great location

Nice staff, dvd's in the lobby for your use and great location on the beach. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Girl 2014
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Apr 22, 2014

Cheap getaway!

It was a birthday getaway. It only three of us but we were able to get a one bedroom suite for the weekend that slept 6. The room although a bit dated was just fine for little sleep and a lot of partying. Location was awesome didn't move the car until we wanted Calabash. Overall perfect for friend quickie trips but I wouldn't bring my family. It's just not the at home experience we've come accustomed too when traveling as a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Concert Fan
Business
Simpsonville , SC, USA
Apr 21, 2014

Pay attention to the reviews

Several things need improvement at this hotel: 1. NO bathroom in the hotel lobby as you wait to get checked in; 2. NO hairdryer in the rooms. You have to pay a $10 deposit at the front desk, get the hairdryer and then return it to the front desk to get your deposit back. 3. The Environmental Services staff are pleasant but need the proper tools to do their job. The carts they use are falling apart. 4. We had to park in a garage parking that was almost 2 blocks away. 5. The Garage parking has several used mattresses, broken toilets and other furniture items stored on the first floor 6. One of the lights in the stairwell (2nd floor) was burned out. DHEC should fine them. There was also trash in the floor in the stairway exit. I have pictures. 7.You have to be careful or you will get scalded with the bathroom sink faucet. It worked poorly and was either scalding hot or cold. 8. The comforter on the bed was from the 1960's. Thin and cheap. 9. Bring a pillow. Only 2 per bed. 10. Be prepared to take the steps, only one elevator per building which is shared with housekeeping staff. Overall this was the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in (yes, there is worse). Spend the extra 20-40 per night and get a much better room at another hotel. If your are a college student on a budget and are used to a frat house and plan to stay drunk and puke most of the time - the place will be perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
candy13
Business
Atlanta,ga
Apr 21, 2014

not good

not good.would not stay ever again. did not get what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Cheer Mom
Business
South Carolina
Mar 31, 2014

Scary ride

Although a decent value, the hotel was very dated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The elevator was very loud and shaky, but taking the stairs was a frightening experience too because some of the floors were locked from the stairwell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top