$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
375 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
my birthday vacation

it was wonderful but there was a wet spot by the a/c unit on the carpet. but overall it was... See full review

  • shandy birthday girl
  • Sep 23, 2014
The Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is a 241-unit oceanfront hotel perfectly located for easy access to all local attractions. We are located only eight blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion so you can walk to all the fun and adventure that awaits you there! We are only a few blocks from the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, as well, and are only one and a half miles from Broadway at the Beach, where you'll find fabulous restaurants, unique shops, and a host of great attractions such as Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe, Ripley's Aquarium and The IMAX Theater. Our 241 units are composed of newly renovated oceanfront and side-view suites and rooms with large number of oceanfront efficiencies. Our amenities include an outdoor pool, endless river and kiddie pool and also an indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. For your dining needs we have an on-site restaurant featuring an excellent breakfast and lunch menu and while you are at the pool we have seasonal poolside cabana bar for all your refreshment needs. Minumum age of 25 to book and checkin on all reservations. Must be 25 years of age to book reservations and check in at the hotel.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mom
Johnsonville, NY
Jul 2, 2012

The Much Needed Mother/Daughter Get-A-Way

After having a horrible year of doctors, hospitals & chemo for my Mom, I promised that we would go away for a few days to wherever she wanted to go and she chose Myrtle Beach. The Sandcastle is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Everything was nice & clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We swam in the pool, used the lazy river & Mom went into the hot tub (she loved it). We shopped at the outlets, saw 2 shows & the Italian Restaurant next door was wonderful. Lulu's Cafe across the street - is a must. A wonderful place to come back to in the future. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a brochure with coupons that we used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Concert Fan
Simpsonville , SC, USA
Apr 21, 2014

Pay attention to the reviews

Several things need improvement at this hotel: 1. NO bathroom in the hotel lobby as you wait to get checked in; 2. NO hairdryer in the rooms. You have to pay a $10 deposit at the front desk, get the hairdryer and then return it to the front desk to get your deposit back. 3. The Environmental Services staff are pleasant but need the proper tools to do their job. The carts they use are falling apart. 4. We had to park in a garage parking that was almost 2 blocks away. 5. The Garage parking has several used mattresses, broken toilets and other furniture items stored on the first floor 6. One of the lights in the stairwell (2nd floor) was burned out. DHEC should fine them. There was also trash in the floor in the stairway exit. I have pictures. 7.You have to be careful or you will get scalded with the bathroom sink faucet. It worked poorly and was either scalding hot or cold. 8. The comforter on the bed was from the 1960's. Thin and cheap. 9. Bring a pillow. Only 2 per bed. 10. Be prepared to take the steps, only one elevator per building which is shared with housekeeping staff. Overall this was the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in (yes, there is worse). Spend the extra 20-40 per night and get a much better room at another hotel. If your are a college student on a budget and are used to a frat house and plan to stay drunk and puke most of the time - the place will be perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
candy13
Business
Atlanta,ga
Apr 21, 2014

not good

not good.would not stay ever again. did not get what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Cheer Mom
South Carolina
Mar 31, 2014

Scary ride

Although a decent value, the hotel was very dated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The elevator was very loud and shaky, but taking the stairs was a frightening experience too because some of the floors were locked from the stairwell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fatts
Phila. PA
Mar 30, 2014

Needs Help

The picture of the hotel looked ok but when we got there we were put in a side older building. Security locks did not work. Hall ways were dark and dirty. Front desk wasn't helpful. Coffee was not available in the morning. The off season rates were good and it was in a good location. Since they had many empty rooms I expected to get an ocean front room upgrade but didn't. No big deal though. Don't think I would stay again unless necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of good restaurants and bars close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Nick
Plymouth, CT
Jan 22, 2014

Great Stay

Hotel was in a great location. Room clean. Only suggestion, coffee cup (coffee maker, but no coffee or coffee cup). Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katbell8888
Charleston, SC
Jan 2, 2014

Rooms do not look like the pictures!!!

I have stayed in tons of hotels in Myrtle and this one averages about the same price as captin quarters, and bay view. However, they did not have a flat screen. The rooms were tiny and dated. And the balcony was very , very small in the side view rooms. My friend had ocean view and they were a little bit bigger. This hotel is fine if you plan on going out drinking the whole time. But I would have been super Disappointed if it was a family trip with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Can ride from here to broadway for 5 People is 15 bucks one way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nekosan
Charlotte, NC
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas at the beach

Close to pavilion boardwalk and walking. Dining is very close and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired two
Greensboro, NC
Oct 4, 2013

Fall getaway

My husband and I had a very relaxing time. The cable went out a few times on the second day but the cable guys were called in immediately. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucas Jackson
South Carolina
Sep 30, 2013

Just not a three star property...

Rooms are very old fashioned and outdated. 'Partial Ocean View' basically means if you stick your head out the sliding glass door you can see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's across the street serves a very good reasonably priced breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maromonte
Trafford, PA
Sep 27, 2013

great location.

near everything, but note that room has coffee/tea MAKER but does NOT provide the coffee/tea like most other hotels do (i like being able to have my coffee in the morning without leaving room. and i don't want to have to go shopping for coffee, sugar and cream when on vacation).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top