$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
View map of 1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
386 out of 386
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pressed4aview
District Heights, MD
Feb 1, 2012

Perfect Long Weekend

The Sandcastle was everything we'd hoped we'd have for our long weekend in Myrtle Beach. Our oceanfront room provided for plenty of entertainment just by looking out the window! Even though it was the end of January we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the warm sunshine. The room was clean and quiet and the hotel location was perfect. It's been 30 years since I've been to Myrtle Beach and now I'm wondering why it took so long to return. I would definitely go back to the Sandcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Maryland style seafood, definitely go to the Noizy Oyster! Great bar and awesome seafood - especially the crabcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football mom NY bucks
Business
Ohio
Jun 25, 2014

Quick getaway

Good location. Perfect of being on the beach.elevators could be faster. I would have liked to see a bigger room to see if I could bring whole family down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Wanda
Business
Dougals GA
Jun 17, 2014

Family getaway

The beach was beautiful. The hotel was ok. The room was kind of small and had an odor. The staff was friendly. It was wonderfully located near many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Myrtle Beach water park was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael Paton
Business
Va beach, Virginia
Jun 14, 2014

Beach weekend

First room we had was extremely dirty with bugs smashed on the walls and dirty floors so we requested another room immediately and the staff was nice and gave us a suit which was much cleaner and nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caylan
Business
Nashville tn
May 31, 2014

Couples getaway

Friendly staff, fast checkin Location was good Great beach area behind the hotel Rooms were clean just not the best view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best time to check in if you can is after 5pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn from WV
Business
Cyclone, WV
May 26, 2014

Great Mother-Daughter Hotel

Great location....Friendly and courteous staff....Rooms were clean. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenkevde
Business
Concord NC
May 17, 2014

Good

Good hotel for the money. It was clean. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekender4
Business
North Carolina
Apr 30, 2014

Overall good experience

Great location - only 4 blocks from the boardwalk. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a "side view" room, but still had a good view of the ocean. The only negative thing during our stay were the neighbors next door - they stayed up partying until after 4 am!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryZee3
Business
Myrtle Beach
Apr 29, 2014

Great location

Nice staff, dvd's in the lobby for your use and great location on the beach. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Girl 2014
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Apr 22, 2014

Cheap getaway!

It was a birthday getaway. It only three of us but we were able to get a one bedroom suite for the weekend that slept 6. The room although a bit dated was just fine for little sleep and a lot of partying. Location was awesome didn't move the car until we wanted Calabash. Overall perfect for friend quickie trips but I wouldn't bring my family. It's just not the at home experience we've come accustomed too when traveling as a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Concert Fan
Business
Simpsonville , SC, USA
Apr 21, 2014

Pay attention to the reviews

Several things need improvement at this hotel: 1. NO bathroom in the hotel lobby as you wait to get checked in; 2. NO hairdryer in the rooms. You have to pay a $10 deposit at the front desk, get the hairdryer and then return it to the front desk to get your deposit back. 3. The Environmental Services staff are pleasant but need the proper tools to do their job. The carts they use are falling apart. 4. We had to park in a garage parking that was almost 2 blocks away. 5. The Garage parking has several used mattresses, broken toilets and other furniture items stored on the first floor 6. One of the lights in the stairwell (2nd floor) was burned out. DHEC should fine them. There was also trash in the floor in the stairway exit. I have pictures. 7.You have to be careful or you will get scalded with the bathroom sink faucet. It worked poorly and was either scalding hot or cold. 8. The comforter on the bed was from the 1960's. Thin and cheap. 9. Bring a pillow. Only 2 per bed. 10. Be prepared to take the steps, only one elevator per building which is shared with housekeeping staff. Overall this was the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in (yes, there is worse). Spend the extra 20-40 per night and get a much better room at another hotel. If your are a college student on a budget and are used to a frat house and plan to stay drunk and puke most of the time - the place will be perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top