$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
353 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great Stay

Hotel was in a great location. Room clean. Only suggestion, coffee cup (coffee maker, but no coffee... See full review

  • Linda Nick
  • Jan 22, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
353 out of 353
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
waldo family
Hurt, Va
Aug 15, 2009

Fun in the sun

You got what you paid for. The room was convenient to the beach. The pools was ok, but could have been supervised for unruly kids not being watched by their parents.Overall we had a nice time. We only had to use the car one time. Walk to the beach whenever and look at the beach at night from the balcony.I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right on the strip, anything pertaining to the beach, supplies for you or for the kids entertainment.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
Very disappointed
Toledo, OH
Aug 14, 2009

Would not recommend

First the counter staff was VERY rude and unable to answer any type of questions regarding the area, transportation, etc. They do not allow any type of early check-in nor late check-out, even at a cost. A few bathroom ammenities are supplied upon check-in, it's a one time deal, they'll not be replenished each day. No pool towels are available, you must bring your own. The pool area was way overcrowed, with many people being non-paying guests from the outside. The lazy river is not what the site leads you to believe. It's basically just a round small circle, the 5 intertubes for the river usually weren't available due to the kids taking them into the indoor pool or removing them from the river to use for jumping in the main pool. The pool area should've been supervised to prohibit ocean swimmers from returning to the pool totally sand covered without showering. It was impossible to lay out and read a book, the chaos from all the kids who were acting like animals jumping, shoving, made relaxing impossible. There was no whee near enough of the hard plastic uncomfortable chairs at poolside. The halls reaked of what smelled like cat urine. There was a complete flood of sewage on the first floor of the hotel. Coffee makers were in the rooms, however, when the front desk was asked for coffee, they directed you to go 4 blocks down to Piggly Wiggly supermarket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Transportation is definately a problem. Although it's only 4 miles from the airport, a taxi fare is arounf $20, to the Boardwalk it's around $10 each way. If you have your own vehicle, good luck with parking.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Elizabethton tn
Aug 13, 2009

no late check out

Great location not noisey but close to the action. The tv was 20yrs old and room was plain but freshly painted. I was really disapointed about not letting us have a late checkout. They said we would have to pay for another day like we were some punk kids. My girlfriend works at a hotel that will let you check out till 4 o clock. The lounge chairs at the pool needed to be double next to imposibile to get a spot. Needs to buy new beds also 20 yrs old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Aug 13, 2009

Nice place, bed uncomfortable, decent $

Check in was fast. Had top floor room. Was not loud but smelled of smoke in hallway, our room never did however and that was great. Staff gave plenty of service and towels. Close to beach and pools (outside, lazy river, indoor, jacuzzi) all nice. Elevator had water in floor due to pool and ocean travels of clients, wear flip-flops. Great price, Orbitz was over 60 dollar cheaper than listed price (and even more really when figuring tax and such).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BummZ. If you leave the hotel on foot, travel north on the same side of the street the hotel is on, is a small pub. It is warm in there but we ate on the patio. The food is just great. I mean, REALLY great. It wasn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. The cheeseburger and fries were the bomb and the flounder (next night) was just great.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
Kim and Family
Michigan
Aug 10, 2009

Great location, needs updating.

This hotel is right on the beach and in the middle of great shops and restaurants. The pool and lazy river were very nice, although not as big as they appear on the internet. The hotel itself is in major need of updating. It seemed very dark and old. The first room we received was VERY small (side room) and dark. The toilet overflowed like a geyser. We asked to move, and paid an upgrade fee, and received a first floor room that was poolside with a kitchen. This room was MUCH better and worth the extra money. Overall, I would stay here again because it is a great value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is a short drive away and is wonderful! It has great atmosphere and many major restaurants.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
NC
Aug 10, 2009

Great Place for Vacation!!!

Great place to vacation with family, pool area didnt have enough chairs around for everyone, Walk out of the motel and right on the beach that was great, Walking distance for dining and shopping, just great all around place, everyone should stay here, staff was very nice and helpful, it was my b-day and I enjoyed it and will go back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Every thing was walking distance or driving!!!

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Holly Hill, SC
Aug 10, 2009

Fantastic trip

While I was there I just relax a little. Everything was well put together could not have ask for anything different. It was a really good trip can not really compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Rock Hill, SC
Aug 10, 2009

Had a great time at the beach!!

My son and I really enjoyed our time at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort. The staff was friendly, the location was great, and the room was clean and comfortable. We would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Shelby, NC
Aug 9, 2009

Good vacation spot for the cost

You can't go wrong with being on the beach. The frig was bigger than the cube size I thought it would be. There was room above it to store food, plates, etc. Shower and bathroom were nice, though small. We had a sideview room, and could see the other towers' balcony AND into their room, so I was conscious of what others could see in my room and kept the curtain shut way more than I would in an oceanfront room. The room was clean when we started, but out of a 3 night stay, it only got cleaned one day. I got a plastic bag of clean towels the next day. Not sure why that is. We were on the 6th floor and it was nice and quiet. Parking usually was about a block away, but my boys are active and can go, go, go, so that was okay. It was nice being close to the grand strand and broadway at the beach. The beachfront was not crowded at all for the beginning of August. I was going for a money saving trip, so this hotel was more than what I was expecting for the price. Hot tubs and pools were great, indoor and outdoor. One elevator for the tower we were in, including staff having to use (housekeeping, maintenance, etc.), so be prepared to wait each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe 1800 in bldg. Easy to eat quick. Not bad price.

Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Mt. Olive,NC
Aug 9, 2009

Not bad for a quickie.

Not the most upscale place to stay but the orbitz deal for a quick couple of days getaway was too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top