$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

3 stars
1802 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
377 reviews
Very nice!

Great location, close to everything, you can walk. Very comfortable, clean, lots of little things... See full review

  • Sun Tan Tim
  • Jul 12, 2013
Weekend Getaway

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very satisfied with each stay. Rooms have... See full review

  • MBvisit
  • Nov 18, 2014
Lazy river, kiddie pool and seasonal cabana bar in Myrtle Beach

The Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion hotel appeals to families year-round thanks to its oceanfront pool and residential amenities like a full kitchen and private balconies. Just nine blocks from the popular Myrtle Beach Pavilion -- a visitor's paradise dotted with attractions and rides -- the hotel encourages guests to spend time outdoors, whether it's an alfresco cocktail at the cabana bar or inner tube ride along the lazy river.

Highlights
  • Affordable studios and efficiencies with city or ocean views
  • Nine blocks from Myrtle Beach Pavilion
  • Seasonal poolside cabana bar
  • Lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and children's pool
  • Close to Ripley's Aquarium and Broadway at the Beach
Rooms

Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion rest efficiencies and suites accommodate four and six guests respectively, and are styled with tropical colors, wood furniture and patterned drapes and bedding. Depending on the layout, guests will have views of the Atlantic Ocean or the city via windows and private balconies. To curb dining expenses, visitors save money by cooking their own meals at in the full kitchen equipped with microwave, stove and small refrigerator.

Recreation

The outdoor pool area is at the heart of the action. A lazy river teases with its ocean views and free-form construction, while a seasonal outdoor bar invites adults to enjoy cocktails outdoors. On rainy days, Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion guests have a backup plan: the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.3 mi/7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 or older unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6947 -78.8769
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located Oceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion Rooms

Hotel - Suite
Oceanfront Suite (C) - 2 Queen Bed, 2 TVs, Wall Bed, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony
Hotel - Room
Side View Room (E) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Oceanfront Room
2 Queen Bed, 1 TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Private Balcony
Hotel - Efficiency
Oceanfront Efficiency (A) - 2 Queen Beds, 1 TV, Kitchen, Microwave, Stove, Private Balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 0.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.8 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.5 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.5 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 6.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 6.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.2 mi

Dining

Seasonal Poolside Cabana Bar
Located on the property
Cafe 1800
Located on the property - Seasonal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (377)

Ratings and reviews for Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
experienced traveller
Business
Boston
Aug 21, 2010

only good thing = it's on the beach

Very unaccommodating. VERY dirty hotel that's run on the cheap; even though you're paying average prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carollina
Aug 20, 2010

very very disappointing

I wanted an ocean front, got ocean view room was not clean horrible smell in hallways and stairs just rundown I would never again stay there [...] rated 3/5 stars more like 0/5 other guests were also very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Average, but met our needs

Hotel did not have our reservation from [...] even though we received hotel reservation confirmation email/number from [...]. Hotel did make good on reservation after a wait. Our Suite was old style hotel format, which means hit was okay, but could use some fixing up. Suite not as clean as others. Towel rod would fall off wall when hanging towels on it. Outlet covers were missing pieces. Suite did not have any Hotel info booklet to explain hotel rules or TV channel setups. At night, we heard every noise outside our room like other room doors slamming, people talking as they walked down the hallway, etc..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
clt.nc
Aug 14, 2010

family vacation

enjoyed my trip with family at hotel. The guest was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Trail,NC
Aug 12, 2010

Anniversary Escape

We enjoyed the great location since we could walk right onto the beach. It was a short driving distance from Broadway at the Beach and Barefoot Landing. Some of the issues we faced were a none working fridge, a safe without a lock and a very noisy a/c unit. Being right on the strip we could hear all the cars and loud intoxicated people walking around late into the night. Overall, it was a decent hotel for a few nights but, if we were planning on staying longer we definately would have stayed somewhere with better amenities. P.S.The lazy river is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see is Broadway at the beach. It's fun for everyone. Places to eat, drink and play.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgetown, KY
Aug 10, 2010

Our Family Get Away

They were very welcoming although we arrived early. Provided us with access to all facilities while our room was being prepared. Everyone was pleasant and everything was accessable!! Would love to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is great area. There is a little grocery store, gift shop and restaurants just a two streets over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spotsylvania, VA
Aug 9, 2010

Not what the pictures Show

After waiting in line to check in for 15 minutes, we were unable to find a cart to use to take our stuff upstairs. After my husband unloaded everything in the parking lot, my 5 month old and I stood guard of it while he went to park the car two blocks away. Then we made several trips back & forth. Once I arrived in the room I discovered that it was a smoking floor. When I made the reservations I made sure to request a non-smoking room--and I even made a phone call to the hotel and was assured I'd have a non-smoking room. I made my way to the check-in desk and was made to feel as if I were asking them to capture the moon. I was told that a non-smoking room was only a request. I told him that since I was allergic to smoke and had a 5 month old and had been assured I'd have a non-smoking room that I needed it changed. It was finally changed. The "ocean view" as the hotel confirmation said my room was actually viewed the building beside it (in the first and second room)--and if you contorted your body around enough you could see the ocean. As my husband was making a trip up to the room with our luggage he encourted a cleaning lady who was beating on the elevator door with her fists and cussing at it because it wasn't "moving fast enough." While he was gone I encountered several cleaning people who came out and get into their vehicles which were parked in the "Guest Parking lots" of the hotels...So the guest who were paying to stay there had to walk 2 blocks and throw all their luggage out in the parking lot but the employees who are getting paid to be there get to park right next to the hotel--WOW. The room had trash under the beds (apparently they don't clean completely after every guest leaves). When I dropped my sunglasses behind the tv I was more than disgusted to find such a large amount of trash behind it. The lazy river was a whole three feet deep and 8 feet long. The indoor pool stunk. The beach access was nice...no struggling a mile to get to it. My room looked nothing like the pictures. All of the pictures make the hotel look new and vibrant when in reality it is on the verge of being down. It defiantly needs a make over or updated pictures. We won't ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mammy's breakfast buffet is am amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherri Glad to Be Home
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 9, 2010

Close to Everything, Bad Parking, Noisy

We wanted a hotel that was within walking distance to the ocean and a lot of other places. This hotel was great for that! It was pretty noisy though. Some of the hotels shoot off fireworks at night -- but kids continue shooting off their own fireworks well into the wee hours of the night. They have only one elevator for the whole building and it is very very busy. You spend a lot of time waiting for it (we were on the 9th floor). I could never get my WiFi connection to stay connected. The hotel is kind of old, wet, and sandy. Since it's so close to the pools and ocean, it's probably impossible to keep it dry/clean. VERY noisy air conditioner in room. Housekeeping for our room was absolutely terrific. Our maid did a great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cross Lanes, WV
Aug 5, 2010

Good Location - thats about it

The location is great but the hotel is not as good as most of the reviews. In the main hotel building there is only 1 elevator for guest and staff, the rooms are not clean, we even found lipstick under the edge of the bed, mold in the bathroom, the slding door going to the balcony didn't lock - thankfully we were on the 5th floor. The wireless internet kept dropping connection about every 5 minutes even when the signal was great. The TV signal got fuzzy every once in awhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like live music and don't want to wait until late, walk down to the boardwalk and go to the Ocean Front Bar and Grill. If you like a sports bar stop in Marvins on the boardwalk also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOT TOO HAPPY IN SC
Business
MONCKS CORNER, SC
Aug 5, 2010

NOT TOO HAPPY

LOCATION WAS AWESOME, ROOM, SUCKED, SMALL TV WITH LOTS OF STATIC, MATTRESS .SPRINGS STUCK ME IN THE BACK, SLOW DRAINING SINKS, ROOM SMELLED BAD, HALLWAYS NEED A GOOD SHAMPOOING, VACUMNING AND DUSTING. THE POOL HAD LOTS OF GRIME LIKE DIRTY SHAMPOO, BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST WAS CHEAP BUT NOT GOOD. FRONT DESK STAFF WERE FRIENDLY. WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

THE BROADWAY, VERY NICE WITH LOTS OF GREAT RESTAURANTS, SENOR FROGS, JOES CRAB SHACK, PLANET HOLLYWOOD, HARD ROCK CAFE, FAT TUESDAYS, ALL MY FAVORITES. NICE TIME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top